LPGA - Kingsmill Championship Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, May 15th through Sunday, May 18th
SITE: Kingsmill Resort & Spa (River Course), Williamsburg, Virginia
COURSE ARCHITECT: Pete Dye (1975), Ed Ault (re-design),
         Curtis Strange (re-design), Pete Dye (re-design, 2004)
PAR: 71
YARDAGE: 6,379
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 373 yds10 - Par 4 405 yds
2 - Par 3 185 yds11 - Par 4 358 yds
3 - Par 5 485 yds12 - Par 4 396 yds
4 - Par 4 385 yds13 - Par 3 140 yds
5 - Par 3 160 yds14 - Par 4 374 yds
6 - Par 4 369 yds15 - Par 5 473 yds
7 - Par 5 525 yds16 - Par 4 405 yds
8 - Par 4 401 yds17 - Par 3 163 yds
9 - Par 4 400 yds18 - Par 4 382 yds
36 3,283 yds35 3,096 yds
Annual:  10th
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday/Friday -- 8:30-10:30 p.m. (et) - taped,
  - Saturday/Sunday -- 5-7 p.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  Cristie Kerr
Runner-Up:  Suzann Pettersen
Tournament Record:  265 (Annika Sorenstam, 2008)
54-Hole Record:  197 (Paula Creamer, 2012)
36-Hole Record:  129 (Lorena Ochoa, 2009)
Course Record:  62 (Jiyai Shin, 2012)
Total Purse:  $1,300,000
Shares:  1st Place - $195,000; 2nd Place - $119,470; 3rd Place - $86,125
2013 Finish
Cristie Kerr *272Angela Stanford275
Suzann Pettersen272Inbee Park276
Ilhee Lee274So Yeon Ryu279
Ariya Jutanugarn274Three players at280
Stacy Lewis275

* - Won in Playoff

Past Kingsmill Championship Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2013*Cristie Kerr (272) -- Suzann Pettersen
2012*Jiyai Shin (268) -- Paula Creamer
2011Not Held
2010Not Held
2009Cristie Kerr (268) -- I.K. Kim
2008Annika Sorenstam (265) -- Allison Fouch, Karen Stupples, Jeong Jang,
Christina Kim
2007*Suzann Pettersen (274) -- Jee Young Lee
2006Karrie Webb (270) -- Hee-Won Han, Lorena Ochoa
2005Cristie Kerr (276) -- Jill McGill
2004Se Ri Pak (275) -- Juli Inkster, Lorena Ochoa
2003Grace Park (275) -- Karrie Webb, Lorena Ochoa, Cristie Kerr

* - Won in Playoff

Note:Formerly called Michelob Light Open at Kingsmill (2003);
Michelob ULTRA Open at Kingsmill (2004-09).

Top Contenders in the Field
Cristie KerrT-6WonT-4T-36T-44WonmcWon
Suzann PettersenT-16---T-26WonT-16T-58---2nd
Angela StanfordT-12T-36T-23T-10T-44T-7T-5T-5
Stacy Lewis---------------mcT-9T-5
Paula Creamer---T-34T-4T-4T-16---2ndT-12
Karrie Webb11th---WonT-10T-38T-39---T-24
Yani Tseng------------T-16T-20---T-24
Sun Young Yoo------T-17T-20T-16mcT-35T-28
Azahara Munoz------------------T-9T-32
Lexi Thompson------------------T-14T-39
Meena Lee---mcT-66T-29T-12T-28T-47T-44
Ai Miyazato------mc6thmc9thT-7T-46
Lydia Ko-------------------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Lexi Thompson
Darkhorse - Dewi Claire Schreefel
Last Week's Pick to Win (Stacy Lewis) - Won
Last Week's Darkhorse (Jenny Shin) - Finished tied for 12th
The LPGA Tour travels to the East Coast of the United States for the first time this season as the Kingsmill Championship in Williamsburg, Va. takes place. This event returned to the LPGA schedule in 2012 after not being played since 2009. Five of the top-6 players in the world are in the field - Stacy Lewis, Lydia Ko, Suzann Pettersen, Karrie Webb and Lexi Thompson.

World No. 2 Lewis could take over the No. 1 ranking from Inbee Park with a victory this week. Lewis has finished in the top-6 in eight of nine events this season, including five straight. She is coming off a victory at the North Texas LPGA Shootout two weeks ago.

The 17-year-old Ko is playing for the first time since winning the Swinging Skirts LPGA Classic three weeks ago. It was already the third career LPGA Tour victory for the teenager.

Webb and Anna Nordqvist are the only players with two wins this season. Webb captured the ISPS Handa Women's Australian Open in February and the JTBC Founders Cup in March.

The 19-year-old Thompson won her first major title at the Kraft Nabisco Championship in April. She has recorded three straight top-6 finishes.

The PGA Tour had played at Kingsmill Resort and Spa for 22 years prior to the LPGA's 2003 event here. The last time the LPGA had staged an event in Virginia prior to 2003 was the 1992 Crestar-Farm Fresh Classic, where Jennifer Wyatt became a first-time winner.

Only three miles downstream from the 1607 Jamestown Island settlement, Kingsmill's 17th hole is the course's signature hole. This hole was constructed on what was once the main port of entry for goods entering the Virginia colony. This par-3 hole runs along the edge of the James River. The teeing area is located adjacent to a 1775 fortification area which guarded the Customs House and the chief landing area serving Colonial Williamsburg throughout the 18th century. The 163-yard hole requires a tee shot across the valley into a long, narrow green guarded by a river on one side and a walnut tree on the other. It sits adjacent to the site of a tavern that served the 18th century sailors landing in colonial Virginia.

Last year, Cristie Kerr parred the second playoff hole to top Pettersen and win this event for the third time. Kerr carded rounds of 66-71-66-69 to finish the tournament at 12-under-par 272 with Pettersen. Kerr also won here in 2005 and 2009. She is the only 3-time winner of this event, in fact, no other player has won twice.

In 2012, Jiyai Shin 2-putted for par from 15 feet on Monday to finally defeat Paula Creamer on the ninth playoff hole, the 16th. After the tournament couldn't be decided after eight tries at the 18th hole Sunday, Shin and Creamer came back to Kingsmill Resort Monday morning. The duo finished at 16-under-par 268. It was the longest playoff in LPGA Tour history.

Annika Sorenstam fired four rounds in the 60s (64-66-69-66) to win in 2008. Sorenstam finished at 19-under-par 265 for a 7-stroke victory over Jeong Jang, Karen Stupples, Christina Kim and Allison Fouch. The win was Sorenstam's third and final victory of 2008. It would also be the final victory of her career, as she retired at the end of 2008 with 72 wins. Sorenstam established a new tournament record with her 265, breaking the old mark of 270 set by Karrie Webb in 2006.

In 2004, Se Ri Pak fired a 6-under 65 in the final round to come from four strokes behind and win by two shots over Lorena Ochoa and Juli Inkster. The victory qualified Pak for the LPGA Tour Hall of Fame and she was inducted in 2007 following her 10th year of membership.

The LPGA Tour moves to Alabama next week for the Airbus LPGA Classic, where Jennifer Johnson will defend her title.

05/13 18:35:38 ET

As of May 13, 2014, at 06:36 PM ET