LPGA - International Crown Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Friday, July 24th through Sunday, July 27th
SITE: Caves Valley Golf Club, Owings Mill, Maryland
COURSE ARCHITECT: Tom Fazio (1991)
PAR: 71
YARDAGE: 6,628
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 322 Yds10 - Par 4 432 Yds
2 - Par 4 428 Yds11 - Par 4 347 Yds
3 - Par 3 182 Yds12 - Par 5 482 Yds
4 - Par 5 544 Yds13 - Par 3 168 Yds
5 - Par 4 335 Yds14 - Par 4 412 Yds
6 - Par 3 180 Yds15 - Par 4 425 Yds
7 - Par 4 400 Yds16 - Par 5 539 Yds
8 - Par 4 404 Yds17 - Par 3 187 Yds
9 - Par 4 428 yds18 - Par 4 413 Yds
35 3,223 Yds36 3,405 Yds
Biennial:  1st
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday/Friday -- 11:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m. (et),
  - Saturday/Sunday -- 3-7 p.m. (et)
Schedule of Play:  Thursday/Saturday - Round Robin Four-Ball (8 matches),
  Sunday - Singles (10 matches)
Purse:  $1,600,000
Past International Crown Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
20141st Year of the Event

Top Players in the Field
Australia - Kaherine Kirk, Minjee Lee, Karrie Webb, Lindsey Wright
Chinese Taipei - Cadie Kung, Teresa Lu, Yani Tseng, Hsuan-Yu Yao
Japan - Maiko Higa, Ai Miyazato, Mika Miyazato, Sakura Yokomine
Korea - NaYeon Choi, I.K. Kim, Inbee Park, So Yeon Ryu
Spain - Calota Ciganda, Belen Mozo, Azahara Munoz, Beatriz Recari
Sweden - Caoline Hedwall, P.Lindberg, Anna Nordqvist, M.Parmlid
Thailand - Arya Jutanugarn, M.Jutanugarn, P.Phatlum, O.Sattayabanphot
United States - Pala Creamer, Cristie Kerr, Stacy Lewis, Lexi Thompson

Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - United States
Darkhorse - Spain
Last Week's Pick to Win (Lydia Ko) - Won
Last Week's Darkhorse (Julieta Granada) - Finished tied for 7th
NOTES:The best players in women's golf are in Maryland this week for the
inaugural International Crown. The global team match play is the first of its kind in women's professional golf.

The competition will feature three days of four-ball competition and one day of singles matches. Five of the eight countries will advance to the singles matches on Sunday based on the outcome of the four-ball matches.

Points will be awarded per match with two points for a win, one for a tie and zero for a loss. All points from the four-ball matches will carry over to Sunday and the total cumulative points for the four days of competition will be used to determine the champion.

The eight countries are divided into two pools of four teams. The United States, Thailand, Spain and Chinese Taipei are in Pool A, while Korea, Japan, Sweden and Australia are in Pool B. Each country will play two four-ball matches against the other three countries in their pool. At the conclusion of the three days of four-ball competition, the top two teams from each pool and one wild-card team will advance to the Sunday singles. Any country in third place or tied for third place in their pool will compete in a sudden-death, four-ball playoff to determine the wild-card winner. Each country will play one singles match against the other four countries. In the event of a tie after the singles matches, each country will select one player who will compete in a sudden-death playoff to determine the champion.

The final field of eight countries was determined by the combined Rolex World Rankings of the top four players from each country on November 24, 2013. Countries must have a minimum of four ranked players to be eligible. The final field of 32 players was determined on March 31, 2014, according to the Rolex World Rankings.

The United States is the top seed in the competition. Stacy Lewis, Lexi Thompson, Cristie Kerr and Paula Creamer will represent the Americans. Lewis is the top-ranked player in the world and is the only player with three victories on the LPGA Tour this season. Thompson is ranked fifth in the world and won her first major title at the Kraft Nabisco Championship in April. World No. 6 Michelle Wie is not on the American team because she was not one of the United States' top-4 ranked players at the qualification deadline. Wie has won twice since March 31, including the U.S. Women's Open Championship in June.

The matches are being held at Caves Valley Golf Club in Owings Mills, Maryland. Caves Valley hosted the 2002 U.S. Senior Open, where Don Pooley defeated Tom Watson in a 5-hole playoff. The course also staged the 1995 U.S. Mid-Amateur and the 2005 NCAA Division I Men's Championship and 2009 NCAA Division I Women's Golf Championships.

The 2016 International Crown will be held at Rich Harvest Farms in Sugar Grove, Illinois. The LPGA Tour travels to Michigan in two weeks for the inaugural Meijer LPGA Classic at Blythefield Country Club in Grand Rapids.

07/22 17:17:43 ET

As of July 22, 2014, at 05:18 PM ET