European Golf Tour
PGA European - DP World Tour Championship, Dubai Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, November 14th through Sunday, November 17th
SITE: Jumeirah Golf Estates (Earth Course), Dubai, United Arab Emirates
COURSE ARCHITECT: Greg Norman (2009)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 7,675
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 454 Yds10 - Par 4 437 Yds
2 - Par 5 583 Yds11 - Par 4 401 Yds
3 - Par 4 452 Yds12 - Par 4 476 Yds
4 - Par 3 245 Yds13 - Par 3 204 Yds
5 - Par 4 407 Yds14 - Par 5 626 Yds
6 - Par 3 186 Yds15 - Par 4 371 Yds
7 - Par 5 572 Yds16 - Par 4 486 Yds
8 - Par 4 461 Yds17 - Par 3 195 Yds
9 - Par 4 499 Yds18 - Par 5 620 Yds
36 3,859 Yds36 3,816 Yds
Annual:  5th
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday/Saturday -- 3-8 a.m. (et),
  - Sunday -- 2:30-7:30 a.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  Rory McIlroy
Runner-Up:  Justin Rose
Tournament Record:  265 (Lee Westwood, 2009; Rory McIlroy, 2012)
54-Hole Record:  199 (Rory McIlroy, Luke Donald, 2012)
36-Hole Record:  132 (Alvaro Quiros, 2011)
Course Record:  62 (Justin Rose, 2012)
Total Purse:  $8,000,000
Shares:  1st Place - $1,333,330; 2nd Place - $888,900; 3rd Place - $520,000
2012 Finish
Rory McIlroy265Branden Grace272
Justin Rose267Henrik Stenson273
Luke Donald270Thongchai Jaidee273
Charl Schwartzel270Five players at274
Louis Oosthuizen271
Past DP World Tour Championship, Dubai Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2012Rory McIlroy (265) -- Justin Rose
2011Alvaro Quiros (269) -- Paul Lawrie
2010*Robert Karlsson (274) -- Ian Poulter
2009Lee Westwood (265) -- Ross McGowan

* - Won in Playoff

Note:Formerly called Dubai World Championship (2009-11).

Top Contenders in the Field
Rory McIlroy3rd5thT-11Won
Justin RoseT-50------2nd
Luke DonaldT-379th3rdT-3
Louis Oosthuizen12thT-13T-65th
Branden Grace---------6th
Henrik StensonT-23T-24---T-7
Jamie DonaldsonT-23T-48T-26T-9
G. Fdez-CastanoT-37T-28T-29T-9
Peter HansonT-9T-134thT-16
Miguel A. JimenezT-9T-48T-44T-16
Martin KaymerT-37T-13T-11T-26
Ian PoulterT-92ndT-22T-26
George Coetzee------T-22T-26
Francesco MolinariT-30T-6T-6T-34
Nicolas Colsaerts------T-19T-34
Victor Dubuisson---------T-36
Matteo Manassero---T-32T-34T-42
Lee WestwoodWonT-3T-29T-48
Graeme McDowellT-30T-13T-11T-52
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Ian Poulter
Darkhorse - Jamie Donaldson
Last Week's Pick to Win (Justin Rose) - Finished tied for 3rd
Last Week's Darkhorse (Martin Kaymer) - Finished tied for 25th
Last Week's Pick to Win - SA Open (Martin Kaymer) - Finished tied for 3rd
Last Week's Darkhorse - SA Open (Jaco Van Zyl) - Finished tied for 33rd
NOTES:The 2013 European Tour season comes to a close this week as the DP
World Tour Championship, Dubai takes center stage on the Earth Course at Jumeirah Golf Estates. The top 60 players in the Race to Dubai qualified for this event. Sergio Garcia (13), Ernie Els (17), Charl Schwartzel (22) and Alex Noren (51) are the only players who qualified that are not playing. The purse for this tournament is $8 million, with the winner earning $1.33 million.

World No. 3 Henrik Stenson leads U.S. Open champion and world No. 5 Justin Rose by 213,468 points in the Race to Dubai. Graeme McDowell trails Stenson by 321,800 points. The winner of the Race to Dubai will receive $1 million, with second place earning $650,000. The top 10 players in the Race to Dubai will win part of the $3.75 million payout. Stenson has already captured the FedExCup on the PGA Tour and the $10 million payout that came with it. If Stenson, Rose or McDowell win this week, they will win the Race to Dubai.

Twenty different countries are represented by the 56 players (Australia, Austria, Belgium, Chile, Denmark, England, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, The Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Scotland, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, United States and Wales). England has the most players with 12.

The Earth Course at Jumeirah Golf Estates was designed by Greg Norman and opened for play in 2009. The 2009 event was the first competitive tournament held at the site.

Last year, Rory McIlroy birdied the final five holes to rally and win the season-ending tournament. McIlroy closed with a 6-under 66 to end at 23-under- par 265. His total matched Lee Westwood's tournament record, which was set in 2009. Prior to the start of the event, McIlroy had already clinched the season-long Race to Dubai.

In 2011, Alvaro Quiros won for the second time that season and sixth overall. He carded rounds of 68-64-70-67 to shoot 19-under 269. It was the first time Quiros won twice in a season after winning once in each of the previous four years. Luke Donald captured the season-long Race to Dubai for 2011.

Robert Karlsson birdied the second playoff hole to defeat Ian Poulter in 2010. He knocked in a 4-footer, but caught a huge break from his opponent. Poulter hit an indifferent third into the par-5 18th hole, leaving himself close to 45 feet for birdie. He dropped his ball on his marker and the marker moved, meaning Poulter was given a 1-shot penalty. Poulter now had 45 feet for par and lagged his effort close. Karlsson now needed two putts from four feet, but drained the birdie putt for his 11th European Tour title and second of 2010. The pair finished regulation tied at 14-under 274. Martin Kaymer captured the season-long Race to Dubai for 2010.

Westwood birdied five of his first seven holes in the final round in 2009 and cruised home with a 6-stroke win over Ross McGowan at the inaugural event. Westwood closed with an 8-under 64 to finish at 23- under-par 265 for his 20th European Tour title. The victory also gave Westwood a $1.5 million bonus as the winner of the season-long Race to Dubai, claiming the European Tour's money title for the second time. Westwood had a near-perfect final round, hitting all 14 fairways and all 18 greens in regulation during his bogey-free round.

The 2014 European Tour schedule gets under way next week in South Africa at the South African Open Championship, where Stenson won in 2012.

11/12 16:59:04 ET

As of November 12, 2013, at 04:59 PM ET