LPGA - Kia Classic Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, March 27th through Sunday, March 30th
SITE: Park Hyatt Aviara Golf Club, Carlsbad, California
COURSE ARCHITECT: Arnold Palmer (1991)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 6,593
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 351 Yds10 - Par 5 515 Yds
2 - Par 4 390 Yds11 - Par 3 181 Yds
3 - Par 3 147 Yds12 - Par 4 371 Yds
4 - Par 4 372 Yds13 - Par 4 349 Yds
5 - Par 5 543 Yds14 - Par 3 168 Yds
6 - Par 3 175 Yds15 - Par 4 413 Yds
7 - Par 4 393 Yds16 - Par 4 372 Yds
8 - Par 5 523 Yds17 - Par 5 570 Yds
9 - Par 4 378 Yds18 - Par 4 382 Yds
36 3,272 Yds36 3,321 Yds
Annual:  5th
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday/Friday -- 6:30-9 p.m. (et),
  - Saturday/Sunday -- 7-9 p.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  Beatriz Recari
Runner-Up:  I.K. Kim
Tournament Record:  274 (Yani Tseng, 2012)
54-Hole Record:  204 (Jiyai Shin, 2011; Yani Tseng, 2012)
36-Hole Record:  134 (Jiyai Shin, 2011)
18-Hole Record:  64 (Jiyai Shin, 2011 - Industry Hills Golf Club)
Total Purse:  $1,700,000
Shares:  1st Place - $255,000; 2nd Place - $158,182; 3rd Place - $112,625
2013 Finish
Beatriz Recari *279Jane Park281
I.K. Kim279Karrie Webb281
Cristie Kerr280Lizette Salas281
Mo Martin280Four players at282
Pornanong Phatlum280

* - Won in Playoff

Past Kia Classic Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2013*Beatriz Recari (279) -- I.K. Kim
2012Yani Tseng (274) -- Sun Young Yoo
2011Sandra Gal (276) -- Jiyai Shin
2010Hee Kyung Seo (276) -- Inbee Park

* - Won in Playoff

Top Contenders in the Field
Beatriz RecariT-46T-18T-43Won
I.K. KimT-31T-3T-432nd
Cristie KerrT-14T-3T-37T-3
Karrie WebbT-39T-62T-25T-6
Azahara MunozT-31T-46T-12T-9
Stacy LewismcT-24T-25T-9
Suzann PettersenT-52T-10T-12T-13
Na Yeon ChoiT-14T-5T-18T-13
Inbee Park2ndT-18T-12T-17
Paula Creamer---T-32T-25T-17
Sandra GalT-39WonT-37T-21
Ai MiyazatoT-39T-24T-5T-24
Catriona MatthewT-6T-29T-10T-24
Amy YangT-11T-42T-25T-24
Hee Kyung SeoWonmcT-43T-33
Shanshan FengT-6T-29T-3T-60
Lexi Thompson------T-37T-70
Michelle WieT-6T-7mcmc
Yani TsengT-57T-5Won---
Lydia Ko------------
Mirim Lee------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Karrie Webb
Darkhorse - Mirim Lee
Last Week's Pick to Win (Suzann Pettersen) - Finished tied for 29th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Azahara Munoz) - Finished tied for 2nd
NOTES:The LPGA Tour travels to California this week for the Kia Classic at
Park Hyatt Aviara Golf Club in Carlsbad. This is the sixth event of the LPGA Tour season. Jessica Korda captured the season-opening Pure-Silk Bahamas LPGA Classic; Karrie Webb won the ISPS Handa Women's Australian Open and JTBC Founders Cup; Anna Nordqvist captured the Honda LPGA Thailand; and Paula Creamer won the HSBC Women's Champions.

The top 14 players in the world are in the field this week. World No. 1 Inbee Park has finished in the top 10 in all three events she has played this season, including a runner-up finish at the Honda LPGA Thailand. She has five straight top-10 finishes dating back to last year.

World No. 5 Webb is the hottest player on tour. She has two wins and a third- place finish in four events this season. Webb currently leads the money list by more than $153,000 over Creamer.

The tournament is being held at Park Hyatt Aviara Golf Club for the second straight year. Golf legend Arnold Palmer designed the course, which opened for play in 1991. The 2010 and 2012 events were played at La Costa Resort & Spa, while the 2011 tournament was staged at Industry Hills Golf Club at Pacific Palms.

Last year, Beatriz Recari birdied the second playoff hole to beat I.K. Kim. Recari carded rounds of 69-67-69-74 and ended regulation with Kim at 9-under- par 279.

Yani Tseng fired rounds of 67-68-69-70 in 2012 to claim a 6-stroke victory over Sun Young Yoo. She finished at 14-under-par 274 to capture her second consecutive title, her third of the 2012 season and the 15th of her career. Tseng established a new tournament record at 274.

In 2011, Sandra Gal birdied the 72nd hole to capture her first career LPGA Tour victory. Gal finished at 16-under-par 276 at Industry Hills Golf Club. She became the second German to win on the LPGA Tour, joining Tina Fischer (2001 Asahi Ryokuken International).

Hee Kyung Seo shot rounds of 70-67-69-70 in 2010 to cruise to a 6-stroke win over Park. Seo, who played on a sponsor's invitation, finished at 12-under-par 276 for her first LPGA Tour win in her eighth start.

The LPGA Tour remains in California next week for the first major of the season, the Kraft Nabisco Championship in Rancho Mirage, where Inbee Park captured her first of three consecutive majors in 2013.

03/25 16:30:07 ET

As of March 25, 2014, at 04:30 PM ET