LPGA - ShopRite LPGA Classic Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Friday, May 30th through Sunday, June 1st
SITE: Stockton Seaview Hotel and Golf Club (Bay Course), Galloway, New Jersey
COURSE ARCHITECT: Hugh Wilson (1914), Donald Ross (1915),
         Robert Cupp Jr. (restoration, 1997-98)
PAR: 71
YARDAGE: 6,155
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 345 yds10 - Par 4 352 yds
2 - Par 4 420 yds11 - Par 3 179 yds
3 - Par 5 484 yds12 - Par 4 320 yds
4 - Par 4 360 yds13 - Par 4 405 yds
5 - Par 4 301 yds14 - Par 4 419 yds
6 - Par 4 393 yds15 - Par 3 204 yds
7 - Par 3 185 yds16 - Par 4 377 yds
8 - Par 4 319 yds17 - Par 3 115 yds
9 - Par 5 476 yds18 - Par 5 501 yds
37 3,283 yds34 2,872 yds
Annual:  26th
Television:  Golf Channel - Friday -- 12-2 p.m. (et),
  - Saturday -- 2:30-5 p.m. (et),
  - Sunday -- 2-5 p.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  Karrie Webb
Runner-Up:  Shanshan Feng
Tournament Record:  196 (Annika Sorenstam, 1998, 2005)
36-Hole Record:  130 (Amy Benz, 1996; Denise Killeen, 2004; Stacy Lewis, 2012)
Course Record:  62 (Laura Davies, Jimin Kang, 2005)
Total Purse:  $1,500,000
Shares:  1st Place - $225,000; 2nd Place - $136,988; 3rd Place - $99,375
2013 Finish
Karrie Webb209Chie Arimura214
Shanshan Feng211Jeong Jang214
Hee Young Park212Gerina Piller214
Jenny Shin213Four players at215
I.K. Kim214
Past ShopRite LPGA Classic Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2013Karrie Webb (209) -- Shanshan Feng
2012Stacy Lewis (201) -- Katherine Hull-Kirk
2011Brittany Lincicome (202) -- Cristie Kerr, Jiyai Shin
2010Ai Miyazato (197) -- M.J. Hur
2009Not Held
2008Not Held
2007Not Held
2006Seon Hwa Lee (197) -- Jeong Jang, Annika Sorenstam, Sherri Steinhauer
2005Annika Sorenstam (196) -- Juli Inkster
2004Cristie Kerr (202) -- Paula Creamer, Giulia Sergas
2003Angela Stanford (197) -- Becky Morgan
2002Annika Sorenstam (201) -- Carin Koch, Kate Golden, Juli Inkster
2001Betsy King (201) -- Lorie Kane
2000Janice Moodie (203) -- Pat Hurst, Grace Park
1999Se Ri Pak (198) -- Trish Johnson
1998Annika Sorenstam (196) -- Juli Inkster
1997Michelle McGann (201) -- Annika Sorenstam
1996Dottie Pepper (202) -- Amy Benz
1995Betsy King (204) -- Rosie Jones, Beth Daniel
1994Donna Andrews (207) -- Michelle Estill
1993Shelley Hamlin (204) -- Judy Dickinson, Amy Benz, Beth Daniel
1992*Anne-Marie Palli (207) -- Laura Davies
1991Jane Geddes (208) -- Cindy Schreyer, Amy Alcott
1990Chris Johnson (275) -- Pamela Wright
1989Nancy Lopez (209) -- Chris Johnson, Vicki Fergon
1988*Juli Inkster (206) -- Beth Daniel
1987Betsy King (207) -- Nancy Lopez
1986Juli Inkster (209) -- Patti Rizzo

* - Won in Playoff

Note:Formerly called Atlantic City Classic (1986-91).

Top Contenders in the Field
Karrie WebbT-8T-8T-23Won
Shanshan FengT-22mcT-292nd
I.K. Kim---T-5T-25T-5
Michelle WieT-46T-26mcT-9
Anna NordqvistT-12T-5T-5T-13
Paula Creamer7thT-33T-8T-13
Cristie KerrT-22T-2T-40T-13
Ai MiyazatoWonT-20T-10T-18
Na Yeon ChoiT-59T-52T-12T-18
Karine IcherT-8---T-12T-28
Lizette Salas------T-65T-28
Inbee Park3rd---T-18T-38
Seon Hwa LeeT-22T-45T-29T-38
Azahara MunozT-16mcT-3T-53
Stacy LewisT-14mcWonT-58
Yani TsengT-147thT-12T-69
Lexi ThompsonmcmcT-5mc
Suzann PettersenT-4---T-18mc
Catriona MatthewT-164thT-59mc
Angela StanfordT-8T-52T-65mc
Jessica Korda---mcT-76---
Lydia Ko------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Michelle Wie
Darkhorse - Jenny Shin
Last week's Pick to Win (Stacy Lewis) - Finished tied for 10th
Last week's Darkhorse (Sarah Jane Smith) - Missed the cut
NOTES:The LPGA Tour heads to New Jersey this week for the ShopRite LPGA
Classic. The top 17 players in the world and 18 of the top-20 are in the field, including money leader and 2012 champion Stacy Lewis.

Lewis leads the money list by nearly $70,000 over fellow American Michelle Wie. She can take over the top spot in the world rankings from Inbee Park this week with a victory. Lewis has finished in the top 10 in nine of her 11 events this season, including a win at the North Texas LPGA Shootout four weeks ago.

Wie has had a resurgence this year, winning for the first time in four years at the LPGA LOTTE Championship in April. She has recorded five straight top-10 finishes and has not finished worse than 16th in 10 events this season.

Stockton Seaview Hotel and Golf Club hosted this event the first two years of its existence, followed by Greate Bay Resort and Country Club the next 10 years, before returning to Seaview in 1998.

Last year, Karrie Webb matched the low round of the day with a 3-under 68 in gusty conditions in the final round to grab a 2-stroke victory over Shanshan Feng. Webb finished 54 holes at 4-under-par 209 to capture the 39th LPGA title of her Hall of Fame career. She has added two more victories this season to move her total to 41, which is tied for 10th with Babe Zaharias on the all- time LPGA Tour wins list. Feng held a five-shot lead entering the final round, but after a pair of double-bogeys on the front nine and bogeys on 11 and 13, she lost the lead. Her final round 4-over 75 left her in second place and two shots back.

Ai Miyazato collected the fourth of her five LPGA Tour titles here in 2010, and the victory moved her to No. 1 in the world rankings at the time. Miyazato fired a 7-under 64 in the final round to come from behind for the win. She finished at 16-under 197 and won the title by two shots.

Seon Hwa Lee fired an 8-under 63 in the final round of 2006's version to come from behind and earn her first LPGA Tour title. She finished at 16-under-par 197 for a 3-shot victory over Jeong Jang, Annika Sorenstam and Sherri Steinhauer.

Sorenstam eagled the final hole on the last day to cap a round of 7-under 64 in 2005 and earned her third title at this event. Sorenstam completed 54 holes at 17-under-par 196, matching her tournament record from 1998.

Juli Inkster, a 2-time winner of this tournament, has finished in the top 10 13 times. Betsy King has finished in the top 10 seven times, including three wins. King gained entrance into the LPGA Hall of Fame with her win here in 1995.

There have been six wire-to-wire winners, the last being Angela Stanford in 2003. There have been only two playoffs in tournament history, the last coming in 1992 when Anne-Marie Palli defeated Laura Davies on the first playoff hole.

The LPGA Tour moves north of the border to Canada next week for the Manulife Financial LPGA Classic in Waterloo, Ontario, where Hee Young Park will defend her title.

05/28 13:12:45 ET

As of May 28, 2014, at 01:13 PM ET