MLB

#41
Joe Ross
ERA W-L K
4.17 5-9 109
Team: WashingtonHt / Wt: 6-4 / 220
Position: SPBorn: 5/21/1993 Birthplace: Berkeley, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Padres (2011)


Latest News
Aug. 15 9:18 AM PT10:18 AM MT11:18 AM CT12:18 PM ET12:18 ET16:18 GMT0:18 9:18 AM MST11:18 AM EST10:18 AM CST11:48 AM VEN20:18 UAE10:18 AM CT-Ross (partially torn UCL) will not require surgery but is out for the rest of the season.
Analysis: Ross was re-evaluated by the doctor who performed his Tommy John surgery in 2017. Ross has been the Nats' most consistent starter this season apart from Max Scherzer, who was traded to the Dodgers at the deadline. Ross is 5-9 with a 4.17 ERA in 20 starts, with career highs in innings pitched (108) and strikeouts (109).
Aug. 5 4:52 PM PT5:52 PM MT6:52 PM CT7:52 PM ET19:52 ET23:52 GMT7:52 4:52 PM MST6:52 PM EST5:52 PM CST7:22 PM VEN3:52 UAE (+1)5:52 PM CT-Joe Ross allowed three runs on five hits and two walks in 6.1 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 7-6 on Thursday. Ross struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.02 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
July 31 7:27 PM PT8:27 PM MT9:27 PM CT10:27 PM ET22:27 ET2:27 GMT10:27 7:27 PM MST9:27 PM EST8:27 PM CST9:57 PM VEN6:27 UAE (+1)8:27 PM CT-Joe Ross fell to 5-9, allowing five runs - four earned - on seven hits and one walk in 4.1 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Chicago Cubs 6-3 on Saturday. Ross struck out five, ending the game with a 4.00 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
July 26 8:23 PM PT9:23 PM MT10:23 PM CT11:23 PM ET23:23 ET3:23 GMT11:23 8:23 PM MST10:23 PM EST9:23 PM CST10:53 PM VEN7:23 UAE (+1)9:23 PM CT-Joe Ross allowed three hits and two walks without giving up a run in 5.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 6-5 on Monday. Ross struck out four, ending the game with a 3.80 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
July 8 5:05 PM PT6:05 PM MT7:05 PM CT8:05 PM ET20:05 ET0:05 GMT8:05 5:05 PM MST7:05 PM EST6:05 PM CST7:35 PM VEN4:05 UAE (+1)6:05 PM CT-Ross (right elbow inflammation) came off the injured list Monday and will start in Philadelphia.
Analysis: Ross went 3-3 with a 2.31 ERA in his previous six starts before landing on the IL on July 8.
July 4 11:49 AM PT12:49 PM MT1:49 PM CT2:49 PM ET14:49 ET18:49 GMT2:49 11:49 AM MST1:49 PM EST12:49 PM CST2:19 PM VEN22:49 UAE12:49 PM CT-Joe Ross fell to 5-8, allowing three runs on seven hits in 6.2 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-1 on Sunday. Ross struck out 11, ending the game with a 4.02 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
June 29 6:43 PM PT7:43 PM MT8:43 PM CT9:43 PM ET21:43 ET1:43 GMT9:43 6:43 PM MST8:43 PM EST7:43 PM CST9:13 PM VEN5:43 UAE (+1)7:43 PM CT-Joe Ross improved to 5-7, allowing two runs on six hits and two walks in 6.1 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 4-3 on Tuesday. Ross struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.02 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
June 24 7:29 PM PT8:29 PM MT9:29 PM CT10:29 PM ET22:29 ET2:29 GMT10:29 7:29 PM MST9:29 PM EST8:29 PM CST9:59 PM VEN6:29 UAE (+1)8:29 PM CT-Joe Ross improved to 4-7, allowing four hits and two walks over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Miami Marlins 7-3 on Thursday. Ross struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.12 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
June 19 12:58 PM PT1:58 PM MT2:58 PM CT3:58 PM ET15:58 ET19:58 GMT3:58 12:58 PM MST2:58 PM EST1:58 PM CST3:28 PM VEN23:58 UAE1:58 PM CT-Joe Ross fell to 3-7, allowing five runs on six hits in 5.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the New York Mets 5-1 on Saturday. Ross struck out five, ending the game with a 4.54 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
June 13 1:00 PM PT2:00 PM MT3:00 PM CT4:00 PM ET16:00 ET20:00 GMT4:00 1:00 PM MST3:00 PM EST2:00 PM CST3:30 PM VEN0:00 UAE (+1)2:00 PM CT-Joe Ross improved to 3-6, allowing five hits over 8.0 scoreless innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the San Francisco Giants 5-0 on Sunday. Ross struck out nine, ending the game with a 4.19 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
June 5 4:25 PM PT5:25 PM MT6:25 PM CT7:25 PM ET19:25 ET23:25 GMT7:25 4:25 PM MST6:25 PM EST5:25 PM CST6:55 PM VEN3:25 UAE (+1)5:25 PM CT-Joe Ross fell to 2-6, allowing four runs - zero earned - on three hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 5-2 on Saturday. Ross struck out four, ending the game with a 4.80 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
May 31 5:23 PM PT6:23 PM MT7:23 PM CT8:23 PM ET20:23 ET0:23 GMT8:23 5:23 PM MST7:23 PM EST6:23 PM CST7:53 PM VEN4:23 UAE (+1)6:23 PM CT-Joe Ross fell to 2-5, allowing four runs on three hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Atlanta Braves 5-3 on Monday. Ross struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
May 27 1:15 PM PT2:15 PM MT3:15 PM CT4:15 PM ET16:15 ET20:15 GMT4:15 1:15 PM MST3:15 PM EST2:15 PM CST3:45 PM VEN0:15 UAE (+1)2:15 PM CT-Joe Ross allowed three hits and one walk without giving up a run in 4.0 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Cincinnati Reds 5-3 on Wednesday. Ross struck out four, ending the game with a 5.19 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
May 20 2:31 PM PT3:31 PM MT4:31 PM CT5:31 PM ET17:31 ET21:31 GMT5:31 2:31 PM MST4:31 PM EST3:31 PM CST5:01 PM VEN1:31 UAE (+1)3:31 PM CT-Joe Ross fell to 2-4, allowing four runs - two earned - on five hits and one walk in 3.2 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Chicago Cubs 5-2 on Thursday. Ross struck out three, ending the game with a 5.72 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
May 15 8:41 PM PT9:41 PM MT10:41 PM CT11:41 PM ET23:41 ET3:41 GMT11:41 8:41 PM MST10:41 PM EST9:41 PM CST11:11 PM VEN7:41 UAE (+1)9:41 PM CT-Joe Ross fell to 2-3, allowing eight runs on eight hits and three walks in 4.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 11-4 on Saturday. Ross struck out five, ending the game with a 5.80 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
May 9 1:19 PM PT2:19 PM MT3:19 PM CT4:19 PM ET16:19 ET20:19 GMT4:19 1:19 PM MST3:19 PM EST2:19 PM CST3:49 PM VEN0:19 UAE (+1)2:19 PM CT-Joe Ross allowed two runs on three hits and five walks in 5.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the New York Yankees 3-2 on Sunday. Ross struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.26 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
May 4 7:05 PM PT8:05 PM MT9:05 PM CT10:05 PM ET22:05 ET2:05 GMT10:05 7:05 PM MST9:05 PM EST8:05 PM CST9:35 PM VEN6:05 UAE (+1)8:05 PM CT-Joe Ross fell to 2-2, allowing two runs on five hits and two walks in 5.1 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Atlanta Braves 6-1 on Tuesday. Ross struck out three, ending the game with a 4.39 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 24 4:30 PM PT5:30 PM MT6:30 PM CT7:30 PM ET19:30 ET23:30 GMT7:30 4:30 PM MST6:30 PM EST5:30 PM CST7:00 PM VEN3:30 UAE (+1)5:30 PM CT-Joe Ross improved to 2-1, allowing one run on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the New York Mets 7-1 on Saturday. Ross struck out four, ending the game with a 4.64 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 19 7:19 PM PT8:19 PM MT9:19 PM CT10:19 PM ET22:19 ET2:19 GMT10:19 7:19 PM MST9:19 PM EST8:19 PM CST9:49 PM VEN6:19 UAE (+1)8:19 PM CT-Joe Ross fell to 1-1, allowing 10 runs on eight hits and three walks in 4.1 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 12-5 on Monday. Ross struck out five, ending the game with a 5.87 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 14 1:33 PM PT2:33 PM MT3:33 PM CT4:33 PM ET16:33 ET20:33 GMT4:33 1:33 PM MST3:33 PM EST2:33 PM CST4:03 PM VEN0:33 UAE (+1)2:33 PM CT-Joe Ross improved to 1-0, allowing four hits and one walk over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 6-0 on Wednesday. Ross struck out five, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.82 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 3:45 PM PT4:45 PM MT5:45 PM CT6:45 PM ET18:45 ET22:45 GMT6:45 3:45 PM MST5:45 PM EST4:45 PM CST6:15 PM VEN2:45 UAE (+1)4:45 PM CT-Joe Ross allowed two hits and two walks without giving up a run in 5.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 1-0 on Friday. Ross struck out four, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.80 WHIP on the season.


@STATS_Insights