Champions Golf Tour
CHAMPIONS - Toshiba Classic Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Friday, March 15th through Sunday, March 17th
SITE: Newport Beach Country Club, Newport Beach, California
COURSE ARCHITECT: William Bell (1953), Harry Rainville (1973),
         Ted Robinson (1985, 1998-99)
PAR: 71
YARDAGE: 6,584
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 339 Yds10 - Par 4 429 Yds
2 - Par 4 390 Yds11 - Par 4 344 Yds
3 - Par 5 549 Yds12 - Par 4 373 Yds
4 - Par 3 143 Yds13 - Par 3 170 Yds
5 - Par 4 430 Yds14 - Par 4 397 Yds
6 - Par 4 418 Yds15 - Par 5 492 Yds
7 - Par 4 368 Yds16 - Par 4 437 Yds
8 - Par 3 203 Yds17 - Par 3 185 Yds
9 - Par 4 407 Yds18 - Par 5 510 Yds
35 3,247 Yds36 3,337 Yds
Annual:  19th
Television:  Golf Channel - Friday -- 8:30-10:30 p.m. (et) - taped,
  - Saturday/Sunday -- 7:30-9:30 p.m. (et) - taped
Defending Champion:  Loren Roberts
Runner-Up:  Tom Kite, Bernhard Langer, Mark Calcavecchia
Tournament Record:  194 (Jay Haas, 2007)
36-Hole Record:  128 (Nick Price, 2011)
Course Record:  60 (Tom Purtzer, 2004; Nick Price, 2011)
Total Purse:  $1,750,000
Shares:  1st Place - $262,500; 2nd Place - $154,000; 3rd Place - $126,000
2012 Finish
Loren Roberts205Joey Sindelar208
Tom Kite207David Eger208
Bernhard Langer207Four players at209
Mark Calcavecchia207
Mark McNulty208
Past Toshiba Classic Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2012Loren Roberts (205) -- Tom Kite, Bernhard Langer, Mark Calcavecchia
2011Nick Price (196) -- Mark Wiebe
2010Fred Couples (195) -- Ronnie Black
2009Eduardo Romero (202) -- Mark O'Meara, Joey Sindelar
2008*Bernhard Langer (199) -- Jay Haas
2007Jay Haas (194) -- R.W. Eaks
2006Brad Bryant (204) -- John Harris, Mark Johnson, Bobby Wadkins
2005Mark Johnson (200) -- Wayne Levi, Keith Fergus
2004Tom Purtzer (198) -- Morris Hatalsky
2003Rodger Davis (197) -- Larry Nelson
2002Hale Irwin (196) -- Allen Doyle
2001*Jose Maria Canizares (202) -- Gil Morgan
2000#Allen Doyle (136) -- Jim Thorpe, Howard Twitty
1999*Gary McCord (204) -- Allen Doyle, Al Geiberger, John Jacobs
1998Hale Irwin (200) -- Hubert Green
1997*Bob Murphy (207) -- Jay Sigel
1996Jim Colbert (201) -- Bob Eastwood
1995George Archer (199) -- Dave Stockton, Tom Wargo

* - Won in Playoff

# - Rain Shortened

Note:Previously called Toshiba Senior Classic (1995-2005).

Top Contenders in the Field
Loren Roberts------------T-15T-21T-36T-5T-22Won
Bernhard Langer---------------WonT-9T-17T-28T-2
Mark Calcavecchia------------------------T-15T-2
Tom KiteT-19T-27---T-48T-30T-49T-22T-33T-44T-2
David EgerT-13T-6T-49T-5T-35T-36T-4T-17T-17T-5
Fred Couples---------------------WonT-5T-8
Brad Bryant------T-15WonT-58---T-46---T-5T-12
Mark O'Meara------------T-5T-39T-2T-30T-8T-12
Jeff Sluman---------------T-13T-9T-43T-8T-12
Jay Haas---------T-16Won2nd------T-28T-12
John Cook---------------T-13T-15T-7---T-12
Tommy Armour III---------------------T-43T-15T-19
Fred Funk---------------T-13T-4T-43T-33T-19
Mark Wiebe---------------T-42T-29T-172ndT-22
Tom Lehman---------------------T-3T-17T-22
Tom JenkinsT-31T-41T-8T-16T-54T-32T-4T-28T-35T-22
Corey Pavin---------------------T-7T-12T-29
Russ Cochran---------------------T-28T-12T-29
Tom PurtzerT-19WonT-15T-13T-5T-21wdT-54T-4942nd
Jay Don Blake---------------------------T-49
Tom WatsonT-31---------------T-22T-5T-56---
Rocco Mediate------------------------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Bernhard Langer
Darkhorse - Mark O'Meara
Last Week's Pick to Win (John Cook) - Finished tied for 3rd
Last Week's Darkhorse (Tom Pernice, Jr.) - Finished tied for 3rd
NOTES:The Champions Tour travels to California this week for the Toshiba
Classic in Newport Beach. The top seven players on the money list are in action, led by money leader and 2008 champion Bernhard Langer. The three tournament winners of 2013 are in the field. John Cook won the season-opening Mitsubishi Electric Championship; Rocco Mediate captured the Allianz Championship in his first Champions Tour event; and Langer won the ACE Group Classic.

Langer has finished third, tied for second, and first in the first three events of the year and has already won more than $500,000 on the season. Fred Couples has finished in the top-10 in all three of his appearances at this event. Couples won in 2010, tied for fifth in 2011 and tied for eighth last year. The 81-player field consists of 22 different major champions from the PGA Tour. Eight past winners of this tournament are also competing.

Newport Beach Country Club was originally known as Irvine Coast Country Club when it first opened in 1954. William Bell designed the course in 1953, which has had redesign work by Harry Rainville and Ted Robinson. This will be the 18th consecutive year at Newport Beach Country Club, the longest-running venue on the Champions Tour. At 6,584 yards, Newport Beach is the second-shortest course for an official event on the 2013 Champions Tour schedule. Del Monte Golf Course, one of two used for the Nature Valley First Tee Open at Pebble Beach, is the shortest at 6,357 yards.

Hale Irwin is the leading money winner at this event with $784,194 in earnings. He is the only two-time champion, winning in 1998 and 2002. Irwin has been among the top-10 in six of his 15 appearances in Orange County and is a cumulative 74-under on the Newport Beach course.

Last year, Loren Roberts walked off with the title in a windy final round. Roberts birdied the final hole and finished his 13th Champions Tour title at 8-under-par 205 after rounds of 66-70-69. He won by two strokes over Tom Kite, Langer and Mark Calcavecchia.

Nick Price tied the course record in 2011 with an opening-round 60 and led wire-to-wire for a 1-stroke win over Mark Wiebe. Price, who won for the fourth time on the Champions Tour, ended at 17-under-par 196. Price also established a new 36-hole record of 128.

In 2008, Langer birdied the seventh playoff hole to defeat 2007 champion Jay Haas. This event has featured two of the longest playoffs in Champions Tour history. Twice, there have been 9-hole playoffs, so the 2008 seven-hole extra session was nothing the event couldn't handle. In 1997, Bob Murphy needed nine extra holes to defeat Jay Sigel and in 2001 Jose Maria Canizares also needed nine holes to defeat Gil Morgan. The other playoff was in 1999, when Gary McCord needed five holes to defeat John Jacobs, Al Geiberger and Allen Doyle.

Haas fired rounds of 65-64-65 in 2007 to finish at 19-under-par 194 and win by two shots over R.W. Eaks. Haas broke the previous tournament scoring record of 196 set by Hale Irwin in 2002.

Brad Bryant claimed his first Champions Tour crown in 2006, as he birdied the final hole to finish at 9-under-par 204. In 2005, Mark Johnson, a former beer truck driver, holed out for eagle on the 18th hole in the final round to win by four strokes over Wayne Levi and Keith Fergus. Johnson drove a Budweiser truck for 18 years before pursuing a professional golf career.

In 1997, Murphy became the only player in tournament history to shoot a round over par and go on and win. Murphy fired a final-round, one-over-par 72, but it was good enough to get him into a playoff, where he defeated Sigel.

The Champions Tour heads to Mississippi next week for the Mississippi Gulf Resort Classic in Biloxi, where Couples captured the 2012 title.

03/12 15:00:36 ET

As of March 12, 2013, at 03:00 PM ET