LPGA - ISPS Handa Women's Australian Open
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, February 13th through Sunday, February 16th
SITE: The Victoria Golf Club, Victoria, Australia
COURSE ARCHITECT: William Meader (1903), Oscar Damman, Dr. Alistair MacKenzie
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 6,479
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 254 Yds10 - Par 4 407 Yds
2 - Par 4 386 Yds11 - Par 4 388 Yds
3 - Par 4 393 Yds12 - Par 4 410 Yds
4 - Par 3 142 Yds13 - Par 4 393 Yds
5 - Par 4 402 Yds14 - Par 3 147 Yds
6 - Par 4 376 Yds15 - Par 4 316 Yds
7 - Par 3 164 Yds16 - Par 3 157 Yds
8 - Par 5 489 Yds17 - Par 5 598 Yds
9 - Par 5 546 Yds18 - Par 5 504 Yds
36 3,156 Yds36 3,323 Yds
Annual:  23rd (3rd on LPGA Tour)
Television:  Golf Channel - Wednesday -- 11 p.m.-2 a.m. (et),
  - Friday -- 12-2:30 p.m. (et) - taped,
  - Saturday -- 5-9 p.m. (et) - taped,
  - Sunday -- 5-7 p.m. (et) - taped
Defending Champion:  Jiyai Shin (Not defending)
Runner-Up:  Yani Tseng
Tournament Record:  270 (Karrie Webb, 2000)
54-Hole Record:  202 (Jiyai Shin, Lydia Ko, 2013)
36-Hole Record:  131 (Mariajo Uribe, 2013)
18-Hole Record:  63 (Lydia Ko, 2013)
Total Purse:  $1,200,000
Shares:  1st Place - $180,000; 2nd Place - $109,523; 3rd Place - $79,451
2013 Finish
Jiyai Shin274Carlota Ciganda280
Yani Tseng276Gwladys Nocera280
Lydia Ko278Four players at281
Moriya Jutanugarn279
Beatriz Recari279
Past ISPS Handa Women's Australian Open Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2013Jiyai Shin (274) -- Yani Tseng
2012*Jessica Korda (289) -- Brittany Lincicome, Julieta Granada, Stacy
Lewis, Hee Kyung Seo, So Yeon Ryu
2011Yani Tseng (276) -- Melissa Reid, Eun-Hee Ji, Jiyai Shin
2010Yani Tseng (283) -- Laura Davies
2009Laura Davies (285) -- Tania Elosegui
2008*Karrie Webb (284) -- Jiyai Shin
2007Karrie Webb (278) -- Yun-Jye Wei
2006Not Held
2005Not Held
2004Laura Davies (283)
2003Mhairi McKay (277)
2002Karrie Webb (278)
2001Sophie Gustafson (276)
2000Karrie Webb (270)
1999Not Held
1998Marnie McGuire (280)
1997Jane Crafter (279)
1996Catriona Matthew (283)
1995Liselotte Neumann (283)
1994Annika Sorenstam (286)
1993Not Held
1992Not Held
1991Not Held
1990Not Held
1989Not Held
1988Not Held
1987Not Held
1986Not Held
1985Not Held
1984Not Held
1983Not Held
1982Not Held
1981Not Held
1980Not Held
1979Not Held
1978Debbie Austin (213)
1977Jan Stephenson (145)
1976Donna Caponi Young (206)
1975JoAnne Carner (228)
1974Chako Higuchi (219)

* - Won in Playoff

Top Contenders in the Field
Yani TsengT-82nd
Lydia KoT-193rd
K. Hull-KirkT-61T-8
Stacy LewisT-2T-15
Jessica KordaWonT-18
Brittany LincicomeT-2T-18
Jennifer SongT-24T-18
Giulia SergasT-37T-18
Lexi ThompsonT-24T-36
Karrie WebbT-56T-36
Eun-Hee JiT-12T-48
Julieta GranadaT-2T-55
Laura DaviesmcT-72
Suzann PettersenT-22---
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Paula Creamer
Darkhorse - Pornanong Phatlum
Last Week's Pick to Win (Stacy Lewis) - Finished 2nd
Last Week's Darkhorse (Gerina Piller) - Finished tied for 27th
NOTES:The LPGA Tour returns this week with the second event of 2014, the ISPS
Handa Women's Australian Open in Victoria, Australia. Jessica Korda captured the season-opening Pure Silk-Bahamas LPGA Classic three weeks ago.

The 2012 tournament was the first time that the LPGA Tour had played in Australia in over a decade. This is the 23rd installment of this tournament, but the third on the LPGA Tour.

Three of the top four players in the world are in the field -- Suzann Pettersen (2), Stacy Lewis (3) and Lydia Ko (4). Pettersen, who is making her season debut, won four times last year and earned over $2.2 million. She captured her second major title at the Evian Championship. Lewis won three times in 2013, including her second major championship at the Women's British Open. She finished second at the Pure Silk-Bahamas LPGA Classic to open the 2014 season. The 16-year-old Ko is playing her first full season as a professional. She has already won two LPGA Tour titles as an amateur at the 2012 and 2013 Canadian Open.

Last year, Jiyai Shin carded rounds of 65-67-70-72 to win by two strokes over Yani Tseng. Shin finished at 18-under-par 274 for her 11th LPGA Tour title.

In 2012, Korda birdied the 17th hole in the final round to make it into a six- way playoff, then birdied the second playoff hole at Royal Melbourne Golf Club to earn her first LPGA title. The 18-year-old Korda defeated Lewis, Brittany Lincicome, Julieta Granada, So Yeon Ryu and Hee Kyung Seo in the playoff. All six finished at 3-under-par 289, then made par at the 18th on the first playoff hole. Korda drained a 25-foot birdie putt on the second playoff hole to earn the victory. Korda's father, Petr, won the 1998 Australian Open tennis tournament.

The LPGA Tour travels to Thailand next week for the Honda LPGA Thailand, where Inbee Park won last year.

02/11 14:18:50 ET

As of February 11, 2014, at 02:19 PM ET