MLB

#20
Wei-Yin Chen
ERA W-L K
6.82 0-1 58
Team: MiamiHt / Wt: 6-0 / 193
Position: SPBorn: 7/21/1985 Birthplace: Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Bats/Throws: R/L Draft: Undrafted by Orioles (2012)


Latest News
Sep. 11 7:17 PM PT8:17 PM MT9:17 PM CT10:17 PM ET22:17 ET2:17 GMT10:17 7:17 PM MST9:17 PM EST8:17 PM CST9:47 PM VEN6:17 UAE (+1)9:17 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed two hits and one walk without giving up a run in 1.1 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 7-5 on Wednesday. Chen struck out three, ending the game with a 6.82 ERA and 1.55 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 9 8:22 PM PT9:22 PM MT10:22 PM CT11:22 PM ET23:22 ET3:22 GMT11:22 8:22 PM MST10:22 PM EST9:22 PM CST10:52 PM VEN7:22 UAE (+1)10:22 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed one run on two hits and one walk in 0.1 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 8-3 on Monday. Chen did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.97 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 31 6:41 PM PT7:41 PM MT8:41 PM CT9:41 PM ET21:41 ET1:41 GMT9:41 6:41 PM MST8:41 PM EST7:41 PM CST9:11 PM VEN5:41 UAE (+1)8:41 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed one hit without giving up a run in 4.0 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Washington Nationals 7-0 on Saturday. Chen struck out two, ending the game with a 6.86 ERA and 1.49 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 27 7:38 PM PT8:38 PM MT9:38 PM CT10:38 PM ET22:38 ET2:38 GMT10:38 7:38 PM MST9:38 PM EST8:38 PM CST10:08 PM VEN6:38 UAE (+1)9:38 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Cincinnati Reds 8-5 on Tuesday. Chen struck out one, ending the game with a 7.34 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 24 6:54 PM PT7:54 PM MT8:54 PM CT9:54 PM ET21:54 ET1:54 GMT9:54 6:54 PM MST8:54 PM EST7:54 PM CST9:24 PM VEN5:54 UAE (+1)8:54 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed three runs on two hits and two walks in 2.0 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 9-3 on Saturday. Chen struck out two, ending the game with a 7.46 ERA and 1.61 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 23 8:25 PM PT9:25 PM MT10:25 PM CT11:25 PM ET23:25 ET3:25 GMT11:25 8:25 PM MST10:25 PM EST9:25 PM CST10:55 PM VEN7:25 UAE (+1)10:25 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed two runs on three hits and one walk in 0.2 innings as the Miami Marlins defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 19-11 on Friday. Chen did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 7.24 ERA and 1.59 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 20 7:26 PM PT8:26 PM MT9:26 PM CT10:26 PM ET22:26 ET2:26 GMT10:26 7:26 PM MST9:26 PM EST8:26 PM CST9:56 PM VEN6:26 UAE (+1)9:26 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Atlanta Braves 5-1 on Tuesday. Chen did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 7.00 ERA and 1.54 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 17 8:24 PM PT9:24 PM MT10:24 PM CT11:24 PM ET23:24 ET3:24 GMT11:24 8:24 PM MST10:24 PM EST9:24 PM CST10:54 PM VEN7:24 UAE (+1)10:24 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed two runs on four hits in 2.0 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Colorado Rockies 11-4 on Saturday. Chen struck out one, ending the game with a 7.13 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 13 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST8:40 PM CST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)9:40 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed six runs on six hits in 2.0 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 15-1 on Tuesday. Chen struck out two, ending the game with a 7.06 ERA and 1.55 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 9 7:34 PM PT8:34 PM MT9:34 PM CT10:34 PM ET22:34 ET2:34 GMT10:34 7:34 PM MST9:34 PM EST8:34 PM CST10:04 PM VEN6:34 UAE (+1)9:34 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen did not allow a hit or walk in 3.0 scoreless innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Atlanta Braves 8-4 on Friday. Chen struck out three, ending the game with a 6.24 ERA and 1.49 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 5 4:03 PM PT5:03 PM MT6:03 PM CT7:03 PM ET19:03 ET23:03 GMT7:03 4:03 PM MST6:03 PM EST5:03 PM CST6:33 PM VEN3:03 UAE (+1)6:03 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the New York Mets 6-2 on Monday. Chen struck out three, ending the game with a 6.65 ERA and 1.59 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 3 6:35 PM PT7:35 PM MT8:35 PM CT9:35 PM ET21:35 ET1:35 GMT9:35 6:35 PM MST8:35 PM EST7:35 PM CST9:05 PM VEN5:35 UAE (+1)8:35 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 8-6 on Saturday. Chen struck out one, ending the game with a 6.95 ERA and 1.61 WHIP on the season.
July 31 6:56 PM PT7:56 PM MT8:56 PM CT9:56 PM ET21:56 ET1:56 GMT9:56 6:56 PM MST8:56 PM EST7:56 PM CST9:26 PM VEN5:56 UAE (+1)8:56 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed two hits and one walk without giving up a run in 2.1 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Minnesota Twins 7-4 on Wednesday. Chen struck out two, ending the game with a 7.06 ERA and 1.62 WHIP on the season.
July 27 6:03 PM PT7:03 PM MT8:03 PM CT9:03 PM ET21:03 ET1:03 GMT9:03 6:03 PM MST8:03 PM EST7:03 PM CST8:33 PM VEN5:03 UAE (+1)8:03 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed two runs on four hits in 3.0 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 9-2 on Saturday. Chen struck out four, ending the game with a 7.46 ERA and 1.63 WHIP on the season.
July 21 3:54 PM PT4:54 PM MT5:54 PM CT6:54 PM ET18:54 ET22:54 GMT6:54 3:54 PM MST5:54 PM EST4:54 PM CST6:24 PM VEN2:54 UAE (+1)5:54 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed one run on four hits in 2.0 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 9-0 on Sunday. Chen struck out three, ending the game with a 7.58 ERA and 1.66 WHIP on the season.
July 20 10:12 PM PT11:12 PM MT12:12 AM CT1:12 AM ET1:12 ET5:12 GMT13:12 10:12 PM MST12:12 AM EST11:12 PM CST12:42 AM VEN9:12 UAE12:12 AM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed two hits without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 2-1 on Friday. Chen did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 7.75 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
July 17 6:59 PM PT7:59 PM MT8:59 PM CT9:59 PM ET21:59 ET1:59 GMT9:59 6:59 PM MST8:59 PM EST7:59 PM CST9:29 PM VEN5:59 UAE (+1)8:59 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the San Diego Padres 3-2 on Wednesday. Chen did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 7.97 ERA and 1.63 WHIP on the season.
July 14 1:30 PM PT2:30 PM MT3:30 PM CT4:30 PM ET16:30 ET20:30 GMT4:30 1:30 PM MST3:30 PM EST2:30 PM CST4:00 PM VEN0:30 UAE (+1)3:30 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed one run on one hit in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the New York Mets 6-2 on Sunday. Chen did not strike out a batter, ending the game with an 8.21 ERA and 1.68 WHIP on the season.
July 3 6:16 PM PT7:16 PM MT8:16 PM CT9:16 PM ET21:16 ET1:16 GMT9:16 6:16 PM MST8:16 PM EST7:16 PM CST8:46 PM VEN5:16 UAE (+1)8:16 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed one run on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Washington Nationals 3-1 on Wednesday. Chen did not strike out a batter, ending the game with an 8.18 ERA and 1.70 WHIP on the season.
June 30 1:51 PM PT2:51 PM MT3:51 PM CT4:51 PM ET16:51 ET20:51 GMT4:51 1:51 PM MST3:51 PM EST2:51 PM CST4:21 PM VEN0:51 UAE (+1)3:51 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed five runs - four earned - on five hits without recording an out as the Miami Marlins lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 13-6 on Sunday. Chen did not strike out a batter, ending the game with an 8.16 ERA and 1.66 WHIP on the season.
June 27 7:05 PM PT8:05 PM MT9:05 PM CT10:05 PM ET22:05 ET2:05 GMT10:05 7:05 PM MST9:05 PM EST8:05 PM CST9:35 PM VEN6:05 UAE (+1)9:05 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Washington Nationals 8-5 on Thursday. Chen did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 7.03 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
June 26 7:32 PM PT8:32 PM MT9:32 PM CT10:32 PM ET22:32 ET2:32 GMT10:32 7:32 PM MST9:32 PM EST8:32 PM CST10:02 PM VEN6:32 UAE (+1)9:32 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed one run on one hit in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Washington Nationals 7-5 on Wednesday. Chen struck out two, ending the game with a 7.11 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
June 22 3:57 PM PT4:57 PM MT5:57 PM CT6:57 PM ET18:57 ET22:57 GMT6:57 3:57 PM MST5:57 PM EST4:57 PM CST6:27 PM VEN2:57 UAE (+1)5:57 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed three hits and one walk without giving up a run in 2.1 innings as the Miami Marlins defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 5-3 on Saturday. Chen struck out one, ending the game with a 7.04 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
June 20 8:53 PM PT9:53 PM MT10:53 PM CT11:53 PM ET23:53 ET3:53 GMT11:53 8:53 PM MST10:53 PM EST9:53 PM CST11:23 PM VEN7:53 UAE (+1)10:53 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed one run on one hit in 0.1 innings as the Miami Marlins defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 7-6 on Thursday. Chen struck out one, ending the game with a 7.62 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
June 17 7:57 PM PT8:57 PM MT9:57 PM CT10:57 PM ET22:57 ET2:57 GMT10:57 7:57 PM MST9:57 PM EST8:57 PM CST10:27 PM VEN6:57 UAE (+1)9:57 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed two runs on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-0 on Monday. Chen struck out one, ending the game with a 7.39 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
June 16 1:24 PM PT2:24 PM MT3:24 PM CT4:24 PM ET16:24 ET20:24 GMT4:24 1:24 PM MST3:24 PM EST2:24 PM CST3:54 PM VEN0:24 UAE (+1)3:24 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 5-4 on Sunday. Chen did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 7.00 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
June 10 7:02 PM PT8:02 PM MT9:02 PM CT10:02 PM ET22:02 ET2:02 GMT10:02 7:02 PM MST9:02 PM EST8:02 PM CST9:32 PM VEN6:02 UAE (+1)9:02 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen did not allow a hit or walk in 2.0 scoreless innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 4-1 on Monday. Chen struck out two, ending the game with a 7.27 ERA and 1.54 WHIP on the season.
June 7 6:57 PM PT7:57 PM MT8:57 PM CT9:57 PM ET21:57 ET1:57 GMT9:57 6:57 PM MST8:57 PM EST7:57 PM CST9:27 PM VEN5:57 UAE (+1)8:57 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed one run on one hit and one walk in 2.0 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Atlanta Braves 7-1 on Friday. Chen struck out two, ending the game with a 7.88 ERA and 1.67 WHIP on the season.
June 2 6:49 PM PT7:49 PM MT8:49 PM CT9:49 PM ET21:49 ET1:49 GMT9:49 6:49 PM MST8:49 PM EST7:49 PM CST9:19 PM VEN5:49 UAE (+1)8:49 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed one run on one hit in 2.0 innings as the Miami Marlins defeated the San Diego Padres 9-3 on Sunday. Chen struck out two, ending the game with an 8.18 ERA and 1.73 WHIP on the season.
May 30 1:21 PM PT2:21 PM MT3:21 PM CT4:21 PM ET16:21 ET20:21 GMT4:21 1:21 PM MST3:21 PM EST2:21 PM CST3:51 PM VEN0:21 UAE (+1)3:21 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.2 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the San Francisco Giants 3-1 on Thursday. Chen struck out two, ending the game with an 8.55 ERA and 1.85 WHIP on the season.
May 26 2:10 PM PT3:10 PM MT4:10 PM CT5:10 PM ET17:10 ET21:10 GMT5:10 2:10 PM MST4:10 PM EST3:10 PM CST4:40 PM VEN1:10 UAE (+1)4:10 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed four runs on six hits in 3.0 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Washington Nationals 9-6 on Sunday. Chen struck out three, ending the game with a 9.33 ERA and 1.91 WHIP on the season.
May 24 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST9:08 PM CST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)10:08 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Washington Nationals 12-10 on Friday. Chen struck out one, ending the game with an 8.80 ERA and 1.89 WHIP on the season.
May 21 7:47 PM PT8:47 PM MT9:47 PM CT10:47 PM ET22:47 ET2:47 GMT10:47 7:47 PM MST9:47 PM EST8:47 PM CST10:17 PM VEN6:47 UAE (+1)9:47 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Miami Marlins defeated the Detroit Tigers 5-4 on Tuesday. Chen did not strike out a batter, ending the game with an 8.79 ERA and 1.88 WHIP on the season.
May 11 6:56 PM PT7:56 PM MT8:56 PM CT9:56 PM ET21:56 ET1:56 GMT9:56 6:56 PM MST8:56 PM EST7:56 PM CST9:26 PM VEN5:56 UAE (+1)8:56 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the New York Mets 4-1 on Saturday. Chen struck out one, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 1.93 WHIP on the season.
May 9 2:27 PM PT3:27 PM MT4:27 PM CT5:27 PM ET17:27 ET21:27 GMT5:27 2:27 PM MST4:27 PM EST3:27 PM CST4:57 PM VEN1:27 UAE (+1)4:27 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Chicago Cubs 4-1 on Thursday. Chen struck out one, ending the game with a 9.69 ERA and 2.08 WHIP on the season.
May 3 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST8:23 PM CST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)9:23 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.1 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Atlanta Braves 7-2 on Friday. Chen struck out one, ending the game with an 11.45 ERA and 2.27 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 6:48 PM PT7:48 PM MT8:48 PM CT9:48 PM ET21:48 ET1:48 GMT9:48 6:48 PM MST8:48 PM EST7:48 PM CST9:18 PM VEN5:48 UAE (+1)8:48 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed two hits without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 12-9 on Saturday. Chen struck out two, ending the game with a 13.03 ERA and 2.48 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 21 12:59 PM PT1:59 PM MT2:59 PM CT3:59 PM ET15:59 ET19:59 GMT3:59 12:59 PM MST2:59 PM EST1:59 PM CST3:29 PM VEN23:59 UAE2:59 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Washington Nationals 5-0 on Sunday. Chen struck out one, ending the game with a 16.43 ERA and 2.87 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 15 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST8:40 PM CST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)9:40 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed one run on three hits and one walk in 2.0 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Chicago Cubs 7-2 on Monday. Chen struck out one, ending the game with an 18.00 ERA and 3.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 14 2:56 PM PT3:56 PM MT4:56 PM CT5:56 PM ET17:56 ET21:56 GMT5:56 2:56 PM MST4:56 PM EST3:56 PM CST5:26 PM VEN1:56 UAE (+1)4:56 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen fell to 0-1, allowing two runs on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 3-1 on Sunday. Chen struck out two, ending the game with a 23.40 ERA and 3.40 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 6:32 PM PT7:32 PM MT8:32 PM CT9:32 PM ET21:32 ET1:32 GMT9:32 6:32 PM MST8:32 PM EST7:32 PM CST9:02 PM VEN5:32 UAE (+1)8:32 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed 10 runs on seven hits and two walks in 2.0 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Cincinnati Reds 14-0 on Tuesday. Chen struck out three, ending the game with a 24.75 ERA and 3.75 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 2 7:39 PM PT8:39 PM MT9:39 PM CT10:39 PM ET22:39 ET2:39 GMT10:39 7:39 PM MST9:39 PM EST8:39 PM CST10:09 PM VEN6:39 UAE (+1)9:39 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed one run on two hits and two walks in 2.0 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the New York Mets 6-5 on Tuesday. Chen struck out two, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 3.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2012 Bal 12 11 0 - 0 32 32 0 192.2 186 97 86 29 57 0 154 1.26 4.02
2013 Bal 7 7 0 - 0 23 23 0 137.0 142 62 62 17 39 2 104 1.32 4.07
2014 Bal 16 6 0 - 0 31 31 0 185.2 193 77 73 23 35 2 136 1.23 3.54
2015 Bal 11 8 0 - 0 31 31 0 191.1 192 78 71 28 41 0 153 1.22 3.34
2016 Mia 5 5 0 - 0 22 22 0 123.1 134 69 68 22 24 0 100 1.28 4.96
2017 Mia 2 1 0 - 0 9 5 0 33.0 25 14 14 3 9 0 25 1.03 3.82
2018 Mia 6 12 0 - 0 26 26 0 133.1 131 75 71 19 47 6 111 1.34 4.79
2019 Mia 0 1 0 - 0 43 0 0 63.1 80 49 48 14 18 2 58 1.55 6.82
Career 59 51 0 - 0 217 170 0 1059.2 1083 521 493 155 270 12 841 1.28 4.19

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 Bal 32 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 Bal 23 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Bal 31 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 Mia 22 44 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 18 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 Mia 9 8 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .125 .125 .125
2018 Mia 27 40 2 6 1 0 0 2 0 18 0 0 .150 .150 .175
2019 Mia 43 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 218 103 2 7 1 0 0 2 0 46 0 0 .068 .068 .078

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2012 Bal Total 2 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 12.2 16 4 2 0 2 0 6 1.42
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.1 8 2 1 0 1 0 3 1.42
2014 Bal Total 0 2 0 - 0 4 4 0 18.0 28 14 14 4 2 0 14 6.75
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 3.2 7 5 5 2 0 0 3 12.27
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.1 7 2 2 0 1 0 4 3.38
Career 1 1 0 - 0 3 3 0 15.1 22 9 8 2 2 0 10 4.70


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 551 94 88 91.3 50.78
Curveball 235 78 70 74.2 21.66
Slider 257 91 81 85.9 23.69
Changeup 42 87 81 84.1 3.87


@STATS_Insights