MLB

#37
Joey Lucchesi
ERA W-L K
4.14 8-9 137
Team: San DiegoHt / Wt: 6-5 / 227
Position: SPBorn: 6/6/1993 Birthplace: Newark, California
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 4th Round by Padres (2016)


Latest News
Sep. 23 4:24 PM PT5:24 PM MT6:24 PM CT7:24 PM ET19:24 ET23:24 GMT7:24 4:24 PM MST6:24 PM EST5:24 PM CST6:54 PM VEN3:24 UAE (+1)6:24 PM CT-Joey Lucchesi fell to 8-9, allowing seven runs on seven hits and two walks in 3.2 innings, as the San Diego Padres lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 14-0 on Sunday. Lucchesi struck out six, ending the game with a 4.14 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 19 10:32 PM PT11:32 PM MT12:32 AM CT1:32 AM ET1:32 ET5:32 GMT13:32 10:32 PM MST12:32 AM EST11:32 PM CST1:02 AM VEN9:32 UAE12:32 AM CT-Joey Lucchesi allowed three runs on seven hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the San Diego Padres lost to the San Francisco Giants 5-4 on Tuesday. Lucchesi struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.74 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 12 6:51 PM PT7:51 PM MT8:51 PM CT9:51 PM ET21:51 ET1:51 GMT9:51 6:51 PM MST8:51 PM EST7:51 PM CST9:21 PM VEN5:51 UAE (+1)8:51 PM CT-Joey Lucchesi improved to 8-8, allowing three runs on six hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the San Diego Padres defeated the Seattle Mariners 5-4 on Wednesday. Lucchesi struck out three, ending the game with a 3.67 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 5 9:31 PM PT10:31 PM MT11:31 PM CT12:31 AM ET0:31 ET4:31 GMT12:31 9:31 PM MST11:31 PM EST10:31 PM CST12:01 AM VEN8:31 UAE11:31 PM CT-Joey Lucchesi fell to 7-8, allowing two runs on three hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the San Diego Padres lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-0 on Tuesday. Lucchesi struck out six, ending the game with a 3.59 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 29 3:58 PM PT4:58 PM MT5:58 PM CT6:58 PM ET18:58 ET22:58 GMT6:58 3:58 PM MST5:58 PM EST4:58 PM CST6:28 PM VEN2:58 UAE (+1)5:58 PM CT-Joey Lucchesi improved to 7-7, allowing one run on six hits and two walks in 6.2 innings, as the San Diego Padres defeated the Seattle Mariners 8-3 on Wednesday. Lucchesi struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.59 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 23 3:17 PM PT4:17 PM MT5:17 PM CT6:17 PM ET18:17 ET22:17 GMT6:17 3:17 PM MST5:17 PM EST4:17 PM CST5:47 PM VEN2:17 UAE (+1)5:17 PM CT-Joey Lucchesi allowed two runs on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the San Diego Padres lost to the Colorado Rockies 4-3 on Thursday. Lucchesi struck out six, ending the game with a 3.74 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 18 10:58 PM PT11:58 PM MT12:58 AM CT1:58 AM ET1:58 ET5:58 GMT13:58 10:58 PM MST12:58 AM EST11:58 PM CST1:28 AM VEN9:58 UAE12:58 AM CT-Joey Lucchesi fell to 6-7, allowing five runs on nine hits and three walks in 4.0 innings, as the San Diego Padres lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 9-4 on Friday. Lucchesi struck out six, ending the game with a 3.79 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 12 4:03 PM PT5:03 PM MT6:03 PM CT7:03 PM ET19:03 ET23:03 GMT7:03 4:03 PM MST6:03 PM EST5:03 PM CST6:33 PM VEN3:03 UAE (+1)6:03 PM CT-Joey Lucchesi improved to 6-6, allowing two hits and three walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the San Diego Padres defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 9-3 on Sunday. Lucchesi struck out six, ending the game with a 3.45 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 5 2:55 PM PT3:55 PM MT4:55 PM CT5:55 PM ET17:55 ET21:55 GMT5:55 2:55 PM MST4:55 PM EST3:55 PM CST5:25 PM VEN1:55 UAE (+1)4:55 PM CT-Joey Lucchesi allowed three runs - two earned - on seven hits in 5.2 innings as the San Diego Padres defeated the Chicago Cubs 10-6 on Sunday. Lucchesi struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.70 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
July 29 4:41 PM PT5:41 PM MT6:41 PM CT7:41 PM ET19:41 ET23:41 GMT7:41 4:41 PM MST6:41 PM EST5:41 PM CST7:11 PM VEN3:41 UAE (+1)6:41 PM CT-Joey Lucchesi fell to 5-6, allowing five runs on six hits and three walks in 4.1 innings, as the San Diego Padres lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 5-4 on Sunday. Lucchesi struck out three, ending the game with a 3.74 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
July 23 7:11 PM PT8:11 PM MT9:11 PM CT10:11 PM ET22:11 ET2:11 GMT10:11 7:11 PM MST9:11 PM EST8:11 PM CST9:41 PM VEN6:11 UAE (+1)9:11 PM CT-Joey Lucchesi improved to 5-5, allowing two runs on six hits in 5.1 innings, as the San Diego Padres defeated the New York Mets 3-2 on Monday. Lucchesi struck out six, ending the game with a 3.34 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
July 12 10:30 PM PT11:30 PM MT12:30 AM CT1:30 AM ET1:30 ET5:30 GMT13:30 10:30 PM MST12:30 AM EST11:30 PM CST1:00 AM VEN9:30 UAE12:30 AM CT-Joey Lucchesi fell to 4-5, allowing three runs - two earned - on six hits and one walk in 4.0 innings, as the San Diego Padres lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 4-2 on Wednesday. Lucchesi struck out four, ending the game with a 3.34 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
July 7 9:34 PM PT10:34 PM MT11:34 PM CT12:34 AM ET0:34 ET4:34 GMT12:34 9:34 PM MST11:34 PM EST10:34 PM CST12:04 AM VEN8:34 UAE11:34 PM CT-Joey Lucchesi fell to 4-4, allowing two runs on three hits and one walk in 5.1 innings, as the San Diego Padres lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 3-1 on Friday. Lucchesi struck out five, ending the game with a 3.27 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
July 1 10:01 PM PT11:01 PM MT12:01 AM CT1:01 AM ET1:01 ET5:01 GMT13:01 10:01 PM MST12:01 AM EST11:01 PM CST12:31 AM VEN9:01 UAE12:01 AM CT-Joey Lucchesi improved to 4-3, allowing one hit and four walks over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the San Diego Padres defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-3 on Saturday. Lucchesi struck out five, ending the game with a 3.26 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
June 25 8:26 PM PT9:26 PM MT10:26 PM CT11:26 PM ET23:26 ET3:26 GMT11:26 8:26 PM MST10:26 PM EST9:26 PM CST10:56 PM VEN7:26 UAE (+1)10:26 PM CT-Joey Lucchesi allowed one hit and two walks without giving up a run in 4.0 innings as the San Diego Padres lost to the Texas Rangers 7-4 on Monday. Lucchesi struck out four, ending the game with a 3.57 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
June 20 3:47 PM PT4:47 PM MT5:47 PM CT6:47 PM ET18:47 ET22:47 GMT6:47 3:47 PM MST5:47 PM EST4:47 PM CST6:17 PM VEN2:47 UAE (+1)5:47 PM CT-Joey Lucchesi fell to 3-3, allowing four runs on three hits and two walks in 1.2 innings, as the San Diego Padres lost to the Oakland Athletics 12-4 on Wednesday. Lucchesi struck out three, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
May 15 9:44 AM PT10:44 AM MT11:44 AM CT12:44 PM ET12:44 ET16:44 GMT0:44 9:44 AM MST11:44 AM EST10:44 AM CST12:14 PM VEN20:44 UAE11:44 AM CT-Lucchesi (right hip strain) has been activated from the disabled list to start Wednesday against the A's.
Analysis: Lucchesi is ready for his first major league start since May 14 after delivering four hitless innings in Thursday's rehab outing with Class A Lake Elsinore, though he threw only 47 pitches. With a 3.23 ERA and 48 strikeouts through his first 47 1/3 major league innings, the 25-year-old showed a lot of potential before landing on the DL.
May 15 10:08 PM PT11:08 PM MT12:08 AM CT1:08 AM ET1:08 ET5:08 GMT13:08 10:08 PM MST12:08 AM EST11:08 PM CST12:38 AM VEN9:08 UAE12:08 AM CT-Joey Lucchesi allowed three runs on six hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the San Diego Padres lost to the Colorado Rockies 6-4 on Monday. Lucchesi struck out two, ending the game with a 3.23 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
May 10 9:05 PM PT10:05 PM MT11:05 PM CT12:05 AM ET0:05 ET4:05 GMT12:05 9:05 PM MST11:05 PM EST10:05 PM CST11:35 PM VEN8:05 UAE11:05 PM CT-Joey Lucchesi allowed one run on six hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the San Diego Padres defeated the Washington Nationals 2-1 on Wednesday. Lucchesi struck out six, ending the game with a 2.98 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
May 5 9:21 PM PT10:21 PM MT11:21 PM CT12:21 AM ET0:21 ET4:21 GMT12:21 9:21 PM MST11:21 PM EST10:21 PM CST11:51 PM VEN8:21 UAE11:21 PM CT-Joey Lucchesi fell to 3-2, allowing three runs on five hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the San Diego Padres lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 4-0 on Friday. Lucchesi struck out five, ending the game with a 3.13 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 8:34 PM PT9:34 PM MT10:34 PM CT11:34 PM ET23:34 ET3:34 GMT11:34 8:34 PM MST10:34 PM EST9:34 PM CST11:04 PM VEN7:34 UAE (+1)10:34 PM CT-Joey Lucchesi improved to 3-1, allowing two runs on four hits and two walks in 5.2 innings, as the San Diego Padres defeated the New York Mets 12-2 on Saturday. Lucchesi struck out six, ending the game with a 2.78 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 22 3:54 PM PT4:54 PM MT5:54 PM CT6:54 PM ET18:54 ET22:54 GMT6:54 3:54 PM MST5:54 PM EST4:54 PM CST6:24 PM VEN2:54 UAE (+1)5:54 PM CT-Joey Lucchesi fell to 2-1, allowing four runs on five hits and four walks in 5.0 innings, as the San Diego Padres lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 4-2 on Sunday. Lucchesi struck out four, ending the game with a 2.70 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 15 4:22 PM PT5:22 PM MT6:22 PM CT7:22 PM ET19:22 ET23:22 GMT7:22 4:22 PM MST6:22 PM EST5:22 PM CST6:52 PM VEN3:22 UAE (+1)6:22 PM CT-Joey Lucchesi improved to 2-0, allowing one run on five hits in 6.0 innings, as the San Diego Padres defeated the San Francisco Giants 10-1 on Sunday. Lucchesi struck out nine, ending the game with a 1.66 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 10 8:23 PM PT9:23 PM MT10:23 PM CT11:23 PM ET23:23 ET3:23 GMT11:23 8:23 PM MST10:23 PM EST9:23 PM CST10:53 PM VEN7:23 UAE (+1)10:23 PM CT-Joey Lucchesi improved to 1-0, allowing two runs - zero earned - on four hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the San Diego Padres defeated the Colorado Rockies 5-2 on Tuesday. Lucchesi struck out eight, ending the game with a 1.72 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 5 3:40 PM PT4:40 PM MT5:40 PM CT6:40 PM ET18:40 ET22:40 GMT6:40 3:40 PM MST5:40 PM EST4:40 PM CST6:10 PM VEN2:40 UAE (+1)5:40 PM CT-Joey Lucchesi allowed one hit and three walks without giving up a run in 5.0 innings as the San Diego Padres lost to the Colorado Rockies 3-1 on Thursday. Lucchesi struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.79 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 31 10:22 PM PT11:22 PM MT12:22 AM CT1:22 AM ET1:22 ET5:22 GMT13:22 10:22 PM MST12:22 AM EST11:22 PM CST12:52 AM VEN9:22 UAE12:22 AM CT-Joey Lucchesi allowed three runs on seven hits in 4.2 innings as the San Diego Padres lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 8-6 on Friday. Lucchesi struck out one, ending the game with a 5.79 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 29 1:09 PM PT2:09 PM MT3:09 PM CT4:09 PM ET16:09 ET20:09 GMT4:09 1:09 PM MST3:09 PM EST2:09 PM CST3:39 PM VEN0:09 UAE (+1)3:09 PM CT-The rebuilding San Diego Padres will get their first real look at one of their hotshot pitching prospects, Joey Lucchesi, earlier than originally expected. The 24-year-old lefty, sent down to the minors on Saturday after a strong spring training, is scheduled to make his big league debut Friday night against the Milwaukee Brewers.
Analysis: Lucchesi will start in place of Dinelson Lamet, who strained his right elbow on Sunday in the Padres' final game in Arizona and is expected to be out for a month. The Padres figured they'd bring up Lucchesi sometime this season, just not this quickly. He had a 1.54 ERA in four spring starts.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2018 SD 8 9 0 - 0 25 25 0 124.0 121 61 57 21 43 2 137 1.32 4.14
Career 8 9 0 - 0 25 25 0 124.0 121 61 57 21 43 2 137 1.32 4.14

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2018 SD 25 32 2 2 0 0 0 1 4 19 0 0 .063 .162 .063
Career 25 32 2 2 0 0 0 1 4 19 0 0 .063 .162 .063


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1335 94 86 90.4 63.97
Curveball 62 80 73 76.8 2.97
Changeup 690 83 76 79.4 33.06


@STATS_Insights