LPGA - Marathon Classic Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, July 17th through Sunday, July 20th
SITE: Highland Meadows Golf Club, Sylvania, Ohio
COURSE ARCHITECT: Harold Weber (1925), Sandy Alves (1928),
         Arthur Hills (1974)
PAR: 71
YARDAGE: 6,512
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 347 yds10 - Par 4 376 yds
2 - Par 3 162 yds11 - Par 4 407 yds
3 - Par 4 396 yds12 - Par 4 395 yds
4 - Par 4 382 yds13 - Par 4 355 yds
5 - Par 4 401 yds14 - Par 3 195 yds
6 - Par 3 170 yds15 - Par 4 399 yds
7 - Par 5 575 yds16 - Par 4 400 yds
8 - Par 3 132 yds17 - Par 5 513 yds
9 - Par 4 375 yds18 - Par 5 532 yds
34 2,940 yds37 3,572 yds
Annual:  29th
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday/Sunday -- 3-5 p.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  Beatriz Recari
Runner-Up:  Paula Creamer
Tournament Record:  261 (Se Ri Pak, 1998)
54-Hole Record:  195 (Se Ri Pak, 1998; Paula Creamer, 2008; Eunjung Yi, 2009)
36-Hole Record:  125 (Paula Creamer, 2008)
Course Record:  60 (Paula Creamer, 2008)
Total Purse:  $1,400,000
Shares:  1st Place - $210,000; 2nd Place - $127,855; 3rd Place - $92,750
2013 Finish
Beatriz Recari267Jacqui Concolino274
Paula Creamer268Five players at275
Jodi Ewart Shadoff271
Lexi Thompson271
Angela Stanford274
Past Marathon Classic Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2013Beatriz Recari (267) -- Paula Creamer
2012So Yeon Ryu (264) -- Angela Stanford
2011Not Held
2010*Na Yeon Choi (270) -- Christina Kim, I.K. Kim, Song-Hee Kim
2009*Eunjung Yi (266) -- Morgan Pressel
2008Paula Creamer (268) -- Nicole Castrale
2007Se Ri Pak (267) -- Morgan Pressel
2006*Mi Hyun Kim (266) -- Natalie Gulbis
2005*Heather Young (274) -- Gloria Hee Jung Park
2004Meg Mallon (277) -- Se Ri Pak, Karen Stupples
2003Se Ri Pak (271) -- Marisa Baena, Hee-Won Han
2002Rachel Teske (270) -- Beth Bauer
2001Se Ri Pak (269) -- Maria Hjorth
2000*Annika Sorenstam (274) -- Rachel Teske
1999*Se Ri Pak (276) -- Kelli Kuehne, Carin Koch, Sherri Steinhauer,
Karrie Webb, Mardi Lunn
1998Se Ri Pak (261) -- Lisa Hackney
1997Kelly Robbins (265) -- Tammie Green
1996Joan Pitcock (204) -- Marianne Morris
1995Kathryn Marshall (205) -- Sherri Steinhauer
1994*Kelly Robbins (204) -- Tammie Green
1993Brandie Burton (201) -- Hollis Stacy
1992Patty Sheehan (209) -- Brandie Burton, Tammie Green, Heather Drew,
Deb Richard
1991*Alice Miller (205) -- Deb Richard
1990Tina Tombs (205) -- JoAnne Carner, Chris Johnson
1989Penny Hammel (206) -- Nancy Lopez, Liselotte Neumann, Hollis Stacy
1988Laura Davies (277) -- Nancy Lopez
1987Jane Geddes (280) -- Jill Briles-Hinton, Nancy Taylor
1986Not Held
1985Penny Hammel (278) -- Nancy Lopez
1984Lauri Peterson (278) -- Nancy Lopez

* - Won in Playoff

Note:Formerly called Jamie Farr Toledo Classic (1984-96), Jamie Farr Kroger
Classic (1997-2003), Jamie Farr Owens Corning Classic (2004-10); Jamie Farr Toledo Classic (2012)

Top Contenders in the Field
Beatriz Recari---------------------T-10T-9Won
Paula Creamer------T-53rdmcWondqmcT-312nd
Lexi Thompson---------------------------T-3
Angela Stanford---T-47T-19T-79T-79thT-49T-222ndT-5
Stacy Lewis---------mcT-51T-17mcT-26T-11T-7
Lydia Ko---------------------------T-7
So Yeon Ryu------------------------WonT-12
Se Ri PakWonT-2T-364thWonT-17T-21------T-12
Mo Martin------------------------T-21T-16
Kristy McPherson------------T-18T-7mcT-10T-25T-24
H. Bowie YoungT-4mcWonT-75T-68T-1782ndT-68mcT-24
Na Yeon Choi------------------T-33WonT-21T-33
Michelle Wiemc------------T-46T-3---mcT-45
Cristie KerrT-37---------T-39---T-17---------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Lydia Ko
Darkhorse - Julieta Granada
Last Week's Pick to Win (Stacy Lewis) - Finished tied for 12th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Angela Stanford) - Finished tied for 5th
The LPGA Tour travels to Ohio this week for the Marathon Classic, formerly known as the Jamie Farr Toledo Classic. The tournament returned to the schedule in 2012 after not being held in 2011. The top two players in the world are in the field -- American Stacy Lewis and Lydia Ko. The purse increased $100,000 from last year to $1.4 million, with the winner receiving $210,000.

Lewis is the only player with three victories this season. She currently leads the money list with more than $1.9 million in earnings. Fellow American Michelle Wie is the only other player that has surpassed the $1 million mark. Lewis also has the most top-10 finishes on the LPGA Tour this season with 13. Wie is second with 10.

Se Ri Pak has dominated this tournament. She has five wins and nine top-10 finishes in her last 13 appearances. Pak has a scoring average of 68.50 at Highland Meadows Golf Club. Not to mention, Pak has earned $1,047,581 in her last 13 trips here. She finished tied for 12th last year.

This is the 25th straight time that Highland Meadows is hosting the tournament. Prior to Highland Meadows, Glengarry Country Club hosted the first four years. Highland Meadows was designed by Harold Weber, a nationally prominent amateur golfer, after the property was purchased September 15, 1925. The original prospectus gave a total of 140 acres of high rolling land through which the Ottawa River quietly meanders. It is believed that this description resulted in the club's name. The original layout of the golf course is how the LPGA plays the course. However, the membership plays with the nines reversed.

Last year, Beatriz Recari shot rounds of 69-65-67-66 and held off Paula Creamer to win by a single stroke. Recari and Creamer shared the third-round lead and were still tied entering the 14th hole, where the Spaniard drained a 12-foot birdie putt to go on top for good. She matched Creamer's birdie at the 16th, then converted an 8-foot par effort at the last to finish at 17-under 267 and lock up her second LPGA Tour win of 2013.

In 2012, So Yeon Ryu fired a 9-under 62 in the final round to win by seven shots. Ryu, the 2011 U.S. Women's Open champion, finished her second LPGA Tour victory at 20-under-par 264. The final round was close until Ryu poured in six straight birdies from the ninth to run away from the field.

Na Yeon Choi made a short birdie putt to win a 4-way playoff in 2010, picking up her third career LPGA Tour victory. Her opponents in the playoff all had the same last name: Christina Kim, I.K. Kim and Song-Hee Kim. Choi beat them all with a 3-foot birdie putt on the second extra hole for a wire-to-wire victory.

In 2009, Eunjung Yi birdied the first playoff hole to defeat Morgan Pressel for her first LPGA Tour title. Yi carded rounds of 68-66-61-71 and finished with Pressel at 18-under-par 266.

Creamer struggled to a 2-over 73 in the final round in 2008, but it was enough for a 2-shot victory over Nicole Castrale. She led wire-to-wire and finished at 16-under 268 for her third of four wins in 2008. Creamer opened the tournament with a 60, the second-lowest score in LPGA Tour history, then followed with a 65. That score on Friday got Creamer within one shot of the tour record for the lowest 36-hole score.

Pak fended off Pressel in the final round back in 2007 to win this event for the fifth time. Pak led wire-to-wire after opening with a first-round 63 for the low round of the tournament. She fired four rounds in the 60s to finish at 17-under-par 267.

There are three multiple winners of this tournament, led by Pak's five titles. Kelly Robbins and Penny Hammel are 2-time champions. There have been eight playoffs in tournament history.

Next week, the LPGA Tour moves to Maryland for the inaugural International Crown at Caves Valley Golf Club in Owings Mill. The global match play competition will feature teams of four from eight countries competing for the title.

07/15 18:50:22 ET

As of July 15, 2014, at 06:50 PM ET