NASCAR Sprint Cup Series
NASCAR - Sprint Cup - STP 400 Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Sunday, April 22nd
SITE: Kansas Speedway (2001) -- Kansas City, Kansas
TRACK: 1.5-mile oval - 2,685 feet (Frontstretch); 2,207 feet (Backstretch)
CAPACITY: 74,000 (Grandstand Seating)
ANNOUNCERS: Mike Joy, Darrell Waltrip, Larry McReynolds
RADIO: Motor Racing Network (MRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio
START TIME: 1 p.m. (ET)/Green Flag: 1:16 p.m. (ET)
RUNNER-UP: Dale Earnhardt Jr
POLE WINNER: Kurt Busch (Finished 9th)
LAPS: 267
MILES: 400.5
QUALIFYING RECORD: Matt Kenseth, 2005 (180.856 m.p.h.)
RACE RECORD: Greg Biffle, 2010 (138.077 m.p.h.)
TOTAL PURSE: $5,215,984 (2011 figures)
PAYOUTS: 1st Place - $216,633; 2nd Place - $181,825; 3rd Place - $183,950
2011 Finish
1Brad Keselowski256Matt Kenseth21
2Dale Earnhardt Jr287Jimmie Johnson31
3Denny Hamlin158Tony Stewart13
4Jeff Gordon229Kurt Busch1
5Carl Edwards710Greg Biffle14
2011 STP 400 Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 137.184 m.p.h.
TIME OF RACE: 2 hours, 55 minutes, 10 seconds
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 2.813 seconds
CAUTION FLAGS: 5 for 23 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 17 among 9 drivers
POLE WINNER: Kurt Busch (174.7526 m.p.h.)
Past STP 400 Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2011 -- Brad Keselowski (25th) -- Dodge -- 137.184 m.p.h.
Past STP 400 Pole Winners (Finish)
2011 -- Kurt Busch -- 9th
Last Race Results
RACE: Samsung Mobile 500 (April 14th)
SITE: Texas Motor Speedway -- Fort Worth, Texas
MILES: 501
LAPS: 334
WINNER: Greg Biffle
RUNNER-UP: Jimmie Johnson
THIRD: Mark Martin
FOURTH: Jeff Gordon
FIFTH: Matt Kenseth
POLE WINNER: Martin Truex Jr. (Finished 6th)
TIME OF RACE: 3 hours, 7 minutes, 12 seconds
AVERAGE SPEED: 160.577 m.p.h.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 3.235 seconds
CAUTION FLAGS: 2 for 10 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 18 among 7 drivers
LAP LEADERS: Truex Jr 1-31, Biffle 32-45, Kenseth 46, Ambrose 47, Biffle
48-68, Truex Jr 69-71, Biffle 72-81, Kenseth 82-95, Biffle 96,
Ragan 97, Truex Jr 98-100, Biffle 101-112, Johnson 113-146,
Biffle 147, Truex Jr 148-179, Johnson 180-282, J. Gordon 283-284,
Johnson 285-303, Biffle 304-334.
STP 400 Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
1Jamie McMurray (Joplin, MO)Chevrolet/McDonald's
2 *Brad Keselowski (Rochester Hills, MI)Dodge/Miller Lite
5Kasey Kahne (Enumclaw, WA)Chevrolet/Farmers Insurance
9Marcos Ambrose (Launceston, Australia)Ford/DeWalt
10David Reutimann (Zephyrhills, FL)Chevrolet/Accell Construction
11Denny Hamlin (Chesterfield, VA)Toyota/FedEx Ground
12Sam Hornish Jr. (Defiance, OH)Dodge/SKF
13Casey Mears (Bakersfield, CA)Ford/GEICO
14Tony Stewart (Columbus, IN)Chevrolet/Office Depot/Mobil 1
15Clint Bowyer (Emporia, KS)Toyota/5-Hour Energy
16Greg Biffle (Vancouver, WA)Ford/3M/Novec
17Matt Kenseth (Cambridge, WI)Ford/Roush Fenway Racing
18Kyle Busch (Las Vegas, NV)Toyota/M&M's
19Mike Bliss (Milwaukie, OR)Toyota/Humphrey Smith Racing
20Joey Logano (Middletown, CT)Toyota/Home Depot
22A.J. Allmendinger (Los Gatos, CA)Dodge/AAA
23Scott Riggs (Bahama, NC)Chevrolet/North Texas Pipe
24Jeff Gordon (Vallejo, CA)Chevrolet/DuPont
26Josh Wise (Riverside, CA)Ford/Morristown Driver's Service
27Paul Menard (Eau Claire, WI)Chevrolet/Menards/Zecol
29Kevin Harvick (Bakersfield, CA)Chevrolet/Rheem
30David Stremme (South Bend, IN)Toyota/Inception Motorsports
31Jeff Burton (South Boston, VA)Chevrolet/Caterpillar
32Reed Sorenson (Peachtree City, GA)Ford/TBA
33Tony Raines (LaPorte, IN)Chevrolet/TBA
34David Ragan (Unadilla, GA)Ford/Barret Jackson
36Dave Blaney (Hartford, OH)Chevrolet/Tommy Baldwin Racing
38David Gilliland (Riverside, CA)Ford/TBA
39Ryan Newman (South Bend, IN)Chevrolet/Haas Automation
42Juan Pablo Montoya (Bogota, Colombia)Chevrolet/Target
43Aric Almirola (Tampa, FL)Ford/STP
47Bobby Labonte (Corpus Christi, TX)Toyota/Reese Tow Power
48Jimmie Johnson (El Cajon, CA)Chevrolet/Lowe's
49J.J. Yeley (Phoenix, AZ)Toyota/JPO Absorbents
51Kurt Busch (Las Vegas, NV)Chevrolet/Phoenix Construction
55Mark Martin (Batesville, AR)Toyota/Aaron's Dream Machine
56Martin Truex Jr. (Mayetta, NJ)Toyota/NAPA Auto Parts
74Stacy Compton (Hurt, VA)Chevrolet/Turn One Racing
78Regan Smith (Cato, NY)Chevrolet/Furniture Row
79Tim Andrews (Concord, NC)Ford/BBI Bestway
83Landon Cassill (Cedar Rapids, IA)Toyota/Burger King/Dr. Pepper
87Joe Nemechek (Lakeland, FL)Toyota/AM FM Energy Wood Pellet
88Dale Earnhardt Jr. (Kannapolis, NC)Chevrolet/Diet Mt. Dew/Nat Guard
93Travis Kvapil (Janesville, WI)Toyota/Dr. Pepper
98Michael McDowell (Glendale, AZ)Ford/Curb Records
99Carl Edwards (Columbia, MO)Ford/Aflac
Leading Contenders (Finish last year)
Brad KeselowskiWon
Dale Earnhardt Jr2nd
Denny Hamlin3rd
Jeff Gordon4th
Carl Edwards5th
Matt Kenseth6th
Jimmie Johnson7th
Tony Stewart8th
Kurt Busch9th
Greg Biffle10th
Kevin Harvick11th
Kyle Busch12th
Kasey Kahne14th
Ryan Newman15th
Juan Pablo Montoya17th
Clint Bowyer18th
Paul Menard19th
Martin Truex Jr20th
Mark Martin21st
Joey Logano23rd
Jeff Burton25th
Marcos Ambrose26th
A.J. Allmendinger27th
Jamie McMurray29th
Mover of the Week
Jeff Gordon - Started in the 34th position and finished 4th
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Jimmie Johnson
Darkhorse - Greg Biffle
Last Week's Pick to Win (Carl Edwards) - Finished 8th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Jeff Gordon) - Finished 4th
Winning a Sprint Cup race takes guts, imagination and a little luck.

That certainly was the case last year at the inaugural STP 400 at Kansas Speedway, as Brad Keselowski captured the checkered flag for the second time in his career.

Not only was the race a battle of wits and determination, but in the end, it came down to gas, as Keselowski prevailed in a fuel battle in the closing laps to hold off Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Currently 15th on the points list, Keselowski took the lead for the first time with nine laps remaining when his Penske Racing teammate, Kurt Busch, the pole sitter, was forced to pit and relinquish the top position.

Keselowski then coasted his No.2 Dodge as much as he could during the final nine laps around the 1.5-mile racetrack. Earnhardt Jr, who also took a gamble on gas, was quickly chasing down Keselowski, but fell short of ending his lengthy winless streak in NASCAR's top series. This was the second straight week in which Earnhardt Jr finished in the runner-up position, as he ran out of fuel on the last turn of the final lap in Charlotte.

Of the previous 12 Sprint Cup races held at Kansas Speedway, two have been won by the pole sitter, the last coming in 2008 when Jimmie Johnson accomplished the feat. Jeff Gordon and Greg Biffle are two-time winners at this track, while Johnson has sat on the pole three times. Seven of the 12 races have been won from a top-10 starting position.

Sprint Cup points leader Greg Biffle might be the driver to beat this week, as he has posted five top-10's and one win in seven starts this year. His record at Kansas Speedway is equally impressive. In nine Nationwide starts he has eight top-10s and in 11 Sprint starts, Biffle has eight top-10s and two wins.

Completed in 2001, Kansas Speedway will be repaved following this week's race.

The next Sprint Cup Series race is the April 28th running of the Richmond 400 at Richmond International Raceway. Kyle Busch is the defending race winner.

04/17 14:48:47 ET

As of April 17, 2012, at 02:48 PM ET