LPGA - Honda LPGA Thailand Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, February 20th through Sunday, February 23rd
SITE: Siam Country Club (Pattaya Old Course), Chonburi, Thailand
COURSE ARCHITECT: I. Izumi (1971), Lee Schmidt (2007)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 6,548
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 379 yds10 - Par 4 391 yds
2 - Par 5 541 yds11 - Par 5 524 yds
3 - Par 3 168 yds12 - Par 3 182 yds
4 - Par 4 386 yds13 - Par 5 524 yds
5 - Par 4 291 yds14 - Par 4 400 yds
6 - Par 5 519 yds15 - Par 4 358 yds
7 - Par 4 386 yds16 - Par 3 176 yds
8 - Par 3 149 yds17 - Par 4 426 yds
9 - Par 4 404 yds18 - Par 4 364 yds
36 3,223 yds36 3,325 yds
Annual:  8th
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday -- 9 a.m.-12:30 p.m. (et) - taped,
  - Friday -- 9 a.m.-1:30 p.m. (et) - taped,
  - Saturday -- 2-6 p.m. (et) - taped,
  - Sunday -- 1:30-6 p.m. (et) - taped
Defending Champion:  Inbee Park
Runner-Up:  Ariya Jutanugarn
Tournament Record:  267 (Suzann Pettersen, 2007; Ai Miyazato, 2010)
54-Hole Record:  196 (Suzann Pettersen, 2007)
36-Hole Record:  130 (Suzann Pettersen, 2010)
18-Hole Record:  63 (Suzann Pettersen, 2007; Stacy Prammanasudh, 2009;
  Ai Miyazato, 2010; I.K. Kim, 2011; Stacy Lewis, 2013)
Total Purse:  $1,500,000
Shares:  1st Place - $225,000; 2nd Place - $136,988; 3rd Place - $99,375
2013 Finish
Inbee Park276Yani Tseng278
Ariya Jutanugarn277Na Yeon Choi279
Stacy Lewis278Lizette Salas280
Beatriz Recari278Shanshan Feng280
So Yeon Ryu278Two players at281
Past Honda LPGA Thailand Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2013Inbee Park (276) -- Ariya Jutanugarn
2012Yani Tseng (269) -- Ai Miyazato
2011Yani Tseng (273) -- Michelle Wie
2010Ai Miyazato (267) -- Suzann Pettersen
2009Lorena Ochoa (274) -- Hee Young Park
2008Tournament Not Held
2007Suzann Pettersen (267) -- Laura Davies
2006Hee-Won Han (202) -- Diana D'Alessio

Top Contenders in the Field
Inbee ParkT-46T-47T-43T-41Won
Ariya Jutanugarn---30thT-8T-122nd
Yani TsengT-73rdWonWonT-3
Stacy Lewis---T-22T-18T-5T-3
Beatriz Recari------T-15T-57T-3
So Yeon Ryu------------T-3
Na Yeon ChoiT-13T-13T-15T-257th
Shanshan FengT-22---T-38T-5T-8
Lexi Thompson---------T-14T-12
Lydia Ko------------T-14
Se Ri PakT-53T-32T-35T-25T-19
Ai MiyazatoT-22WonT-292ndT-21
Suzann PettersenT-422ndT-8T-21T-21
Angela StanfordT-7T-16T-29T-18T-25
Karrie WebbT-19T-4T-3T-9T-28
Mika Miyazato6thT-38T-13T-21T-33
Brittany Lincicome---T-26T-18T-21T-33
Chella Choi---------T-33T-33
Paula Creamer3rdwd5thT-49T-33
Cristie KerrT-19T-4T-18T-14T-38
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Lydia Ko
Darkhorse - Karine Icher
Last Week's Pick to Win (Paula Creamer) - Finished tied for 3rd
Last Week's Darkhorse (Pornanong Phatlum) - Finished tied for 57th
The 2013 LPGA Tour season continues this week with the first of two straight events in Asia. This is the eighth installment of the Honda LPGA Thailand. An outstanding field is on hand, as the top 10 players in the world are expected to play, led by world No. 1 and defending champion Inbee Park, who is making her season debut.

Park is coming off a fantastic 2013 season, in which she won six times, including three major championships. She captured the money title with over $2.4 million in earnings.

Last year, Park shot a final-round 67 and was in the clubhouse two strokes behind overnight leader and Thailand native Ariya Jutanugarn, who triple- bogeyed the par-5 last to give Park the title.

In 2012, Yani Tseng birdied the final two holes to fend off Ai Miyazato and win by one stroke. Tseng fired rounds of 73-65-65-66 to repeat as champion. She finished at 19-under-par 269 to pick up her 13th LPGA Tour title.

In 2011, Tseng shot a 6-under 66 in the final round to win. Tseng, who won the previous two weeks on the Ladies European Tour to claim the top spot in the world for the first time, finished at 15-under par 207 and ended with a convincing 5-stroke win over Michelle Wie.

In 2010, Miyazato erased a 6-shot deficit in the final round with a course- record tying, 9-under 63 to come from behind and win by one over Suzann Pettersen. Miyazato finished at 21-under-par 267 to match Pettersen's tournament scoring record. Pettersen set the mark when she won in 2007.

Pettersen drained a 15-foot eagle putt on the 72nd hole in 2007 to defeat Laura Davies by one stroke and win this tournament for her fifth LPGA Tour victory of the season. Davies missed her 25-foot eagle attempt on the same hole and settled for birdie to end one shot back. Pettersen fired a course- record 63 in the third round to jump in front by seven strokes. She settled for a 71 in the final round to hang on for the win.

Jutanugarn, then an amateur, qualified for this event in 2007, becoming the youngest player to qualify for an LPGA event. She was 11 years, 11 months and 2 days old at the start of the tournament. Wie held the previous mark when she qualified for the 2002 LPGA Takefuji Classic at 12 years, 4 months and 14 days old. Jutanugarn finished in a tie for 48th after rounds of 75-74-74.

In 2006, Hee-Won Han posted her third consecutive round in the 60s in the final round to run away with this event, her sixth career victory and second win of 2006. Han shot a 5-under 67 in the final round, completing the first-ever LPGA tournament in Thailand at 14-under-par 202 for a 5-shot victory over Diana D'Alessio.

The LPGA Tour concludes its 2-week stay in Asia next week with the HSBC Women's Champions in Singapore, where American Stacy Lewis won last season.

02/18 17:17:30 ET

As of February 18, 2014, at 05:17 PM ET