MLB

#33
Kwang Hyun Kim
ERA S K
3.46 1 80
Team: St. LouisHt / Wt: 6-2 / 195
Position: RPBorn: 7/22/1988 Birthplace: Seoul, South Korea
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: Undrafted by Cardinals (2019)


Latest News
Oct. 2 7:47 PM PT8:47 PM MT9:47 PM CT10:47 PM ET22:47 ET2:47 GMT10:47 7:47 PM MST9:47 PM EST8:47 PM CST10:17 PM VEN6:47 UAE (+1)8:47 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim allowed two hits and one walk without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Chicago Cubs 6-5 on Saturday. Kim did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.46 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 25 2:43 PM PT3:43 PM MT4:43 PM CT5:43 PM ET17:43 ET21:43 GMT5:43 2:43 PM MST4:43 PM EST3:43 PM CST5:13 PM VEN1:43 UAE (+1)3:43 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim improved to 7-7, allowing one hit over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Chicago Cubs 8-5 on Saturday. Kim did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.53 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 23 2:46 PM PT3:46 PM MT4:46 PM CT5:46 PM ET17:46 ET21:46 GMT5:46 2:46 PM MST4:46 PM EST3:46 PM CST5:16 PM VEN1:46 UAE (+1)3:46 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim allowed two hits and two walks without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 8-5 on Thursday. Kim struck out two, ending the game with a 3.56 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 14 8:55 PM PT9:55 PM MT10:55 PM CT11:55 PM ET23:55 ET3:55 GMT11:55 8:55 PM MST10:55 PM EST9:55 PM CST11:25 PM VEN7:55 UAE (+1)9:55 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim recorded his first save, allowing two runs - zero earned - on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the New York Mets 7-6 on Tuesday. Kim did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.63 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 7 7:57 PM PT8:57 PM MT9:57 PM CT10:57 PM ET22:57 ET2:57 GMT10:57 7:57 PM MST9:57 PM EST8:57 PM CST10:27 PM VEN6:57 UAE (+1)8:57 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim allowed two runs on two hits in 1.1 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 7-2 on Tuesday. Kim struck out two, ending the game with a 3.67 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 4 6:42 PM PT7:42 PM MT8:42 PM CT9:42 PM ET21:42 ET1:42 GMT9:42 6:42 PM MST8:42 PM EST7:42 PM CST9:12 PM VEN5:42 UAE (+1)7:42 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim fell to 6-7, allowing four runs on seven hits and one walk in 1.2 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 4-0 on Saturday. Kim struck out one, ending the game with a 3.53 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 29 1:13 PM PT2:13 PM MT3:13 PM CT4:13 PM ET16:13 ET20:13 GMT4:13 1:13 PM MST3:13 PM EST2:13 PM CST3:43 PM VEN0:13 UAE (+1)2:13 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim allowed one run on three hits and one walk in 4.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-3 on Sunday. Kim struck out three, ending the game with a 3.23 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 24 8:06 PM PT9:06 PM MT10:06 PM CT11:06 PM ET23:06 ET3:06 GMT11:06 8:06 PM MST10:06 PM EST9:06 PM CST10:36 PM VEN7:06 UAE (+1)9:06 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim walked two and didn't allow a hit in 2.2 scoreless innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Detroit Tigers 4-3 on Tuesday. Kim struck out two, ending the game with a 3.27 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 9 3:05 PM PT4:05 PM MT5:05 PM CT6:05 PM ET18:05 ET22:05 GMT6:05 3:05 PM MST5:05 PM EST4:05 PM CST5:35 PM VEN2:05 UAE (+1)4:05 PM CT-Kim (elbow inflammation) came off the injured list Sunday and will spend the rest of the season as a reliever.
Analysis: Kim was having a solid season before landing on the injured list Aug. 9, as he's 6-6 with a 3.36 ERA in 19 starts.
Aug. 7 7:26 PM PT8:26 PM MT9:26 PM CT10:26 PM ET22:26 ET2:26 GMT10:26 7:26 PM MST9:26 PM EST8:26 PM CST9:56 PM VEN6:26 UAE (+1)8:26 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim allowed two runs on four hits and two walks in 4.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Kansas City Royals 5-2 on Saturday. Kim struck out three, ending the game with a 3.36 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
July 28 1:24 PM PT2:24 PM MT3:24 PM CT4:24 PM ET16:24 ET20:24 GMT4:24 1:24 PM MST3:24 PM EST2:24 PM CST3:54 PM VEN0:24 UAE (+1)2:24 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim fell to 6-6, allowing five runs on five hits and one walk in 2.2 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Cleveland Indians 7-2 on Wednesday. Kim did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.31 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
July 22 7:10 PM PT8:10 PM MT9:10 PM CT10:10 PM ET22:10 ET2:10 GMT10:10 7:10 PM MST9:10 PM EST8:10 PM CST9:40 PM VEN6:10 UAE (+1)8:10 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim improved to 6-5, allowing two runs on two hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Chicago Cubs 3-2 on Thursday. Kim struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.88 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
July 17 6:56 PM PT7:56 PM MT8:56 PM CT9:56 PM ET21:56 ET1:56 GMT9:56 6:56 PM MST8:56 PM EST7:56 PM CST9:26 PM VEN5:56 UAE (+1)7:56 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim improved to 5-5, allowing three hits and two walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the San Francisco Giants 3-1 on Saturday. Kim struck out one, ending the game with a 2.87 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
July 10 7:53 PM PT8:53 PM MT9:53 PM CT10:53 PM ET22:53 ET2:53 GMT10:53 7:53 PM MST9:53 PM EST8:53 PM CST10:23 PM VEN6:53 UAE (+1)8:53 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim improved to 4-5, allowing five hits and one walk over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Chicago Cubs 6-0 on Saturday. Kim struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.11 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
July 5 6:15 PM PT7:15 PM MT8:15 PM CT9:15 PM ET21:15 ET1:15 GMT9:15 6:15 PM MST8:15 PM EST7:15 PM CST8:45 PM VEN5:15 UAE (+1)7:15 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim improved to 3-5, allowing three hits and two walks over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the San Francisco Giants 5-3 on Monday. Kim struck out two, ending the game with a 3.39 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
June 30 1:40 PM PT2:40 PM MT3:40 PM CT4:40 PM ET16:40 ET20:40 GMT4:40 1:40 PM MST3:40 PM EST2:40 PM CST4:10 PM VEN0:40 UAE (+1)2:40 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim improved to 2-5, allowing one run on three hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 7-4 on Wednesday. Kim struck out five, ending the game with a 3.79 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
June 26 10:34 PM PT11:34 PM MT12:34 AM CT1:34 AM ET1:34 ET5:34 GMT13:34 10:34 PM MST12:34 AM EST11:34 PM CST1:04 AM VEN9:34 UAE11:34 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim allowed four runs on seven hits and one walk in 4.1 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 5-4 on Friday. Kim struck out one, ending the game with a 3.98 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
June 20 6:11 PM PT7:11 PM MT8:11 PM CT9:11 PM ET21:11 ET1:11 GMT9:11 6:11 PM MST8:11 PM EST7:11 PM CST8:41 PM VEN5:11 UAE (+1)7:11 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim fell to 1-5, allowing one run on three hits and one walk in 4.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Atlanta Braves 1-0 on Sunday. Kim struck out two, ending the game with a 3.60 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
June 16 10:01 PM PT11:01 PM MT12:01 AM CT1:01 AM ET1:01 ET5:01 GMT13:01 10:01 PM MST12:01 AM EST11:01 PM CST12:31 AM VEN9:01 UAE11:01 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim allowed one run on three hits and five walks in 6.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Miami Marlins 2-1 on Tuesday. Kim struck out six, ending the game with a 3.72 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
June 4 8:46 PM PT9:46 PM MT10:46 PM CT11:46 PM ET23:46 ET3:46 GMT11:46 8:46 PM MST10:46 PM EST9:46 PM CST11:16 PM VEN7:46 UAE (+1)9:46 PM CT-Kim (back stiffness) has been removed from the injured list and will start Tuesday against the Marlins.
Analysis: Kim (1-4, 4.05) will wind up missing only one start. The Korean lefty had been struggling prior to landing on the IL, as he's posted a 6.59 ERA while losing each of his last three starts.
May 30 4:18 PM PT5:18 PM MT6:18 PM CT7:18 PM ET19:18 ET23:18 GMT7:18 4:18 PM MST6:18 PM EST5:18 PM CST6:48 PM VEN3:18 UAE (+1)5:18 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim fell to 1-3, allowing four runs on nine hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 9-2 on Sunday. Kim struck out one, ending the game with a 3.65 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
May 24 8:58 PM PT9:58 PM MT10:58 PM CT11:58 PM ET23:58 ET3:58 GMT11:58 8:58 PM MST10:58 PM EST9:58 PM CST11:28 PM VEN7:58 UAE (+1)9:58 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim fell to 1-2, allowing three runs on five hits and three walks in 5.2 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Chicago White Sox 5-1 on Monday. Kim struck out five, ending the game with a 3.09 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
May 16 7:45 PM PT8:45 PM MT9:45 PM CT10:45 PM ET22:45 ET2:45 GMT10:45 7:45 PM MST9:45 PM EST8:45 PM CST10:15 PM VEN6:45 UAE (+1)8:45 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim fell to 1-1, allowing four runs - one earned - on two hits and three walks in 3.1 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the San Diego Padres 5-3 on Sunday. Kim struck out three, ending the game with a 2.73 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
May 11 8:56 PM PT9:56 PM MT10:56 PM CT11:56 PM ET23:56 ET3:56 GMT11:56 8:56 PM MST10:56 PM EST9:56 PM CST11:26 PM VEN7:56 UAE (+1)9:56 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim allowed one run on five hits and one walk in 5.1 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 6-1 on Tuesday. Kim struck out six, ending the game with a 2.74 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
May 5 4:57 PM PT5:57 PM MT6:57 PM CT7:57 PM ET19:57 ET23:57 GMT7:57 4:57 PM MST6:57 PM EST5:57 PM CST7:27 PM VEN3:57 UAE (+1)5:57 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim allowed one run on two hits and three walks in 4.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the New York Mets 4-1 on Wednesday. Kim struck out two, ending the game with a 3.06 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 1:31 PM PT2:31 PM MT3:31 PM CT4:31 PM ET16:31 ET20:31 GMT4:31 1:31 PM MST3:31 PM EST2:31 PM CST4:01 PM VEN0:31 UAE (+1)2:31 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim allowed one run on seven hits in 5.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 4-3 on Thursday. Kim struck out four, ending the game with a 3.29 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 8:37 PM PT9:37 PM MT10:37 PM CT11:37 PM ET23:37 ET3:37 GMT11:37 8:37 PM MST10:37 PM EST9:37 PM CST11:07 PM VEN7:37 UAE (+1)9:37 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim improved to 1-0, allowing one run on five hits in 5.2 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Cincinnati Reds 5-4 on Friday. Kim struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.15 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 17 5:04 PM PT6:04 PM MT7:04 PM CT8:04 PM ET20:04 ET0:04 GMT8:04 5:04 PM MST7:04 PM EST6:04 PM CST7:34 PM VEN4:04 UAE (+1)6:04 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim allowed three runs on five hits and one walk in 3.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 9-4 on Saturday. Kim struck out four, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 27 3:43 PM PT4:43 PM MT5:43 PM CT6:43 PM ET18:43 ET22:43 GMT6:43 3:43 PM MST5:43 PM EST4:43 PM CST6:13 PM VEN2:43 UAE (+1)4:43 PM CT-Kim (back) has been activated from the injured list and will make his season debut Saturday against the Phillies.
Analysis: The Korean import is now healthy after missing some time in spring training and will attempt to build off a strong first season in the majors. Kim went 3-0 with a 1.62 ERA and a 1.03 WHIP in eight starts and one relief outing during the shortened 2020 season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2020 StL 3 0 1 - 1 8 7 0 39.0 28 9 7 3 12 2 24 1.03 1.62
2021 StL 7 7 1 - 1 27 21 0 106.2 98 46 41 12 39 2 80 1.28 3.46
Career 10 7 2 - 2 35 28 0 145.2 126 55 48 15 51 4 104 1.22 2.97

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2021 StL 27 26 0 3 1 0 0 2 0 9 0 0 .115 .148 .154
Career 35 26 0 3 1 0 0 2 0 9 0 0 .115 .148 .154

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2020 StL Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 3.2 5 3 3 0 2 0 2 7.36
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 3.2 5 3 3 0 2 0 2 7.36
Career 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 3.2 5 3 3 0 2 0 2 7.36


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 746 93 84 89.1 41.82
Curveball 156 75 65 69.7 8.74
Slider 673 89 72 83.5 37.72
Changeup 209 85 75 80.4 11.72


@STATS_Insights