Champions Golf Tour
CHAMPIONS - Principal Charity Classic Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Friday, May 31st through Sunday, June 2nd
SITE: Wakonda Club, Des Moines, Iowa
COURSE ARCHITECT: William B. Langford (1922)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 6,859
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 431 Yds10 - Par 4 441 Yds
2 - Par 3 128 Yds11 - Par 4 408 Yds
3 - Par 4 431 Yds12 - Par 4 361 Yds
4 - Par 4 421 Yds13 - Par 5 529 Yds
5 - Par 5 549 Yds14 - Par 3 201 Yds
6 - Par 4 418 Yds15 - Par 5 510 Yds
7 - Par 4 365 Yds16 - Par 4 430 Yds
8 - Par 5 549 Yds17 - Par 3 188 Yds
9 - Par 3 188 Yds18 - Par 4 311 Yds
36 3,480 Yds36 3,379 Yds
Annual:  13th
Television:  Golf Channel - Friday -- 7-9 p.m. (et) - taped,
  - Saturday -- 6:30-9:30 p.m. (et) - taped,
  - Sunday -- 7-9:30 p.m. (et) - taped
Defending Champion:  Jay Haas
Runner-Up:  Larry Mize, Kirk Triplett
Tournament Record:  197 (Gil Morgan, 2006; Jay Haas, 2012)
36-Hole Record:  130 (Gil Morgan, 2006)
18-Hole Record:  62 (Kirk Triplett, 2012 - Glen Oaks Country Club)
Total Purse:  $1,750,000
Shares:  1st Place - $262,500; 2nd Place - $154,000; 3rd Place - $126,000
2012 Finish
Jay Haas197Andrew Magee204
Larry Mize202David Eger205
Kirk Triplett202Jeff Freeman205
Fred Funk203Kenny Perry205
Tom Lehman203Four players at206
Past Principal Charity Classic Championship Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2012Jay Haas (197) -- Larry Mize, Kirk Triplett
2011Bob Gilder (199) -- Mark Brooks
2010Nick Price (199) -- Tommy Armour III
2009*Mark McNulty (203) -- Fred Funk, Nick Price
2008Jay Haas (203) -- Andy Bean
2007Jay Haas (201) -- Brad Bryant, R.W. Eaks
2006Gil Morgan (197) -- Loren Roberts
2005*Tom Jenkins (204) -- D.A. Weibring
2004D.A. Weibring (204) -- Tom Jenkins
2003Don Pooley (200) -- Bruce Fleisher, Bruce Lietzke, Jim Thorpe
2002Bob Gilder (200) -- John Bland
2001Jim Thorpe (199) -- Gil Morgan

* - Won in Playoff

Note:Formerly called Allianz Championship (2001-06).

Top Contenders in the Field
Jay Haas---WonWonT-17T-30T-52Won
Larry Mize------------T-16T-22T-2
Kirk Triplett------------------T-2
Tom Lehman---------------T-6T-4
Fred Funk---------T-2T-16T-72T-4
David EgerT-52T-40T-125thT-43T-41T-7
Bernhard Langer------------T-11---T-10
Bob Gilder---T-31T-22T-17T-52WonT-14
Mark Brooks---------------2ndT-14
Mike Goodes------T-22T-47T-24T-3T-14
Loren Roberts2nd---T-5T-6T-3T-25T-18
Jeff Sluman------T-50T-12T-5T-28T-18
Dan Forsman---------T-24T-5T-68T-21
John Cook------T-5T-6T-3T-25T-29
Mark McNulty---T-16T-36Won---T-52T-34
Peter Senior------------T-11T-9T-37
David Frost------------T-48T-16T-43
Gil MorganWonT-47T-36T-38T-48T-28T-51
Mark O'Meara------T-30wdT-26T-13---
Rocco Mediate---------------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Jay Haas
Darkhorse - Mark O'Meara
Last Week's Pick to Win (Jeff Sluman) - Finished tied for 47th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Mark Calcavecchia) - Missed the cut
The Champions Tour travels to Iowa this week for the Principal Charity Classic. The top seven players on the money list are expected to play, led by money leader Bernhard Langer.

Langer is the only two-time winner on tour this season and currently leads the money list by more than $318,000 over David Frost. Langer has already eclipsed the $1 million mark on the season with $1,025,079 in earnings.

Last year, Jay Haas fired rounds of 66-65-66 for a 5-stroke victory over Larry Mize and Kirk Triplett. Haas finished at 16-under par 197, matching the tournament record set by Gil Morgan in 2006. He also earned his 16th Champions Tour title. Triplett established a new course record with a 9-under 62 in the final round. Haas won this championship for the third time, having previously captured the title in 2007-08.

In 2011, Bob Gilder fired a bogey-free, 6-under 65 in the final round to come from behind and win by one stroke over second-round leader Mark Brooks. Gilder finished his 10th Champions Tour title at 14-under-par 199 at Glen Oaks Country Club. He became the oldest winner in tournament history at 60 years, 6 months and 5 days old. It was Gilder's first win since the 2006 Constellation Energy Classic.

Nick Price won for the second time of the 2010 season after rounds of 67-65-67. Price finished at 14-under 199 to beat Tommy Armour III by four shots. It marked the first time Price captured multiple wins in a season since 1994, when he won six times and was named PGA Tour Player of the Year.

Haas opened with a first-round 65 in 2007 and cruised to a wire-to-wire victory as he won by three strokes over Brad Bryant and R.W. Eaks. Haas closed with a 2-under 69 in the final round to finish at 12-under-par 201. The win was his third of four in 2007. Haas joined D.A. Weibring (2004) as the only wire-to-wire winners in tournament history.

When Morgan won in 2006, he established a new tournament record of 197, breaking the old mark of 199 set by Jim Thorpe in 2001. He also set a new 36-hole record of 130, breaking the mark of 131 established by John Bland in 2002.

The Champions Tour moves to Alabama next week for the Regions Tradition at Shoal Creek, where Tom Lehman has captured the title the last two years.

05/28 17:24:55 ET

As of May 28, 2013, at 05:25 PM ET