Women's College Basketball

Griner captures Wooden Award

Los Angeles, CA (Sports Network) - Baylor senior center Brittney Griner captured the John R. Wooden Award, given to the collegiate basketball player of the year.

Griner won the award for a second straight year. She is the fourth two-time Wooden Award winner, joining Seimone Augustus (LSU), Maya Moore (Connecticut) and Candace Parker (Tennessee).

This past season, Griner averaged 23.8 points, and 4.14 blocked shots. She finished her career as the No. 2 all-time scorer (3,283) in NCAA Division I history. She is the NCAA's all-time leading shot blocker with 748 blocks.

Griner compiled 1,230 points in voting from college basketball media members throughout the country. She finished ahead of Notre Dame's Skylar Diggins (1,144), Delaware's Elena Delle Donne (989), Stanford's Chiney Ogwumike (800) and Baylor teammate Odyssey Sims (380).

Michigan sophomore guard Trey Burke was selected as the men's winner last week at the Final Four in Atlanta.

04/13 01:01:41 ET

Powered by The Sports Network.

  • Sidelines

    High school sports talk with reporter James Allen.
  • College Sports

    Talk about Siena and UAlbany college hoops with reporters Pete Iorizzo and Mark Singelais.
  • Sports Media

    Columnist Pete Dougherty keeps track of local and national sports coverage.
  • Hockey Spoken Here

    Covering the local hockey scene, including the Albany Devils, RPI and Union
  • Talking Horses

    Tim Wilkin on the sport of kings at Saratoga and around the country.