Women's College Basketball

Baylor's Griner captures women's Naismith Award

Atlanta, GA (Sports Network) - Baylor senior Brittney Griner won the Naismith Award as women's college basketball Player of the Year for the second straight year on Monday.

Griner became the seventh player to win the award twice, joining Maya Moore, Seimone Augustus, Diana Taurasi, Chamique Holdsclaw, Dawn Staley and Cheryl Miller, who won it three times from 1984-86.

In her senior season, the 6-foot-8 Griner averaged 23.8 points, 9.4 rebounds and 4.1 blocks per game while shooting 61 percent from the floor. She finished her career with the most blocks (748) in NCAA history and ranks No. 2 on the NCAA Division I women's scoring list with 3,283 points.

"I am so proud of all Brittney has accomplished during her career at Baylor, said Baylor head coach Kim Mulkey. "She joins some very elite company in winning this prestigious award, and now she has two to her credit. Brittney is truly deserving of the honor and we thank everyone for recognizing this special talent."

The Naismith award is given by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, which is comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country. Fan voting accounted for 25 percent of the final tally.

The other finalists for the award were Delaware senior Elena Delle Donne, Notre Dame senior Skylar Diggins and Stanford junior Chiney Ogwumike.

Michigan's Trey Burke captured the men's Naismith Award on Sunday.

04/08 19:40:19 ET

Powered by The Sports Network.

  • Sidelines

    High school sports talk with reporter James Allen.
  • College Sports

    Talk about Siena and UAlbany college hoops with reporters Pete Iorizzo and Mark Singelais.
  • Sports Media

    Columnist Pete Dougherty keeps track of local and national sports coverage.
  • Hockey Spoken Here

    Covering the local hockey scene, including the Albany Devils, RPI and Union
  • Talking Horses

    Tim Wilkin on the sport of kings at Saratoga and around the country.