Text Us: 870870
Studio: (504)260.1870
Toll Free: (866)889.0870
Football Bowl Subdivision
Sacred Heart ranked for first time
RJ Noel
Sacred Heat quarterback RJ Noel is averaging
277.7 total yards per game with 16 total touchdowns.
Philadelphia, PA (SportsNetwork.com) - Those who downplay national rankings because the games on the field ultimately decide a season should consider North Dakota State.

The Bison are thrilled to have the No. 1 ranking in the FCS and be able to defend it every week.

Better yet, consider Sacred Heart. The first-place team in the Northeast Conference race moved into The Sports Network FCS Top 25 for the first time in program history on Monday, turning an important win over Duquesne into the No. 24 national ranking.

Located in Fairfield, Connecticut, Sacred Heart is a small school whose athletic director - former major league player and manager Bobby Valentine - is more well-known than the football coach.   Full Story | Freshmen lead FCS players of the week

CAA may be too good for itself
By Craig Haley, FCS Executive Director
Philadelphia, PA (SportsNetwork.com) - On the surface, CAA Football appears to be in terrific shape for having FCS playoff teams next month.

Four of the teams have at least five wins and another four have at least four wins, making it the strongest conference outside the Missouri Valley Football Conference.

But too much of a good thing can catch up to a top FCS conference. The Missouri Valley learned the hard way last season when only two of its teams qualified for the playoffs (although North Dakota State went on to capture its third straight national title). Too many possible playoff squads had their resumes collapse in November.  Full Story

WWL - AM870 | FM105.3 | News | Talk | Sports - Sidebar Only - Sports Network Pages
WWL - AM870 | FM105.3 | News | Talk | Sports - Footer Only - Sports Network Pages


1 Thing

Contact Us


WWL iPhone App

Powered By InterTech Media, LLC???