7-time champ Johnson to retire after '20

(AP Photo/Chuck Burton, File)

CHARLOTTE, N.C. (AP) Jimmie Johnson sat down next to Jeff Gordon at a 2001 driver meeting and asked the champion if he had time to offer any career advice.

Gordon was so impressed with the fellow California native that he encouraged Rick Hendrick to start a team built specifically for the 25-year-old Johnson.

It turned into one of the greatest hires in NASCAR history and nudged Gordon aside as the most dominant driver on the track. Now Johnson will follow Gordon and many other NASCAR superstars into retirement as the seven-time champion announced Wednesday he will retire from full-time competition after next season.

Read More...

NASCAR Schedule
Monster Energy NASCAR CupFord EcoBoost 400Nov. 1712:00 PT1:00 MT2:00 CT3:00 ET15:00 ET20:00 GMT4:00 北京时间1:00 MST2:00 CST3:00 EST0:00 UAE (+1)2:00 CT21:00 CET18:00 BRT TV: NBC
XFINITYFord EcoBoost 300Nov. 1612:30 PT1:30 MT2:30 CT3:30 ET15:30 ET20:30 GMT4:30 北京时间1:30 MST2:30 CST3:30 EST0:30 UAE (+1)2:30 CT21:30 CET18:30 BRT TV: NBCSN
Gander Outdoors TruckFord EcoBoost 200Nov. 155:00 PT6:00 MT7:00 CT8:00 ET20:00 ET1:00 GMT9:00 北京时间6:00 MST7:00 CST8:00 EST5:00 UAE (+1)7:00 CT2:00 CET23:00 BRT TV: FS1
NASCAR Leaders: Points
RankDriverPointsWins
1 K.Busch 5040 5
2 M.Truex Jr. 5035 7
3 K.Harvick 5033 4
4 D.Hamlin 5027 6
5 J.Logano 2380 2
6 K.Larson 2339 1
7 R.Blaney 2339 1
8 B.Keselowski 2318 3
9 C.Bowyer 2290 0
10 C.Elliott 2275 3
11 W.Byron 2274 0
12 A.Bowman 2257 1
View Full Leaderboard

@STATS_Insights