"Sports Talk" with Bobby Hebert & Deke Bellavia
Text Us: 870870
Studio: (504)260.1870
Football Bowl Subdivision
Arthur Moats captures 2009 Buck Buchanan Award

James Madison defensive end honored as most outstanding defensive player in FCS college football

Arthur Moats led the nation in tackles for loss, averaging 2.14 per game (23.5 total), and was fourth in the FCS in sacks (1.0 per game, 11 total).
Chattanooga, TN (Sports Network) - James Madison defensive end Arthur Moats was named the 15th recipient of the Buck Buchanan Award Thursday night at The Sports Network's Football Championship Subdivision Awards Banquet, held at the Chattanooga Convention Center on the eve of the NCAA Division I Football Championship title game.

The Buchanan Award, named for the legendary Grambling State and Kansas City Chiefs defensive tackle, is presented annually to the nation's top defensive player in FCS.

"I can't believe it, this is so overwhelming," said Moats. "I wasn't expecting anything like this."

Moats is the second JMU player to capture the Buchanan Award, joining linebacker Derrick Lloyd, who won the honor in 2001.

"We've never had anyone draw the attention that Arthur Moats has drawn this season," said JMU coach Mickey Matthews. "We've had some great defensive players here, but Arthur is as good as anyone we've had."

Moats, a 6-2, 250-pound senior from Portsmouth, VA., led the nation in tackles for loss, averaging 2.14 per game (23.5 total), and was fourth in the FCS in sacks (1.0 per game, 11 total). He also piled up 90 tackles and returned a fumble for a 68-yard touchdown.

Moats won by the largest margin in Buchanan Award history, earning 37 first-place votes and 342 points to finish 110 points ahead of runner-up J.C. Sherritt, a linebacker from Eastern Washington. South Dakota State defensive end Danny Batten was third with 183 points.

The largest previous margin was last year, when Eastern Washington defensive end Greg Peach beat runner-up Jovan Belcher, a defensive end from Maine, by 107 points.

The Buck Buchanan Award was established in 1995 by The Sports Network. Past winners of the honor include current NFL standouts such as Jared Allen (2003, Idaho State) of the Minnesota Vikings, Jacksonville Jaguars cornerback Rashean Mathis (2002, Bethune-Cookman), along with former Dallas Cowboys Pro Bowl linebacker Dexter Coakley (1995-96, Appalachian State).

2009 Buck Buchanan Award Voting
Name School 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th Total
Arthur MoatsJames Madison37268125342
J.C. SherrittEastern Washington171715154232
Danny BattenSouth Dakota State81320127183
Christian AnthonyGrambling19851111175
Mark LeGree Appalachian State21216155145
Austen LaneMurray State831579120
Adrian TracyWilliam & Mary5136512117
Dane FletcherMontana State9154779
Brandin JordanSouthern Illinois3474464
James RuffinNorthern Iowa4373463
Tim KukuckaVillanova3545461
Tim KnickyStephen F. Austin3525657
Martin ParkerRichmond2328751
Josh Morris Weber State2514445
Terrell WhiteheadNorfolk State0261836
Jeremy MaddoxAlabama A&M2035534
Larry Hart Central Arkansas0312120
Charles Graves Delaware1005318
Mychal SavageYoungstown State0121315
Jeromy Miles Massachusetts000179
*Jake LewkoPenn010004
*Josh BeardChattanooga000011
*Andre Campbell Elon000011
*Sean Lissemore William & Mary000011
* - Write-in Votes.

WWL - AM870 | FM105.3 | News | Talk | Sports - Sidebar Only - Sports Network Pages
WWL - AM870 | FM105.3 | News | Talk | Sports - Footer Only - Sports Network Pages



1 Thing

Contact Us

WWL iPhone App

Powered By InterTech Media, LLC???