MLB

#48
Matthew Boyd
ERA W-L K
4.56 9-12 238
Team: DetroitHt / Wt: 6-3 / 234
Position: SPBorn: 2/2/1991 Birthplace: Mercer Island, Washington
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 6th Round by Blue Jays (2013)


Latest News
Sep. 28 3:31 PM PT4:31 PM MT5:31 PM CT6:31 PM ET18:31 ET22:31 GMT6:31 3:31 PM MST5:31 PM EST4:31 PM CST6:01 PM VEN2:31 UAE (+1)5:31 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 9-12, allowing four runs - two earned - on six hits and one walk in 4.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Chicago White Sox 7-1 on Saturday. Boyd struck out four, ending the game with a 4.56 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 22 1:17 PM PT2:17 PM MT3:17 PM CT4:17 PM ET16:17 ET20:17 GMT4:17 1:17 PM MST3:17 PM EST2:17 PM CST3:47 PM VEN0:17 UAE (+1)3:17 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 9-11, allowing three runs on eight hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Chicago White Sox 6-3 on Sunday. Boyd struck out six, ending the game with a 4.57 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 16 11:20 AM PT12:20 PM MT1:20 PM CT2:20 PM ET14:20 ET18:20 GMT2:20 11:20 AM MST1:20 PM EST12:20 PM CST1:50 PM VEN22:20 UAE1:20 PM CT-Boyd will not start Tuesday in Cleveland due to a family matter.
Analysis: Boyd (8-11, 4.54 ERA) leads the lowly Tigers in wins, and his 228 strikeouts rank among the AL leaders.
Sep. 12 1:55 PM PT2:55 PM MT3:55 PM CT4:55 PM ET16:55 ET20:55 GMT4:55 1:55 PM MST3:55 PM EST2:55 PM CST4:25 PM VEN0:55 UAE (+1)3:55 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 8-11, allowing four runs - two earned - on three hits and four walks in 5.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the New York Yankees 10-4 on Thursday. Boyd struck out three, ending the game with a 4.54 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 5 1:18 PM PT2:18 PM MT3:18 PM CT4:18 PM ET16:18 ET20:18 GMT4:18 1:18 PM MST3:18 PM EST2:18 PM CST3:48 PM VEN0:18 UAE (+1)3:18 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 8-10, allowing three runs on 10 hits in 6.1 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Kansas City Royals 6-4 on Thursday. Boyd struck out six, ending the game with a 4.57 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 31 6:35 PM PT7:35 PM MT8:35 PM CT9:35 PM ET21:35 ET1:35 GMT9:35 6:35 PM MST8:35 PM EST7:35 PM CST9:05 PM VEN5:35 UAE (+1)8:35 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 7-10, allowing five runs on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Minnesota Twins 10-7 on Saturday. Boyd struck out 11, ending the game with a 4.58 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 25 2:10 PM PT3:10 PM MT4:10 PM CT5:10 PM ET17:10 ET21:10 GMT5:10 2:10 PM MST4:10 PM EST3:10 PM CST4:40 PM VEN1:10 UAE (+1)4:10 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 6-10, allowing seven runs on four hits and five walks in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Minnesota Twins 7-4 on Sunday. Boyd struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.47 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 25 2:10 PM PT3:10 PM MT4:10 PM CT5:10 PM ET17:10 ET21:10 GMT5:10 2:10 PM MST4:10 PM EST3:10 PM CST4:40 PM VEN1:10 UAE (+1)4:10 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 6-10, allowing seven runs on four hits and five walks in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Minnesota Twins 7-4 on Sunday. Boyd struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.47 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 20 12:48 PM PT1:48 PM MT2:48 PM CT3:48 PM ET15:48 ET19:48 GMT3:48 12:48 PM MST2:48 PM EST1:48 PM CST3:18 PM VEN23:48 UAE2:48 PM CT-Boyd came off the paternity leave list Friday and is expected to start Sunday against the Twins.
Analysis: Boyd won't miss a start after allowing a run and two hits with nine strikeouts over seven innings at Tampa on Sunday. The left-hander is 6-9 with a 4.24 ERA but ranks among the AL leaders with 201 strikeouts in 153 innings.
Aug. 18 1:18 PM PT2:18 PM MT3:18 PM CT4:18 PM ET16:18 ET20:18 GMT4:18 1:18 PM MST3:18 PM EST2:18 PM CST3:48 PM VEN0:18 UAE (+1)3:18 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed one run on two hits and two walks in 7.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 5-4 on Sunday. Boyd struck out nine, ending the game with a 4.24 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 13 7:57 PM PT8:57 PM MT9:57 PM CT10:57 PM ET22:57 ET2:57 GMT10:57 7:57 PM MST9:57 PM EST8:57 PM CST10:27 PM VEN6:57 UAE (+1)9:57 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 6-9, allowing seven runs - six earned - on seven hits and two walks in 5.1 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Seattle Mariners 11-6 on Tuesday. Boyd struck out four, ending the game with a 4.38 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 8 7:54 PM PT8:54 PM MT9:54 PM CT10:54 PM ET22:54 ET2:54 GMT10:54 7:54 PM MST9:54 PM EST8:54 PM CST10:24 PM VEN6:54 UAE (+1)9:54 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed five runs on six hits and three walks in 2.2 innings as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Kansas City Royals 10-8 on Thursday. Boyd struck out one, ending the game with a 4.16 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 3 8:47 PM PT9:47 PM MT10:47 PM CT11:47 PM ET23:47 ET3:47 GMT11:47 8:47 PM MST10:47 PM EST9:47 PM CST11:17 PM VEN7:47 UAE (+1)10:47 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed two runs on six hits and one walk in 5.2 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Texas Rangers 5-4 on Saturday. Boyd struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.91 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
July 28 6:19 PM PT7:19 PM MT8:19 PM CT9:19 PM ET21:19 ET1:19 GMT9:19 6:19 PM MST8:19 PM EST7:19 PM CST8:49 PM VEN5:19 UAE (+1)8:19 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed one run on three hits and three walks in 6.1 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Seattle Mariners 3-2 on Sunday. Boyd struck out 10, ending the game with a 3.94 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
July 24 9:22 PM PT10:22 PM MT11:22 PM CT12:22 AM ET0:22 ET4:22 GMT12:22 9:22 PM MST11:22 PM EST10:22 PM CST11:52 PM VEN8:22 UAE11:22 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed two runs on five hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 3-2 on Tuesday. Boyd struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.07 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
July 18 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST8:21 PM CST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)9:21 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 6-8, allowing five runs on six hits in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Cleveland Indians 6-3 on Thursday. Boyd struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.13 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
July 13 6:43 PM PT7:43 PM MT8:43 PM CT9:43 PM ET21:43 ET1:43 GMT9:43 6:43 PM MST8:43 PM EST7:43 PM CST9:13 PM VEN5:43 UAE (+1)8:43 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 6-7, allowing four runs on six hits and four walks in 7.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Kansas City Royals 4-1 on Saturday. Boyd struck out 10, ending the game with a 3.95 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
July 4 2:41 PM PT3:41 PM MT4:41 PM CT5:41 PM ET17:41 ET21:41 GMT5:41 2:41 PM MST4:41 PM EST3:41 PM CST5:11 PM VEN1:41 UAE (+1)4:41 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 6-6, allowing four runs on nine hits in 5.1 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Chicago White Sox 11-5 on Thursday. Boyd struck out 13, ending the game with a 3.87 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
June 26 6:32 PM PT7:32 PM MT8:32 PM CT9:32 PM ET21:32 ET1:32 GMT9:32 6:32 PM MST8:32 PM EST7:32 PM CST9:02 PM VEN5:32 UAE (+1)8:32 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 5-6, allowing four runs on five hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Texas Rangers 4-1 on Wednesday. Boyd struck out 11, ending the game with a 3.72 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
June 21 7:32 PM PT8:32 PM MT9:32 PM CT10:32 PM ET22:32 ET2:32 GMT10:32 7:32 PM MST9:32 PM EST8:32 PM CST10:02 PM VEN6:32 UAE (+1)9:32 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed five runs on seven hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Cleveland Indians 7-6 on Friday. Boyd struck out six, ending the game with a 3.61 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
June 13 8:29 PM PT9:29 PM MT10:29 PM CT11:29 PM ET23:29 ET3:29 GMT11:29 8:29 PM MST10:29 PM EST9:29 PM CST10:59 PM VEN7:29 UAE (+1)10:29 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 5-5, allowing five runs - four earned - on six hits and two walks in 4.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Kansas City Royals 7-3 on Thursday. Boyd struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.35 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
June 7 7:38 PM PT8:38 PM MT9:38 PM CT10:38 PM ET22:38 ET2:38 GMT10:38 7:38 PM MST9:38 PM EST8:38 PM CST10:08 PM VEN6:38 UAE (+1)9:38 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed three runs on nine hits in 7.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Minnesota Twins 6-3 on Friday. Boyd struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.08 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
June 2 1:44 PM PT2:44 PM MT3:44 PM CT4:44 PM ET16:44 ET20:44 GMT4:44 1:44 PM MST3:44 PM EST2:44 PM CST4:14 PM VEN0:44 UAE (+1)3:44 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed three runs on five hits in 5.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Atlanta Braves 7-4 on Sunday. Boyd struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.01 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
May 28 7:12 PM PT8:12 PM MT9:12 PM CT10:12 PM ET22:12 ET2:12 GMT10:12 7:12 PM MST9:12 PM EST8:12 PM CST9:42 PM VEN6:12 UAE (+1)9:12 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 5-4, allowing six hits and one walk over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Baltimore Orioles 3-0 on Tuesday. Boyd struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.85 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
May 23 1:13 PM PT2:13 PM MT3:13 PM CT4:13 PM ET16:13 ET20:13 GMT4:13 1:13 PM MST3:13 PM EST2:13 PM CST3:43 PM VEN0:13 UAE (+1)3:13 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed five hits and one walk without giving up a run in 6.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Miami Marlins 5-2 on Thursday. Boyd struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.11 ERA and 1.01 WHIP on the season.
May 18 3:56 PM PT4:56 PM MT5:56 PM CT6:56 PM ET18:56 ET22:56 GMT6:56 3:56 PM MST5:56 PM EST4:56 PM CST6:26 PM VEN2:56 UAE (+1)5:56 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 4-4, allowing four runs on seven hits in 6.1 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Oakland Athletics 4-1 on Saturday. Boyd struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.41 ERA and 1.01 WHIP on the season.
May 13 7:17 PM PT8:17 PM MT9:17 PM CT10:17 PM ET22:17 ET2:17 GMT10:17 7:17 PM MST9:17 PM EST8:17 PM CST9:47 PM VEN6:17 UAE (+1)9:17 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 4-3, allowing three runs on five hits and two walks in 4.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Houston Astros 8-1 on Monday. Boyd struck out two, ending the game with a 3.15 ERA and 0.99 WHIP on the season.
May 8 7:08 PM PT8:08 PM MT9:08 PM CT10:08 PM ET22:08 ET2:08 GMT10:08 7:08 PM MST9:08 PM EST8:08 PM CST9:38 PM VEN6:08 UAE (+1)9:08 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 4-2, allowing one run on three hits in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Los Angeles Angels 10-3 on Wednesday. Boyd struck out six, ending the game with a 2.86 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
May 3 6:49 PM PT7:49 PM MT8:49 PM CT9:49 PM ET21:49 ET1:49 GMT9:49 6:49 PM MST8:49 PM EST7:49 PM CST9:19 PM VEN5:49 UAE (+1)8:49 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 3-2, allowing two runs on five hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Kansas City Royals 4-3 on Friday. Boyd struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.05 ERA and 0.99 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 2:12 PM PT3:12 PM MT4:12 PM CT5:12 PM ET17:12 ET21:12 GMT5:12 2:12 PM MST4:12 PM EST3:12 PM CST4:42 PM VEN1:12 UAE (+1)4:12 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 2-2, allowing two runs on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Chicago White Sox 4-1 on Sunday. Boyd struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.13 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 1:09 PM PT2:09 PM MT3:09 PM CT4:09 PM ET16:09 ET20:09 GMT4:09 1:09 PM MST3:09 PM EST2:09 PM CST3:39 PM VEN0:09 UAE (+1)3:09 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 2-1, allowing three runs on three hits and two walks in 7.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Boston Red Sox 7-4 on Tuesday. Boyd struck out three, ending the game with a 3.16 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 16 6:46 PM PT7:46 PM MT8:46 PM CT9:46 PM ET21:46 ET1:46 GMT9:46 6:46 PM MST8:46 PM EST7:46 PM CST9:16 PM VEN5:46 UAE (+1)8:46 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed three runs on six hits and one walk in 7.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 5-3 on Tuesday. Boyd struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.96 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 10 1:27 PM PT2:27 PM MT3:27 PM CT4:27 PM ET16:27 ET20:27 GMT4:27 1:27 PM MST3:27 PM EST2:27 PM CST3:57 PM VEN0:27 UAE (+1)3:27 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 1-1, allowing one run on four hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Cleveland Indians 4-1 on Wednesday. Boyd struck out six, ending the game with a 2.60 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 3 3:48 PM PT4:48 PM MT5:48 PM CT6:48 PM ET18:48 ET22:48 GMT6:48 3:48 PM MST5:48 PM EST4:48 PM CST6:18 PM VEN2:48 UAE (+1)5:48 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed one run on five hits and three walks in 6.1 innings as the Detroit Tigers defeated the New York Yankees 2-1 on Wednesday. Boyd struck out 13, ending the game with a 3.18 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 29 6:38 PM PT7:38 PM MT8:38 PM CT9:38 PM ET21:38 ET1:38 GMT9:38 6:38 PM MST8:38 PM EST7:38 PM CST9:08 PM VEN5:38 UAE (+1)7:38 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 0-1, allowing four runs - three earned - on five hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 6-0 on Friday. Boyd struck out 10, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2015 Tor 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 6.2 15 11 11 5 1 0 7 2.40 14.85
2015 Det 1 4 0 - 0 11 10 0 50.2 56 39 37 12 19 0 36 1.48 6.57
2015 Tot 1 6 0 - 0 13 12 0 57.1 71 50 48 17 20 0 43 1.59 7.53
2016 Det 6 5 0 - 0 20 18 0 97.1 97 51 49 17 29 0 82 1.29 4.53
2017 Det 6 11 0 - 0 26 25 1 135.0 157 84 79 18 53 3 110 1.56 5.27
2018 Det 9 13 0 - 0 31 31 0 170.1 146 87 83 27 51 0 159 1.16 4.39
2019 Det 9 12 0 - 0 32 32 0 185.1 178 101 94 39 50 1 238 1.23 4.56
Career 31 47 0 - 0 122 118 1 645.1 649 373 353 118 203 4 632 1.32 4.92

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2017 Det 26 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .333 .333 .333
2018 Det 31 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2019 Det 32 2 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .500 .500 .500
Career 122 7 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .286 .286 .286


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1661 96 86 92 53.79
Curveball 124 76 69 72.3 4.02
Slider 1118 85 75 79.7 36.2
Changeup 185 82 76 79.2 5.99


@STATS_Insights