MLB

#11
Yu Darvish
ERA W-L K
3.28 10-5 132
Team: San DiegoHt / Wt: 6-5 / 216
Position: SPBorn: 8/16/1986 Birthplace: Osaka, Japan
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Signed via MLB-Japan


Latest News
Aug. 7 7:04 PM PT8:04 PM MT9:04 PM CT10:04 PM ET22:04 ET2:04 GMT10:04 7:04 PM MST9:04 PM EST8:04 PM CST9:34 PM VEN6:04 UAE (+1)8:04 PM CT-Yu Darvish fell to 10-5, allowing two runs on seven hits in 6.0 innings, as the San Diego Padres lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 4-0 on Sunday. Darvish struck out five, ending the game with a 3.28 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 2 4:51 PM PT5:51 PM MT6:51 PM CT7:51 PM ET19:51 ET23:51 GMT7:51 4:51 PM MST6:51 PM EST5:51 PM CST7:21 PM VEN3:51 UAE (+1)5:51 PM CT-Yu Darvish improved to 10-4, allowing three runs on six hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the San Diego Padres defeated the Colorado Rockies 13-5 on Tuesday. Darvish struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.30 ERA and 0.99 WHIP on the season.
July 27 1:37 PM PT2:37 PM MT3:37 PM CT4:37 PM ET16:37 ET20:37 GMT4:37 1:37 PM MST3:37 PM EST2:37 PM CST4:07 PM VEN0:37 UAE (+1)2:37 PM CT-Yu Darvish allowed two runs on six hits and one walk in 7.0 innings as the San Diego Padres lost to the Detroit Tigers 4-3 on Wednesday. Darvish struck out 11, ending the game with a 3.24 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
July 22 7:48 PM PT8:48 PM MT9:48 PM CT10:48 PM ET22:48 ET2:48 GMT10:48 7:48 PM MST9:48 PM EST8:48 PM CST10:18 PM VEN6:48 UAE (+1)8:48 PM CT-Yu Darvish improved to 9-4, allowing one run on four hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the San Diego Padres defeated the New York Mets 4-1 on Friday. Darvish struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.28 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
July 16 9:53 PM PT10:53 PM MT11:53 PM CT12:53 AM ET0:53 ET4:53 GMT12:53 9:53 PM MST11:53 PM EST10:53 PM CST12:23 AM VEN8:53 UAE10:53 PM CT-Yu Darvish improved to 8-4, allowing three runs on five hits and two walks in 7.0 innings, as the San Diego Padres defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 5-3 on Friday. Darvish struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.41 ERA and 0.99 WHIP on the season.
July 9 7:15 PM PT8:15 PM MT9:15 PM CT10:15 PM ET22:15 ET2:15 GMT10:15 7:15 PM MST9:15 PM EST8:15 PM CST9:45 PM VEN6:15 UAE (+1)8:15 PM CT-Yu Darvish allowed one run on three hits and two walks in 7.0 innings as the San Diego Padres lost to the San Francisco Giants 3-1 on Saturday. Darvish struck out six, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 0.99 WHIP on the season.
July 2 7:38 PM PT8:38 PM MT9:38 PM CT10:38 PM ET22:38 ET2:38 GMT10:38 7:38 PM MST9:38 PM EST8:38 PM CST10:08 PM VEN6:38 UAE (+1)8:38 PM CT-Yu Darvish fell to 7-4, allowing five runs on eight hits in 6.0 innings, as the San Diego Padres lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 7-2 on Saturday. Darvish struck out 10, ending the game with a 3.53 ERA and 1.01 WHIP on the season.
June 26 4:37 PM PT5:37 PM MT6:37 PM CT7:37 PM ET19:37 ET23:37 GMT7:37 4:37 PM MST6:37 PM EST5:37 PM CST7:07 PM VEN3:37 UAE (+1)5:37 PM CT-Yu Darvish allowed three runs on seven hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the San Diego Padres lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 8-5 on Sunday. Darvish struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.26 ERA and 0.98 WHIP on the season.
June 21 9:22 PM PT10:22 PM MT11:22 PM CT12:22 AM ET0:22 ET4:22 GMT12:22 9:22 PM MST11:22 PM EST10:22 PM CST11:52 PM VEN8:22 UAE10:22 PM CT-Yu Darvish improved to 7-3, allowing one run on four hits and two walks in 7.0 innings, as the San Diego Padres defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 4-1 on Monday. Darvish struck out five, ending the game with a 3.17 ERA and 0.96 WHIP on the season.
June 14 9:24 PM PT10:24 PM MT11:24 PM CT12:24 AM ET0:24 ET4:24 GMT12:24 9:24 PM MST11:24 PM EST10:24 PM CST11:54 PM VEN8:24 UAE10:24 PM CT-Yu Darvish improved to 6-3, allowing one run on five hits in 8.0 innings, as the San Diego Padres defeated the Chicago Cubs 4-1 on Monday. Darvish struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.35 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
June 8 9:31 PM PT10:31 PM MT11:31 PM CT12:31 AM ET0:31 ET4:31 GMT12:31 9:31 PM MST11:31 PM EST10:31 PM CST12:01 AM VEN8:31 UAE10:31 PM CT-Yu Darvish improved to 5-3, allowing two hits over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the San Diego Padres defeated the New York Mets 7-0 on Tuesday. Darvish struck out six, ending the game with a 3.61 ERA and 1.01 WHIP on the season.
June 1 1:05 PM PT2:05 PM MT3:05 PM CT4:05 PM ET16:05 ET20:05 GMT4:05 1:05 PM MST3:05 PM EST2:05 PM CST3:35 PM VEN0:05 UAE (+1)2:05 PM CT-Yu Darvish fell to 4-3, allowing five runs on seven hits and two walks in 7.2 innings, as the San Diego Padres lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-2 on Wednesday. Darvish struck out four, ending the game with a 4.03 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
May 25 4:22 PM PT5:22 PM MT6:22 PM CT7:22 PM ET19:22 ET23:22 GMT7:22 4:22 PM MST6:22 PM EST5:22 PM CST6:52 PM VEN3:22 UAE (+1)5:22 PM CT-Yu Darvish fell to 4-2, allowing two runs on three hits and two walks in 6.2 innings, as the San Diego Padres lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 2-1 on Wednesday. Darvish struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.76 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
May 19 1:41 PM PT2:41 PM MT3:41 PM CT4:41 PM ET16:41 ET20:41 GMT4:41 1:41 PM MST3:41 PM EST2:41 PM CST4:11 PM VEN0:41 UAE (+1)2:41 PM CT-Yu Darvish improved to 4-1, allowing six hits over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the San Diego Padres defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 2-0 on Thursday. Darvish struck out five, ending the game with a 3.91 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
May 13 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST9:08 PM CST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)9:08 PM CT-Yu Darvish allowed five runs on nine hits and one walk in 5.2 innings as the San Diego Padres defeated the Atlanta Braves 11-6 on Friday. Darvish struck out four, ending the game with a 4.62 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
May 7 10:04 PM PT11:04 PM MT12:04 AM CT1:04 AM ET1:04 ET5:04 GMT13:04 10:04 PM MST12:04 AM EST11:04 PM CST12:34 AM VEN9:04 UAE11:04 PM CT-Yu Darvish improved to 3-1, allowing two runs on five hits in 7.0 innings, as the San Diego Padres defeated the Miami Marlins 3-2 on Friday. Darvish struck out three, ending the game with a 4.05 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 7:04 PM PT8:04 PM MT9:04 PM CT10:04 PM ET22:04 ET2:04 GMT10:04 7:04 PM MST9:04 PM EST8:04 PM CST9:34 PM VEN6:04 UAE (+1)8:04 PM CT-Yu Darvish improved to 2-1, allowing three runs on eight hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the San Diego Padres defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 7-3 on Friday. Darvish struck out five, ending the game with a 4.44 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 24 9:12 PM PT10:12 PM MT11:12 PM CT12:12 AM ET0:12 ET4:12 GMT12:12 9:12 PM MST11:12 PM EST10:12 PM CST11:42 PM VEN8:12 UAE10:12 PM CT-Yu Darvish allowed one hit and three walks without giving up a run in 6.0 innings as the San Diego Padres defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 3-2 on Saturday. Darvish struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.43 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 17 7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST8:07 PM CST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)8:07 PM CT-Yu Darvish improved to 1-1, allowing one run on four hits in 6.2 innings, as the San Diego Padres defeated the Atlanta Braves 2-1 on Sunday. Darvish struck out eight, ending the game with a 6.28 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 13 10:10 PM PT11:10 PM MT12:10 AM CT1:10 AM ET1:10 ET5:10 GMT13:10 10:10 PM MST12:10 AM EST11:10 PM CST12:40 AM VEN9:10 UAE11:10 PM CT-Yu Darvish fell to 0-1, allowing nine runs on eight hits and two walks in 1.2 innings, as the San Diego Padres lost to the San Francisco Giants 13-2 on Tuesday. Darvish struck out two, ending the game with a 10.57 ERA and 1.83 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 8 12:11 PM PT1:11 PM MT2:11 PM CT3:11 PM ET15:11 ET19:11 GMT3:11 12:11 PM MST2:11 PM EST1:11 PM CST2:41 PM VEN23:11 UAE1:11 PM CT-Yu Darvish walked four and didn't allow a hit in 6.0 scoreless innings as the San Diego Padres lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 4-2 on Thursday. Darvish struck out three, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.67 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 8 12:11 PM PT1:11 PM MT2:11 PM CT3:11 PM ET15:11 ET19:11 GMT3:11 12:11 PM MST2:11 PM EST1:11 PM CST2:41 PM VEN23:11 UAE1:11 PM CT-Yu Darvish walked four and didn't allow a hit in 6.0 scoreless innings as the San Diego Padres lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 4-2 on Thursday. Darvish struck out three, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.67 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2012 Tex 16 9 0 - 0 29 29 0 191.1 156 89 83 14 89 1 221 1.28 3.90
2013 Tex 13 9 0 - 0 32 32 0 209.2 145 68 66 26 80 1 277 1.07 2.83
2014 Tex 10 7 0 - 0 22 22 2 144.1 133 54 49 13 49 1 182 1.26 3.06
2016 Tex 7 5 0 - 0 17 17 0 100.1 81 43 38 12 31 1 132 1.12 3.41
2017 Tex 6 9 0 - 0 22 22 0 137.0 115 63 61 20 45 0 148 1.17 4.01
2017 LAD 4 3 0 - 0 9 9 0 49.2 44 20 19 7 13 1 61 1.15 3.44
2017 Tot 10 12 0 - 0 31 31 0 186.2 159 83 80 27 58 1 209 1.16 3.86
2018 ChC 1 3 0 - 0 8 8 0 40.0 36 24 22 7 21 0 49 1.43 4.95
2019 ChC 6 8 0 - 0 31 31 0 178.2 140 82 79 33 56 1 229 1.10 3.98
2020 ChC 8 3 0 - 0 12 12 0 76.0 59 18 17 5 14 1 93 0.96 2.01
2021 SD 8 11 0 - 0 30 30 0 166.1 138 81 78 28 44 1 199 1.09 4.22
2022 SD 10 5 0 - 0 21 21 0 134.1 108 49 49 14 26 0 132 1.00 3.28
Career 89 72 0 - 0 233 233 2 1427.2 1155 591 561 179 468 8 1723 1.14 3.54

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 Tex 29 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .333 .333 .333
2013 Tex 32 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Tex 22 5 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .200 .200 .400
2016 Tex 17 3 1 1 0 0 1 1 0 1 0 0 .333 .333 1.333
2017 LAD 9 17 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 14 0 0 .059 .111 .059
2017 Tot 31 17 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 14 0 0 .059 .111 .059
2018 ChC 8 12 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 7 0 0 .083 .083 .167
2019 ChC 31 56 1 5 0 0 0 3 2 31 0 0 .089 .119 .089
2021 SD 30 53 2 5 2 0 0 1 0 25 0 0 .094 .111 .132
Career 233 152 4 15 4 0 1 5 3 83 0 0 .099 .121 .145

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2012 Tex Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.2 5 3 2 0 0 0 7 2.70
    WC 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.2 5 3 2 0 0 0 7 2.70
2016 Tex Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 5 5 5 4 1 0 4 9.00
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 5 5 5 4 1 0 4 9.00
2017 LAD Total 2 2 0 - 0 4 4 0 14.2 17 11 10 4 3 0 14 6.14
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 2 1 1 1 0 0 7 1.80
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.1 6 1 1 1 1 0 7 1.42
    WS 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 3.1 9 9 8 2 2 0 0 21.60
2020 ChC Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.2 5 2 2 1 2 1 6 2.70
    WC 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.2 5 2 2 1 2 1 6 2.70
Career 2 5 0 - 0 7 7 0 33.0 32 21 19 9 6 1 31 5.18

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2017 LAD Total 4 4 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 2 0 0 .000 .200 .000
    LDS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 1 0 0 .000 .333 .000
Career 7 4 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 2 0 0 .000 .200 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 698 98 90 95.2 33.49
Curveball 148 83 64 75.9 7.1
Slider 350 87 79 82.8 16.79
Changeup 11 89 84 86.5 .53
Split-Finger 145 93 85 89.1 6.96
Cut Fastball 732 93 82 86.7 35.12


@STATS_Insights