MLB

#23
Zac Gallen
ERA W-L K
4.30 4-10 139
Team: ArizonaHt / Wt: 6-2 / 198
Position: SPBorn: 8/3/1995 Birthplace: Somerdale, New Jersey
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 3rd Round by Cardinals (2016)


Latest News
Oct. 2 8:43 PM PT9:43 PM MT10:43 PM CT11:43 PM ET23:43 ET3:43 GMT11:43 8:43 PM MST10:43 PM EST9:43 PM CST11:13 PM VEN7:43 UAE (+1)9:43 PM CT-Zac Gallen improved to 4-10, allowing two runs on six hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Colorado Rockies 11-2 on Saturday. Gallen struck out six, ending the game with a 4.30 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 25 8:31 PM PT9:31 PM MT10:31 PM CT11:31 PM ET23:31 ET3:31 GMT11:31 8:31 PM MST10:31 PM EST9:31 PM CST11:01 PM VEN7:31 UAE (+1)9:31 PM CT-Zac Gallen improved to 3-10, allowing one run on three hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 7-2 on Saturday. Gallen struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.37 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 19 2:33 PM PT3:33 PM MT4:33 PM CT5:33 PM ET17:33 ET21:33 GMT5:33 2:33 PM MST4:33 PM EST3:33 PM CST5:03 PM VEN1:33 UAE (+1)3:33 PM CT-Zac Gallen allowed four runs on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Houston Astros 7-6 on Sunday. Gallen struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.53 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 14 10:30 PM PT11:30 PM MT12:30 AM CT1:30 AM ET1:30 ET5:30 GMT13:30 10:30 PM MST12:30 AM EST11:30 PM CST1:00 AM VEN9:30 UAE11:30 PM CT-Zac Gallen fell to 2-10, allowing four runs on eight hits and three walks in 5.1 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-1 on Monday. Gallen struck out four, ending the game with a 4.44 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 8 9:34 PM PT10:34 PM MT11:34 PM CT12:34 AM ET0:34 ET4:34 GMT12:34 9:34 PM MST11:34 PM EST10:34 PM CST12:04 AM VEN8:34 UAE10:34 PM CT-Zac Gallen fell to 2-9, allowing three runs on six hits in 6.2 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Texas Rangers 3-1 on Tuesday. Gallen struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.32 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 1 9:51 PM PT10:51 PM MT11:51 PM CT12:51 AM ET0:51 ET4:51 GMT12:51 9:51 PM MST11:51 PM EST10:51 PM CST12:21 AM VEN8:51 UAE10:51 PM CT-Zac Gallen fell to 2-8, allowing three runs on five hits and four walks in 6.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the San Diego Padres 3-0 on Tuesday. Gallen struck out four, ending the game with a 4.34 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 26 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST9:08 PM CST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)9:08 PM CT-Zac Gallen improved to 2-7, allowing two runs - zero earned - on three hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 8-7 on Thursday. Gallen struck out six, ending the game with a 4.32 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 22 9:12 PM PT10:12 PM MT11:12 PM CT12:12 AM ET0:12 ET4:12 GMT12:12 9:12 PM MST11:12 PM EST10:12 PM CST11:42 PM VEN8:12 UAE10:12 PM CT-Zac Gallen allowed three hits and one walk without giving up a run in 7.0 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Colorado Rockies 5-2 on Saturday. Gallen struck out nine, ending the game with a 4.59 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 15 4:38 PM PT5:38 PM MT6:38 PM CT7:38 PM ET19:38 ET23:38 GMT7:38 4:38 PM MST6:38 PM EST5:38 PM CST7:08 PM VEN3:38 UAE (+1)5:38 PM CT-Zac Gallen fell to 1-7, allowing four runs on eight hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the San Diego Padres 8-2 on Sunday. Gallen struck out five, ending the game with a 5.03 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 11 10:02 PM PT11:02 PM MT12:02 AM CT1:02 AM ET1:02 ET5:02 GMT13:02 10:02 PM MST12:02 AM EST11:02 PM CST12:32 AM VEN9:02 UAE11:02 PM CT-Zac Gallen allowed five runs on seven hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the San Francisco Giants 8-7 on Tuesday. Gallen struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.87 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 5 10:22 PM PT11:22 PM MT12:22 AM CT1:22 AM ET1:22 ET5:22 GMT13:22 10:22 PM MST12:22 AM EST11:22 PM CST12:52 AM VEN9:22 UAE11:22 PM CT-Zac Gallen fell to 1-6, allowing three runs on four hits and three walks in 5.2 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the San Francisco Giants 7-1 on Wednesday. Gallen struck out six, ending the game with a 4.62 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
July 31 11:23 PM PT12:23 AM MT1:23 AM CT2:23 AM ET2:23 ET6:23 GMT14:23 11:23 PM MST1:23 AM EST12:23 AM CST1:53 AM VEN10:23 UAE12:23 AM CT-Zac Gallen allowed two runs on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 6-5 on Friday. Gallen struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.61 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
July 23 2:37 PM PT3:37 PM MT4:37 PM CT5:37 PM ET17:37 ET21:37 GMT5:37 2:37 PM MST4:37 PM EST3:37 PM CST5:07 PM VEN1:37 UAE (+1)3:37 PM CT-Zac Gallen fell to 1-5, allowing seven runs on six hits and three walks in 4.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Chicago Cubs 8-3 on Friday. Gallen struck out five, ending the game with a 4.80 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
July 17 4:32 PM PT5:32 PM MT6:32 PM CT7:32 PM ET19:32 ET23:32 GMT7:32 4:32 PM MST6:32 PM EST5:32 PM CST7:02 PM VEN3:32 UAE (+1)5:32 PM CT-Zac Gallen allowed one run on three hits and two walks in 5.2 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Chicago Cubs 4-2 on Saturday. Gallen struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
July 3 10:31 PM PT11:31 PM MT12:31 AM CT1:31 AM ET1:31 ET5:31 GMT13:31 10:31 PM MST12:31 AM EST11:31 PM CST1:01 AM VEN9:31 UAE11:31 PM CT-Zac Gallen fell to 1-4, allowing three runs on five hits and three walks in 2.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the San Francisco Giants 11-4 on Friday. Gallen struck out three, ending the game with a 4.17 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
June 27 4:41 PM PT5:41 PM MT6:41 PM CT7:41 PM ET19:41 ET23:41 GMT7:41 4:41 PM MST6:41 PM EST5:41 PM CST7:11 PM VEN3:41 UAE (+1)5:41 PM CT-Zac Gallen allowed two runs on six hits and three walks in 4.2 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the San Diego Padres 5-4 on Sunday. Gallen struck out three, ending the game with a 3.69 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
June 23 10:00 PM PT11:00 PM MT12:00 AM CT1:00 AM ET1:00 ET5:00 GMT13:00 10:00 PM MST12:00 AM EST11:00 PM CST12:30 AM VEN9:00 UAE11:00 PM CT-Zac Gallen fell to 1-3, allowing one run on three hits in 5.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 5-0 on Tuesday. Gallen struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.67 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
June 17 3:44 PM PT4:44 PM MT5:44 PM CT6:44 PM ET18:44 ET22:44 GMT6:44 3:44 PM MST5:44 PM EST4:44 PM CST6:14 PM VEN2:44 UAE (+1)4:44 PM CT-Zac Gallen fell to 1-2, allowing four runs on four hits and one walk in 2.2 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the San Francisco Giants 10-3 on Thursday. Gallen struck out three, ending the game with a 3.99 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
May 12 3:29 PM PT4:29 PM MT5:29 PM CT6:29 PM ET18:29 ET22:29 GMT6:29 3:29 PM MST5:29 PM EST4:29 PM CST5:59 PM VEN2:29 UAE (+1)4:29 PM CT-Gallen (sprained pitching elbow) has been activated from the injured list and will start the series finale Thursday at San Francisco.
Analysis: Gallen is 1-1 with a 3.04 ERA in five starts this season. He also missed time with a hairline fracture in his right forearm.
May 7 8:10 PM PT9:10 PM MT10:10 PM CT11:10 PM ET23:10 ET3:10 GMT11:10 8:10 PM MST10:10 PM EST9:10 PM CST10:40 PM VEN7:10 UAE (+1)9:10 PM CT-Zac Gallen allowed two runs - one earned - on four hits and four walks in 6.0 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the New York Mets 5-4 on Friday. Gallen struck out five, ending the game with a 3.04 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
May 2 9:04 PM PT10:04 PM MT11:04 PM CT12:04 AM ET0:04 ET4:04 GMT12:04 9:04 PM MST11:04 PM EST10:04 PM CST11:34 PM VEN8:04 UAE10:04 PM CT-Zac Gallen fell to 1-1, allowing four runs on six hits and two walks in 4.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Colorado Rockies 14-6 on Saturday. Gallen struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.48 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 25 12:36 PM PT1:36 PM MT2:36 PM CT3:36 PM ET15:36 ET19:36 GMT3:36 12:36 PM MST2:36 PM EST1:36 PM CST3:06 PM VEN23:36 UAE1:36 PM CT-Zac Gallen improved to 1-0, allowing one hit and two walks over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Atlanta Braves 5-0 on Sunday. Gallen struck out six, ending the game with a 2.16 ERA and 0.96 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 21 3:14 PM PT4:14 PM MT5:14 PM CT6:14 PM ET18:14 ET22:14 GMT6:14 3:14 PM MST5:14 PM EST4:14 PM CST5:44 PM VEN2:14 UAE (+1)4:14 PM CT-Zac Gallen allowed three runs on four hits and four walks in 5.2 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Cincinnati Reds 5-4 on Tuesday. Gallen struck out six, ending the game with a 3.72 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 13 4:24 PM PT5:24 PM MT6:24 PM CT7:24 PM ET19:24 ET23:24 GMT7:24 4:24 PM MST6:24 PM EST5:24 PM CST6:54 PM VEN3:24 UAE (+1)5:24 PM CT-Zac Gallen allowed one run on three hits and two walks in 4.0 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Oakland Athletics 7-5 on Tuesday. Gallen struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.25 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 23 5:45 PM PT6:45 PM MT7:45 PM CT8:45 PM ET20:45 ET0:45 GMT8:45 5:45 PM MST7:45 PM EST6:45 PM CST8:15 PM VEN4:45 UAE (+1)6:45 PM CT-Gallen (right forearm fracture) will come off the injured list and start Tuesday against the A's.
Analysis: Gallen was the Diamondbacks' best pitcher last season, recording a 3-2 record, 2.75 ERA and 82 strikeouts in 72 innings and finishing ninth in the National League Cy Young Award voting. The 25-year-old was cleared to return after throwing 67 pitches Wednesday in a simulated game.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2019 Mia 1 3 0 - 0 7 7 0 36.1 25 12 11 3 18 1 43 1.18 2.72
2019 Ari 2 3 0 - 0 8 8 0 43.2 37 14 14 5 18 0 53 1.26 2.89
2019 Tot 3 6 0 - 0 15 15 0 80.0 62 26 25 8 36 1 96 1.23 2.81
2020 Ari 3 2 0 - 0 12 12 0 72.0 55 24 22 9 25 0 82 1.11 2.75
2021 Ari 4 10 0 - 0 23 23 1 121.1 108 61 58 19 49 1 139 1.29 4.30
Career 10 18 0 - 0 50 50 1 273.1 225 111 105 36 110 2 317 1.23 3.46

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2019 Mia 7 10 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .100 .100 .100
2019 Ari 8 9 1 1 0 0 0 1 0 3 0 0 .111 .111 .111
2019 Tot 15 19 2 2 0 0 0 1 0 8 0 0 .105 .105 .105
2021 Ari 23 32 2 6 2 0 0 3 1 18 0 0 .188 .212 .250
Career 50 51 4 8 2 0 0 4 1 26 0 0 .157 .173 .196


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1163 97 89 93.4 55.35
Curveball 256 82 76 79.8 12.18
Slider 190 90 81 86.1 9.04
Changeup 350 90 82 86.2 16.66
Cut Fastball 142 92 87 90.3 6.76


@STATS_Insights