MLB

Oakland Athletics (70-52)


Thu. 8/15 Fri. 8/16 Sat. 8/17 Sun. 8/18 Tue. 8/20
vs. Hou
W 7-6
Box | Recap
vs. Hou
W 3-2
Box | Recap
vs. Hou
1:05 PM PT2:05 PM MT3:05 PM CT4:05 PM ET16:05 ET20:05 GMT4:05 1:05 PM MST3:05 PM EST3:35 PM VEN0:05 UAE (+1)3:05 PM CT
Preview
vs. Hou
1:07 PM PT2:07 PM MT3:07 PM CT4:07 PM ET16:07 ET20:07 GMT4:07 1:07 PM MST3:07 PM EST3:37 PM VEN0:07 UAE (+1)3:07 PM CT
vs. NYY
7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)9:07 PM CT

A's seek to gain more ground on Astros

The visiting Houston Astros and Oakland Athletics are expected to trot out new looks Saturday afternoon when the American League West front-runners continue their four-game series.

The A's used seven homers and a walk-off single by Robbie Grossman to trim two games from their 9 1/2-game deficit in two nights with a pair of one-run decisions, 7-6 and 3-2.

Being handed the task of keeping the A's in the ballpark Saturday in the wake of a 13-inning game in which the Astros used six relievers will be right-hander Rogelio Armenteros (1-0, 1.93 ERA), who will be promoted from Triple-A Round Rock to get the start in place of injured Gerrit Cole.

 MORE
Leaders
AVG: R. Laureano.284
HR: M. Chapman29
RBI: M. Chapman69
SB: R. Laureano12
W: M. Fiers11
ERA: M. Fiers3.46
Saves: B. Treinen16
K: C. Bassitt108
General Batting (Rank)
AVG: .246 (21)
Runs: 620 (11)
Hits: 1035 (19)
Home Runs: 195 (6)
Stolen Bases: 39 (24)
OBP: .321 (19)
SLG: .443 (10)
Total Bases: 1864 (9)
General Pitching (Rank)
Earned Run Average: 4.04 (6)
Runs Allowed: 525 (6)
Saves: 30 (14)
Strikeouts: 946 (28)
OpBA: .242 (5)
OBP: .310 (5)
SLG: .401 (3)
Run Support: 5.02 (12)
Transactions
Date Player Transactions
8/16 D. Garneau Designated for Assignment
8/16 J. Phegley Recalled From Minors Rehab Assignment
8/16 J. Phegley Removed From 10-Day IL (Left thumb contusion)
8/14 J. Buchanan Released
8/14 M. Harvey Signed to a Minor League Contract
Show Transactions
Injuries
Date Player Status
7/29 R. Laureano Stress reaction in right shin (on 10-day IL)
7/29 J. Phegley Left thumb contusion (10-day IL)
7/17 M. Chapman Ankle (day-to-day)
6/30 S. Piscotty Right knee sprain (10-day IL)
6/21 B. Treinen Strained right shoulder (10-day IL)
Show Injuries


@STATS_Insights