PGA Tour
Home · News · Field · Tee Times · Leaderboard · Weather · Course · Preview · News & Notes
Outlook · Watch List · Top Players · Past Winners · Runners Up · Playoffs · Facts · Hole Stats
Holes-In-One · Par Three Tourney · Honorary Starters · Money Leaders · By the Numbers · Next Season
The Masters -By The Numbers
From TheSports Network
0 - The number of Par-3 Tournament winners to capture The Masters in the same year. Number of players to shoot four rounds in the 60s in one Masters Tournament.

1 - When Gary Player captured the event in 1961, he became the first international champion.

2 - There are eight players who have won this event twice. Horton Smith, Byron Nelson, Ben Hogan, Tom Watson, Seve Ballesteros, Bernhard Langer, Ben Crenshaw and Jose Maria Olazabal.

3 - Horton Smith, Gene Sarazen and Fuzzy Zoeller are the only players to win this event on their first attempt. Jimmy Demaret, Sam Snead, Gary Player, Nick Faldo and Phil Mickelson have won this event threetimes.

4 - Arnold Palmer and Tiger Woods have won this event four times. Palmer in 1958, 1960, 1962, 1964. Woods in 1997, 2001, 2002, 2005. Charl Schwartzel birdied the final four holes to win the 2011 Masters.

5 - Art Wall earned his only Green Jacket when he birdied five of his last six holes in 1959.

6 - Total number of Masters' that Jack Nicklaus has won (1963, 1965, 1966, 1972, 1975, 1986). Byron Nelson came from six shots back on the final two holes to defeat Ralph Guldahl by two and win the 1937 Masters.

7 - Steve Pate in 1999 and Tiger Woods in 2005 posted seven consecutive birdies during their third rounds.

8 - From 1958-1966, golf's "Big Three," Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus and Gary Player, won eight of the nine Masters held.

9 - In 1954, Billy Joe Patton became the only player in event history to birdie this hole during all four rounds.

10 - The most difficult hole at Augusta National is the par-4 10th hole, averaging 4.32 strokes.

11 - Nick Faldo shot a Sunday 67 compared to third-round leader Greg Norman's 78 to win his third Masters, an 11-shot difference. The 11th hole is the start of Amen Corner, coined by Herbert Warren Wind. Anthony Kim birdied 11 holes during the second round in 2009.

12 - When Tiger Woods captured the Masters in 1997, he won by a whopping 12 shots.

13 - The highest score on a given hole was made by Tom Weiskopf (1980) on the 12th and by Tommy Nakajima (1978) on the 13th. There have been 13 playoffs in Masters history.

14 - The 14th is the only hole on the course without a bunker.

15 - When Mark O'Meara birdied three of his final four holes in 1998, it marked a record for number of attempts before a victory. Hitting the "shot heard 'round the world," Gene Sarazen made the first double eagle (235 yards, 4 wood) at the par-5 15th to tie Craig Wood and force the Tournament's only 36-hole playoff, which he won.

16 - Playing in back-to-back pairings, Padraig Harrington and Kirk Triplett make holes-in-one on the 16th hole in about a 10-minute span in 2004. Tiger Woods recorded a memorable chip-in at the 16th hole in 2005 and went on to defeat Chris DiMarco in a playoff.

17 - President Dwight Eisenhower joined Augusta National Golf Club in 1948. The loblolly pine, which is over 100 years old, was often struck by Eisenhower and is named after him (Eisenhower tree).

18 - Only four players have birdied the 18th hole and won the Masters (Arnold Palmer, Sandy Lyle, Mark O'Meara and Phil Mickelson).

20 - Art Wall (1965) and Gay Brewer (1973) own the lowest winning score at the Par-3 tournament.

21 - The age of Tiger Woods in 1997 when he became the youngest player to win the Masters.

24 - Jack Nicklaus owns the record for most eagles at the Masters.

25 - Phil Mickelson posted 25 birdies in 2001, only to finish third.

41 - Mark O'Meara became the oldest (41 years, 3 months, 29 days) first-time winner of the Tournament in 1998.

44 - Total number of bunkers at Augusta National Golf Club.

45 - Total number of Masters Tournaments that Jack Nicklaus competed in.

50 - When Arnold Palmer played in the 2004 event, it marked his 50th consecutive start.

52 - When Gary Player teed off in the 2009 event, it marked his 52nd Masters, the most by any player.

61 - Number of Magnolia trees that line the entrance to Augusta National Golf Club.

75 - After three rounds in the 60s, Trevor Immelman posts 75, matching the highest winning fourth-round score at the Masters.

109 - This number represents the largest Masters field back in 1962. The smallest was 42 in 1938 and 1942.

270 - Tournament scoring record set by Tiger Woods in 1997.

289 - Highest winning total in Masters history (Sam Snead, 1954; Jack Burke Jr, 1956; Zach Johnson, 2007).

506 - Jack Nicklaus owns the record for most birdies at the Masters.

1933 - Formal opening of Augusta National Golf Club, designed by Masters co-founder Bobby Jones and Dr. Alister Mackenzie.

1939 - The tournament is officially named The Masters after being known as the Augusta National Invitation Tournament.

1949 - For the first time, the Green Jacket is awarded to the champion (Sam Snead).

1952 - After the urging from defending champion Ben Hogan, The Masters begins a champions dinner for past winners.

1956 - The first Masters is televised by CBS, as holes 15-18 are coverered, with 10 million viewers.

1968 - Marked the year in which Roberto De Vicenzo signed an incorrect scorecard forcing him to miss a playoff with Bob Goalby.

1971 - Robert (Bobby) Tyre Jones passes away on December 18, 1971.

1979 - The first sudden-death playoff was held in 1979, as Fuzzy Zoeller defeated Ed Sneed and Tom Watson.

1986 - Jack Nicklaus wins his sixth Green Jacket and becomes the oldest champion.

1997 - Tiger Woods becomes the youngest player ever to win the Masters, setting records for the lowest 72-hole score and widest victory margin.

2001 - When Tiger Woods captured the 2001 Masters, it gave him a victory in four consecutive professional majors.

2007 - Arnold Palmer serves as the tournament's seventh Honorary Starter. 1967 champion Gay Brewer passes away.

2009 - Angel Cabrera captured the 2009 Masters, becoming the first South American player to win. Gary Players plays in his record 52nd and final Masters.

2010 - Jack Nicklaus serves as the tournament's eighth Honorary Starter, along with Arnold Palmer.

2011 - Television coverage on Thursday and Friday was increased an extra hour, from 3-7:30 p.m. (et).

2012 - Gary Player joins Arnold Palmer and Jack Nicklaus as Honorary Starters. Louis Oosthuizen records the first double-eagle in Masters history on the second hole.

2013 - Qualification process to the Masters was adjusted for future tournaments: The top-12 players, including ties in the previous year's Masters (down from 16), first four players, including ties in the previous year's U.S. Open (down from 8) and the removal of the top-30 money leaders from the previous calendar year. In addition, the 36-hole cut was expanded to the low 50, up from low 44.