Paid Programming
Pelicans @ Rockets
Text Us: 870870
Studio: (504)260.1870
Other Sports

This Day In Sports

April 20
1910 The Cleveland Indians played their first game at League Park and lost to the Detroit Tigers 5-0, in front of 19,867 fans.
1949 Jockey Willie Shoemaker won his first race aboard Shafter at Golden Gate Fields in Albany, CA.
1958 The Montreal Canadiens won their third straight Stanley Cup with a 5-3 win over the Boston Bruins in the sixth game of the series.
1967 After 737 consecutive games, the Dodgers were rained out for the first time since moving to Los Angeles.
1982 The Atlanta Braves beat the Cincinnati Reds 4-3 for their 13th straight victory.
1986 Chicago's Michael Jordan scored an NBA Playoff record 63 points, but the Bulls dropped a 135-131 double-overtime decision to the Celtics at Boston Garden.
1993 The San Francisco 49ers traded QB Joe Montana, DB David Whitmore and 1994 third-round draft pick to the Kansas City Chiefs for a first-round pick in the 1993 draft.
1994 Eddie Murray set a major league record with his 11th switch-hit home run game as the Cleveland Indians beat the Minnesota Twins, 10-6.
2002 Fresno State QB David Carr was the first player taken in the NFL draft by the Houston Texans.
2002 Randy Johnson struck out 17 batters while giving up two hits in Arizona's 7-1 win over Colorado.
2002 Atlanta's Rafael Furcal tied a modern major league record and became the first Braves player in 46 years to hit three triples in one game, as Atlanta beat Florida, 4-2.
2003 Joe Torre became the fifth New York Yankees manager to win 700 games as his team defeated the Minnesota Twins, 8-2.
2004 Cleveland's LeBron James was named NBA Rookie of the Year.
2005 The NCAA approved a bid for a second bowl game to be staged at Qualcomm Stadium for the upcoming college football season.
2006 The Toronto Maple Leafs fired head coach Pat Quinn.
2006 The Edmonton Eskimos selected DE Adam Braidwood out of Washington State with the first pick in the CFL College Draft.
2007 The Sacramento Kings fired head coach Eric Musselman.
2008 Danica Patrick became the first female winner in IndyCar history, capturing the Indy Japan 300 in her 50th career start.
2009 Ethiopia's Deriba Merga captured the men's title at the Boston Marathon, while Kenya's Salina Kosgei won the women's crown.
2009 The Boston Red Sox won their sixth straight Patriots' Day game - 12-1 over the Baltimore Orioles.
2009 Cleveland's Mike Brown was named NBA's Coach of the Year.
2009 Trainer and Eclipse award winner Bob Baffert was elected into the Horse Racing's Hall of Fame. Among the other inductees include jockey Eddie Maple and Tiznow, the only horse to win the Breeders Cup classic twice.
2009 The Jacksonville Jaguars signed WR Torry Holt to a three-year contract.
2010 Orlando's Dwight Howard was named NBA Defensive Player of the Year.
2011 The Mid-American Conference announced that it will add the University of Massachusetts as a football-only member starting with the 2012 season.
Birthdays Lamond Murray (1973) - NBA player; Don Mattingly (1961) - MLB player; Allan Houston (1971) - NBA player; David Sanchez (1978) - tennis player.
As of April 19, 2015, at 06:01 PM ET

WWL - AM870 | FM105.3 | News | Talk | Sports - Sidebar Only - Sports Network Pages
WWL - AM870 | FM105.3 | News | Talk | Sports - Footer Only - Sports Network Pages


1 Thing

Contact Us


WWL iPhone App

Powered By InterTech Media, LLC???