MLB

#58
Luis Castillo
ERA W-L K
3.40 15-8 226
Team: CincinnatiHt / Wt: 6-2 / 190
Position: SPBorn: 12/12/1992 Birthplace: Bani, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Giants (2011)


Latest News
Sep. 26 12:31 PM PT1:31 PM MT2:31 PM CT3:31 PM ET15:31 ET19:31 GMT3:31 12:31 PM MST2:31 PM EST1:31 PM CST3:01 PM VEN23:31 UAE2:31 PM CT-Luis Castillo fell to 15-8, allowing five runs on five hits and four walks in 5.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 5-3 on Thursday. Castillo struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.40 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 20 7:22 PM PT8:22 PM MT9:22 PM CT10:22 PM ET22:22 ET2:22 GMT10:22 7:22 PM MST9:22 PM EST8:22 PM CST9:52 PM VEN6:22 UAE (+1)9:22 PM CT-Luis Castillo fell to 15-7, allowing three runs on three hits and three walks in 7.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the New York Mets 8-1 on Friday. Castillo struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.25 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 14 9:32 PM PT10:32 PM MT11:32 PM CT12:32 AM ET0:32 ET4:32 GMT12:32 9:32 PM MST11:32 PM EST10:32 PM CST12:02 AM VEN8:32 UAE11:32 PM CT-Luis Castillo improved to 15-6, allowing two runs on four hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 4-3 on Friday. Castillo struck out three, ending the game with a 3.22 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 7 3:53 PM PT4:53 PM MT5:53 PM CT6:53 PM ET18:53 ET22:53 GMT6:53 3:53 PM MST5:53 PM EST4:53 PM CST6:23 PM VEN2:53 UAE (+1)5:53 PM CT-Luis Castillo fell to 14-6, allowing two runs on three hits and three walks in 7.2 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 2-0 on Saturday. Castillo struck out 10, ending the game with a 3.21 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 1 7:14 PM PT8:14 PM MT9:14 PM CT10:14 PM ET22:14 ET2:14 GMT10:14 7:14 PM MST9:14 PM EST8:14 PM CST9:44 PM VEN6:14 UAE (+1)9:14 PM CT-Luis Castillo improved to 14-5, allowing three runs on five hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 5-3 on Sunday. Castillo struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.25 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 27 7:38 PM PT8:38 PM MT9:38 PM CT10:38 PM ET22:38 ET2:38 GMT10:38 7:38 PM MST9:38 PM EST8:38 PM CST10:08 PM VEN6:38 UAE (+1)9:38 PM CT-Luis Castillo improved to 13-5, allowing five runs on seven hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Miami Marlins 8-5 on Tuesday. Castillo struck out 11, ending the game with a 3.21 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 21 12:32 PM PT1:32 PM MT2:32 PM CT3:32 PM ET15:32 ET19:32 GMT3:32 12:32 PM MST2:32 PM EST1:32 PM CST3:02 PM VEN23:32 UAE2:32 PM CT-Luis Castillo improved to 12-5, allowing one run on five hits in 6.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the San Diego Padres 4-2 on Wednesday. Castillo struck out four, ending the game with a 3.04 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 16 7:22 PM PT8:22 PM MT9:22 PM CT10:22 PM ET22:22 ET2:22 GMT10:22 7:22 PM MST9:22 PM EST8:22 PM CST9:52 PM VEN6:22 UAE (+1)9:22 PM CT-Luis Castillo fell to 11-5, allowing eight runs on nine hits in 4.1 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 13-4 on Friday. Castillo struck out three, ending the game with a 3.10 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 11 1:12 PM PT2:12 PM MT3:12 PM CT4:12 PM ET16:12 ET20:12 GMT4:12 1:12 PM MST3:12 PM EST2:12 PM CST3:42 PM VEN0:12 UAE (+1)3:12 PM CT-Luis Castillo allowed three runs on seven hits and one walk in 6.2 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Chicago Cubs 6-3 on Sunday. Castillo struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.69 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 5 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST8:23 PM CST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)9:23 PM CT-Luis Castillo improved to 11-4, allowing two runs on three hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Los Angeles Angels 7-4 on Monday. Castillo struck out 13, ending the game with a 2.63 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
July 31 12:26 PM PT1:26 PM MT2:26 PM CT3:26 PM ET15:26 ET19:26 GMT3:26 12:26 PM MST2:26 PM EST1:26 PM CST2:56 PM VEN23:26 UAE2:26 PM CT-Luis Castillo improved to 10-4, allowing one run on six hits in 7.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-1 on Wednesday. Castillo struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.63 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
July 26 6:31 PM PT7:31 PM MT8:31 PM CT9:31 PM ET21:31 ET1:31 GMT9:31 6:31 PM MST8:31 PM EST7:31 PM CST9:01 PM VEN5:31 UAE (+1)8:31 PM CT-Luis Castillo fell to 9-4, allowing six runs on eight hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Colorado Rockies 12-2 on Friday. Castillo struck out six, ending the game with a 2.71 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
July 20 6:53 PM PT7:53 PM MT8:53 PM CT9:53 PM ET21:53 ET1:53 GMT9:53 6:53 PM MST8:53 PM EST7:53 PM CST9:23 PM VEN5:53 UAE (+1)8:53 PM CT-Luis Castillo allowed one run on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 3-2 on Saturday. Castillo struck out four, ending the game with a 2.36 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
July 15 8:27 PM PT9:27 PM MT10:27 PM CT11:27 PM ET23:27 ET3:27 GMT11:27 8:27 PM MST10:27 PM EST9:27 PM CST10:57 PM VEN7:27 UAE (+1)10:27 PM CT-Luis Castillo improved to 9-3, allowing three runs on seven hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Chicago Cubs 6-3 on Monday. Castillo struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.41 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
July 9 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST9:07 PM CST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)10:07 PM CT-Luis Castillo did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the NL All-Stars lost to the AL All-Stars 4-3 on Tuesday. Castillo struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.00 WHIP on the season.
July 4 2:44 PM PT3:44 PM MT4:44 PM CT5:44 PM ET17:44 ET21:44 GMT5:44 2:44 PM MST4:44 PM EST3:44 PM CST5:14 PM VEN1:44 UAE (+1)4:44 PM CT-Luis Castillo improved to 8-3, allowing one hit and one walk over 7.2 scoreless innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 1-0 on Thursday. Castillo struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.29 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
June 29 4:15 PM PT5:15 PM MT6:15 PM CT7:15 PM ET19:15 ET23:15 GMT7:15 4:15 PM MST6:15 PM EST5:15 PM CST6:45 PM VEN3:15 UAE (+1)6:15 PM CT-Luis Castillo fell to 7-3, allowing one run on three hits and three walks in 7.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Chicago Cubs 6-0 on Saturday. Castillo struck out six, ending the game with a 2.47 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
June 22 4:15 PM PT5:15 PM MT6:15 PM CT7:15 PM ET19:15 ET23:15 GMT7:15 4:15 PM MST6:15 PM EST5:15 PM CST6:45 PM VEN3:15 UAE (+1)6:15 PM CT-Luis Castillo fell to 7-2, allowing six runs - four earned - on five hits and five walks in 3.2 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 6-5 on Saturday. Castillo struck out six, ending the game with a 2.56 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
June 17 8:03 PM PT9:03 PM MT10:03 PM CT11:03 PM ET23:03 ET3:03 GMT11:03 8:03 PM MST10:03 PM EST9:03 PM CST10:33 PM VEN7:03 UAE (+1)10:03 PM CT-Luis Castillo improved to 7-1, allowing two runs on two hits and six walks in 6.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Houston Astros 3-2 on Monday. Castillo struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.26 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
June 11 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST8:28 PM CST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)9:28 PM CT-Luis Castillo allowed one run on four hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Cleveland Indians 2-1 on Tuesday. Castillo struck out six, ending the game with a 2.20 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
June 5 9:34 PM PT10:34 PM MT11:34 PM CT12:34 AM ET0:34 ET4:34 GMT12:34 9:34 PM MST11:34 PM EST10:34 PM CST12:04 AM VEN8:34 UAE11:34 PM CT-Luis Castillo improved to 6-1, allowing one run on two hits and four walks in 6.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 4-1 on Tuesday. Castillo struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.38 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
May 27 2:06 PM PT3:06 PM MT4:06 PM CT5:06 PM ET17:06 ET21:06 GMT5:06 2:06 PM MST4:06 PM EST3:06 PM CST4:36 PM VEN1:06 UAE (+1)4:06 PM CT-Luis Castillo allowed three runs - two earned - on six hits and four walks in 5.1 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 8-5 on Monday. Castillo struck out four, ending the game with a 2.45 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
May 22 2:02 PM PT3:02 PM MT4:02 PM CT5:02 PM ET17:02 ET21:02 GMT5:02 2:02 PM MST4:02 PM EST3:02 PM CST4:32 PM VEN1:02 UAE (+1)4:02 PM CT-Luis Castillo allowed four runs on five hits and three walks in 2.2 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 11-9 on Wednesday. Castillo struck out two, ending the game with a 2.38 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
May 16 8:12 PM PT9:12 PM MT10:12 PM CT11:12 PM ET23:12 ET3:12 GMT11:12 8:12 PM MST10:12 PM EST9:12 PM CST10:42 PM VEN7:12 UAE (+1)10:12 PM CT-Luis Castillo improved to 5-1, allowing two runs on two hits and one walk in 5.1 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Chicago Cubs 4-2 on Thursday. Castillo struck out six, ending the game with a 1.90 ERA and 0.96 WHIP on the season.
May 11 10:05 PM PT11:05 PM MT12:05 AM CT1:05 AM ET1:05 ET5:05 GMT13:05 10:05 PM MST12:05 AM EST11:05 PM CST12:35 AM VEN9:05 UAE12:05 AM CT-Luis Castillo improved to 4-1, allowing two hits and five walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the San Francisco Giants 7-0 on Friday. Castillo struck out 11, ending the game with a 1.76 ERA and 0.99 WHIP on the season.
May 5 3:51 PM PT4:51 PM MT5:51 PM CT6:51 PM ET18:51 ET22:51 GMT6:51 3:51 PM MST5:51 PM EST4:51 PM CST6:21 PM VEN2:51 UAE (+1)5:51 PM CT-Luis Castillo allowed four runs on four hits and two walks in 7.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the San Francisco Giants 6-5 on Sunday. Castillo struck out nine, ending the game with a 1.97 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 7:38 PM PT8:38 PM MT9:38 PM CT10:38 PM ET22:38 ET2:38 GMT10:38 7:38 PM MST9:38 PM EST8:38 PM CST10:08 PM VEN6:38 UAE (+1)9:38 PM CT-Luis Castillo allowed two runs on five hits and three walks in 6.2 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the New York Mets 4-3 on Tuesday. Castillo struck out seven, ending the game with a 1.45 ERA and 0.99 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 26 9:22 PM PT10:22 PM MT11:22 PM CT12:22 AM ET0:22 ET4:22 GMT12:22 9:22 PM MST11:22 PM EST10:22 PM CST11:52 PM VEN8:22 UAE11:22 PM CT-Luis Castillo improved to 3-1, allowing eight hits over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Atlanta Braves 4-2 on Thursday. Castillo struck out two, ending the game with a 1.23 ERA and 0.95 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 8:50 PM PT9:50 PM MT10:50 PM CT11:50 PM ET23:50 ET3:50 GMT11:50 8:50 PM MST10:50 PM EST9:50 PM CST11:20 PM VEN7:50 UAE (+1)10:50 PM CT-Luis Castillo improved to 2-1, allowing one run on four hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the San Diego Padres 4-2 on Saturday. Castillo struck out nine, ending the game with a 1.47 ERA and 0.88 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 16 10:02 PM PT11:02 PM MT12:02 AM CT1:02 AM ET1:02 ET5:02 GMT13:02 10:02 PM MST12:02 AM EST11:02 PM CST12:32 AM VEN9:02 UAE12:02 AM CT-Luis Castillo allowed two runs on four hits and five walks in 5.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 4-3 on Monday. Castillo struck out seven, ending the game with a 1.46 ERA and 0.89 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 6:32 PM PT7:32 PM MT8:32 PM CT9:32 PM ET21:32 ET1:32 GMT9:32 6:32 PM MST8:32 PM EST7:32 PM CST9:02 PM VEN5:32 UAE (+1)8:32 PM CT-Luis Castillo improved to 1-1, allowing two hits and one walk over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Miami Marlins 14-0 on Tuesday. Castillo struck out eight, ending the game with a 0.92 ERA and 0.66 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 3 12:13 PM PT1:13 PM MT2:13 PM CT3:13 PM ET15:13 ET19:13 GMT3:13 12:13 PM MST2:13 PM EST1:13 PM CST2:43 PM VEN23:13 UAE2:13 PM CT-Luis Castillo fell to 0-1, allowing one run on one hit and four walks in 7.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 1-0 on Wednesday. Castillo struck out nine, ending the game with a 1.42 ERA and 0.79 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 28 4:10 PM PT5:10 PM MT6:10 PM CT7:10 PM ET19:10 ET23:10 GMT7:10 4:10 PM MST6:10 PM EST5:10 PM CST6:40 PM VEN3:10 UAE (+1)5:10 PM CT-Luis Castillo allowed one run on two hits and three walks in 5.2 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 5-3 on Thursday. Castillo struck out eight, ending the game with a 1.59 ERA and 0.88 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2017 Cin 3 7 0 - 0 15 15 0 89.1 64 32 31 11 32 1 98 1.07 3.12
2018 Cin 10 12 0 - 0 31 31 0 169.2 158 89 81 28 49 1 165 1.22 4.30
2019 Cin 15 8 0 - 0 32 32 0 190.2 139 76 72 22 79 0 226 1.14 3.40
Career 28 27 0 - 0 78 78 0 449.2 361 197 184 61 160 2 489 1.16 3.68

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2017 Cin 15 29 0 2 0 0 0 1 1 11 0 0 .069 .100 .069
2018 Cin 31 59 4 6 1 0 0 2 2 23 0 0 .102 .131 .119
2019 Cin 32 62 3 6 1 0 0 0 0 32 0 0 .097 .097 .113
Career 78 150 7 14 2 0 0 3 3 66 0 0 .093 .111 .107


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1597 100 91 95.7 50.57
Slider 529 90 82 85.9 16.75
Changeup 1032 90 83 86.7 32.68


@STATS_Insights