Champions Golf Tour
CHAMPIONS - Dick's Sporting Goods Open Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Friday, August 16th through Sunday, August 18th
SITE: En-Joie Golf Course, Endicott, New York
COURSE ARCHITECT: Ernie Smith (1927), Dr. Michael Hurdzan (1996)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 6,974
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 367 Yds10 - Par 4 356 Yds
2 - Par 4 379 Yds11 - Par 4 441 Yds
3 - Par 5 554 Yds12 - Par 5 545 Yds
4 - Par 3 175 Yds13 - Par 4 442 Yds
5 - Par 5 565 Yds14 - Par 3 212 Yds
6 - Par 4 433 Yds15 - Par 4 432 Yds
7 - Par 3 188 Yds16 - Par 4 321 Yds
8 - Par 5 553 Yds17 - Par 3 185 Yds
9 - Par 4 407 Yds18 - Par 4 419 Yds
37 3,621 Yds35 3,353 Yds
Annual:  7th
Television:  Golf Channel - Friday -- 11 p.m.-1 a.m. (et) - taped,
  - Saturday/Sunday -- 9-11 p.m. (et) - taped
Defending Champion:  Willie Wood
Runner-Up:  Michael Allen
Tournament Record:  195 (Lonnie Nielsen, 2009)
36-Hole Record:  129 (Fred Funk, 2009)
Course Record:  62 (R.W. Eaks, 2007)
Total Purse:  $1,800,000
Shares:  1st Place - $270,000; 2nd Place - $158,400; 3rd Place - $129,600
2012 Finish
Willie Wood *203Joey Sindelar204
Michael Allen203Five players at205
Brad Faxon204
Tom Lehman204
Kenny Perry204

* - Won in Playoff

Past Dick's Sporting Goods Open Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2012*Willie Wood (203) -- Michael Allen
2011John Huston (200) -- Nick Price
2010Loren Roberts (201) -- Fred Funk
2009Lonnie Nielsen (195) -- Ronnie Black, Fred Funk
2008Eduardo Romero (199) -- Fulton Allem, Gary Koch
2007R.W. Eaks (199) -- Bruce Vaughan

Top Contenders in the Field
Willie Wood---------------Won
Michael Allen---------------2nd
Kenny Perry---------------T-3
Mark Calcavecchia---------T-6T-10T-7
John Cook---------T-36T-23T-7
Bernhard Langer---T-26---------T-7
Fred Funk------T-22ndT-27T-14
Loren Roberts---------Won---T-14
Jay Haas------T-5T-30T-45T-18
John Huston------------WonT-21
Mark Wiebe---T-10T-36T-113rdT-21
Brad Bryant---T-204thT-6T-19T-23
Jeff Sluman------T-22---T-64T-23
Corey Pavin---------------T-26
David Frost---------10thT-10T-48
Tom Pernice, Jr.------------T-23---
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Corey Pavin
Darkhorse - Rod Spittle
Last Week's Pick to Win (Kenny Perry) - Finished tied for 7th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Jeff Hart) - Finished tied for 19th
The Champions Tour travels to New York this week for the Dick's Sporting Goods Open in Endicott. The top four players on the money list are in the field - Kenny Perry, Bernhard Langer, David Frost and Tom Pernice, Jr. They are the only four players to eclipse the $1 million mark in earnings so far this season. Perry, Langer and Frost are the only players with multiple victories this year. Perry currently leads Langer by more than $38,000 for the top spot.

This tournament is being played in Endicott, N. Y., at En-Joie Golf Course, designed by Ernie Smith in 1927. En-Joie hosted the B.C. Open on the PGA Tour from 1971 to 2005. Past winners of that event include Gil Morgan, Tom Kite, Don Pooley, Jay Haas, Wayne Levi, Fred Couples, John Daly, Hal Sutton, Fred Funk, Brad Faxon, Jeff Sluman and Craig Stadler.

En-Joie was the first corporate-built golf course in the country. It was built for the Endicott Johnson workers in 1927-28 and opened in 1929. Endicott- Johnson was a large shoe manufacturer in the Endicott area. En-Joie was completely redesigned due to flooding that has occurred over the years. The course was built in an apple orchard. However, currently no apple trees remain on the course. The bunkers, greens and tees were redesigned in 1996 by Michael Hurdzan. It is a level course that is tree-lined, with water hazards in play on 10 holes. Most of the greens are slightly sloped, but some of them are very undulating.

Last year, Willie Wood parred the first playoff hole to defeat Michael Allen for his first victory in 16 years. Wood, a Monday qualifier, drained a long birdie putt at the 18th to match Allen atop the leaderboard and force a playoff. It was Wood's first win on the Champions Tour, and first overall since the 1996 Deposit Guaranty Golf Classic on the PGA Tour.

In 2011, John Huston shot a final-round, 7-under 65 to earn his first win on the Champions Tour in only his third start. He finished at 16-under 200 and won by three strokes over Nick Price at En-Joie Golf Club.

Lonnie Nielsen fired a 9-under 63 in the final round to come from behind and win in 2009. Nielsen established a new tournament scoring record with a 21- under 195 for a 3-shot win over Ronnie Black and Funk. The victory was Nielsen's second on the Champions Tour and both have come in New York, where he has a residence. He also captured the 2007 Commerce Bank Championship.

Argentina's Eduardo Romero carded rounds of 65-65-69 in 2008 to pick up his second Champions Tour title. Romero completed the event at 18-under-par 199 for a 1-stroke win over Fulton Allem and Gary Koch. With the win, Romero became the first international winner at this golf course since 1997, when Gabriel Hjertstedt captured the B.C. Open.

In 2007, R.W. Eaks fired weekend rounds of 62-66 to cruise to a 3-stroke win over Bruce Vaughan at the inaugural event. Eaks closed his first Champions Tour win at 17-under-par 199.

The Champions Tour heads to Snoqualmie, Wash, next week for the Boeing Classic at TPC Snoqualmie Ridge, where Jay Don Blake is the defending champion.

08/13 16:31:53 ET

As of August 13, 2013, at 04:32 PM ET