Champions Golf Tour
CHAMPIONS - National Qualifying Tournament Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Tuesday, November 19th through Friday, November 22nd
SITE: TPC Scottsdale (Champions Course), Scottsdale, Arizona
COURSE ARCHITECT: Randy Heckenkemper (2007)
PAR: 71
YARDAGE: 7,115
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 371 Yds10 - Par 5 542 Yds
2 - Par 4 461 Yds11 - Par 4 474 Yds
3 - Par 3 174 Yds12 - Par 4 446 Yds
4 - Par 5 556 Yds13 - Par 3 164 Yds
5 - Par 4 477 Yds14 - Par 4 429 Yds
6 - Par 3 202 Yds15 - Par 4 359 Yds
7 - Par 4 393 Yds16 - Par 3 215 Yds
8 - Par 3 212 Yds17 - Par 5 605 Yds
9 - Par 5 575 Yds18 - Par 4 460 Yds
35 3,421 Yds36 3,694 Yds
Annual:  29th
Television:  None
Defending Champion:  Gene Jones
Runner-Up:  Jeff Brehaut
Tournament Record (72 Holes):  264 (Jeff Freeman, 2011)
Tournament Record (108 Holes):  407 (Mark Johnson, 2004)
90-Hole Record:  341 (Don Reese, Hajime Meshiai, 2004)
54-Hole Record:  196 (Steve Haskins, 2009)
18-Hole Record:  62 (DeWitt Weaver, 1990 - Westin Mission Hills;
  Bill Holstead, 2000 - Bonnet Creek Golf Club;
  Jim Rutledge, 2011 - TPC Scottsdale Champions)
Total Purse:  $200,000
Shares:  1st Place - $30,000; 2nd Place - $20,000; 3rd Place - $18,000
2012 Finish
Gene Jones275Jim Rutledge282
Jeff Brehaut278Esteban Toledo282
Mark Mouland281Anders Forsbrand283
Chie-Hsiang Lin282Jeff Freeman283
John Riegger282Neal Lancaster283
Past National Qualifying Tournament Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2012Gene Jones (275) -- Jeff Brehaut
2011Jeff Freeman (264) -- Gary Hallberg, Jim Rutledge
2010Keith Clearwater (272) -- Lee Rinker, Phil Blackmar, Frankie Minoza
2009Peter Senior (267) -- Ronnie Black, Steve Haskins, Joe Ozaki
2008Robert Thompson (281) -- John Morse
2007Rick Rhoden/Gene Jones (279) -- Mitch Adcock, Rick Karbowski
2006Boonchu Ruangkit (277) -- Ray Stewart
2005Massy Kuramoto (429) -- Kirk Hanefeld
2004Mark Johnson (407) -- Tom McKnight
2003Mark McNulty (275) -- Mark James
2002Des Smyth (275) -- Seiji Ebihara
2001Howard Twitty (276) -- Larry Ziegler
2000Bob Gilder (269) -- Bill Holstead, Terry Mauney
1999Mark Hayes (277) -- Howard Twitty, Stewart Ginn
1998Allen Doyle (275) -- Bruce Fleisher
1997David Lundstrom (276) -- Jose Maria Canizares
1996Bob Dickson (278) -- Will Sowles
1995Masaru Amano (279) -- John Jacobs, Bobby Stroble
1994Tommy Aycock (278) -- Walter Morgan
1993Bill Hall (284)
1992Larry Gilbert (276) -- Harry Toscano, Doug Dalziel, Bob Wynn
1991Dick Goetz/Tommy Aycock (292) -- J.C. Goosie, John Paul Cain
1990Simon Hobday (271) -- Jack Kiefer
1989Rocky Thompson (281)
1988Al Chandler (280)
1987Doug Dalziel (285)
1986Jim King (284)
1985Buck Adams (427)

Top Players in the Field
Ronnie Black2 PGA Tour victories
Tom ByrumWon 1989 Kemper Open on PGA Tour
Jim CarterWon 2000 Tucson Open on PGA Tour
Bobby ClampettWon 1982 Southern Open on PGA Tour
Joe DaleyWon 2012 Senior Players Championship
Trevor DoddsWon 1998 Greater Greensboro Chrysler Classic on PGA Tour
Anders Forsbrand6 European Tour victories
Jeff FreemanWon 2011 Champions Tour Q-School
Jim Gallagher, Jr.5 PGA Tour victories, Won 1993 Tour Championship
Bill Glasson7 PGA Tour victories, Won 1989 Doral-Ryder Open
Gary Hallberg3 PGA Tour wins, Won 2010 Ensure Classic on Champions
Gene JonesWon 2012 Champions Tour Q-School
Steve JonesWon 1996 U.S. Open, 8 PGA Tour victories
Greg KraftWon 2008 Puerto Rico Open on PGA Tour
Neal LancasterWon 1994 Byron Nelson Golf Classic on PGA Tour
Barry Lane5 European Tour victories
James MasonWon 2002 NFL Golf Classic
Steve Pate6 PGA Tour victories, 2 United States Ryder Cup teams
David Peoples2 PGA Tour victories
Mike Reid2 PGA Tour victories, 2 Champions Tour victories
Eduardo Romero5 Champions Tour wins, Won 2008 U.S. Senior Open
Jim Rutledge6 Canadian Tour victories, 1 Nationwide Tour win
Bruce VaughanWon 2008 Senior British Open
Willie Wood2 Champions Tour victories in 2012, 1 PGA Tour victory

Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Anders Forsbrand
Darkhorse - Jeff Hart
Last Week's Pick to Win (Bernhard Langer) - Finished tied for 2nd
Last Week's Darkhorse (Fred Funk) - Finished tied for 9th
NOTES:The Champions Tour National Qualifying Tournament returns to Arizona
for the fourth time, as TPC Scottsdale plays host to 78 players seeking entrance to the over-50 circuit. This is the third time that TPC Scottsdale has hosted this event. Jeff Freeman won the last time it was held here in 2011 and is in the field this week. Other states besides Arizona to host this event are Florida (20 times) and California (5 times).

The top five finishers of this tournament will receive full exemptions in 2014 on the Champions Tour. The next seven finishers, Nos. 6-12, get conditional status next year. The top-30 finishers and ties are eligible to compete for spots in open qualifiers at all cosponsored events. The top 30 and ties will also receive a portion of the $200,000 prize money.

Last year, Gene Jones shot rounds of 71-66-68-70 to win and earn full exemption on the tour. Jones finished at 13-under 275 and won by three strokes over Jeff Brehaut. It was the second time that Jones has earned medalist honors at this tournament, having shared the title with Rick Rhoden in 2007. Jones will be on hand to defend this week, as he finished 76th on the money list this year.

Robert Thompson carded a pair of late birdies in the final round in 2008 to shoot 2-under 70 and take medalist honors. Thompson finished at 7-under-par 281. Thompson also was co-medalist at the 1981 PGA Tour Q-School. Thompson joined Allen Doyle and Massy Kuramoto as the only players to earn medalist honors at the PGA Tour and Champions Tour Q-Schools.

Former major league pitcher Rhoden shared medalist honors in 2007 with Jones. Rhoden, who held at least a share of the lead after all four days, closed with a 3-under 69 in the final round. Rhoden shot par or better in all four rounds. He pitched 16 seasons in the major leagues with four different teams.

In 2006, Thailand's Boonchu Ruangkit fired rounds of 65-72-66-74 to come away with medalist honors. Ruangkit went wire-to-wire to finish at 11-under-par 277 for a 2-shot win over Ray Stewart. Ruangkit was a 5-time winner on the Asian Tour.

11/18 16:23:03 ET

As of November 18, 2013, at 04:23 PM ET