European Golf Tour
PGA European - Johnnie Walker Championship at Gleneagles Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, August 22nd through Sunday, August 25th
SITE: The Gleneagles Hotel (PGA Centenary Course), Perthshire, Scotland
COURSE ARCHITECT: Jack Nicklaus (1993)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 7,296
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 426 Yds10 - Par 3 208 Yds
2 - Par 5 516 Yds11 - Par 4 350 Yds
3 - Par 4 431 Yds12 - Par 4 445 Yds
4 - Par 3 239 Yds13 - Par 4 481 Yds
5 - Par 4 461 Yds14 - Par 4 320 Yds
6 - Par 3 201 Yds15 - Par 4 463 Yds
7 - Par 4 468 Yds16 - Par 5 543 Yds
8 - Par 4 419 Yds17 - Par 3 194 Yds
9 - Par 5 618 Yds18 - Par 5 513 Yds
36 3,779 Yds36 3,517 Yds
Annual:  15th
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday/Friday -- 9:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. (et),
  - Saturday/Sunday -- 8 a.m.-12 p.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  Paul Lawrie
Runner-Up:  Brett Rumford
Tournament Record:  262 (Adam Scott, 2002)
54-Hole Record:  199 (Adam Scott, 2002)
36-Hole Record:  132 (Adam Scott, 2002)
Course Record:  62 (Martin Erlandsson, 2009)
Total Purse:  $2,194,198
Shares:  1st Place - $365,445; 2nd Place - $243,625; 3rd Place - $137,263
2012 Finish
Paul Lawrie272Colin Montgomerie278
Brett Rumford276Stephen Gallacher278
Fredrik Andersson Hed277Francesco Molinari278
Maarten Lafeber277Richie Ramsay278
Romain Wattel277Four players at279
Past Johnnie Walker Championship at Gleneagles Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2012Paul Lawrie (272) -- Brett Rumford
2011*Thomas Bjorn (277) -- Mark Foster, George Coetzee, Bernd Wiesberger,
Pablo Larrazabal
2010Edoardo Molinari (278) -- Brett Rumford
2009Peter Hedblom (275) -- Martin Erlandsson
2008Gregory Havret (278) -- Graeme Storm
2007*Marc Warren (280) -- Simon Wakefield
2006Paul Casey (276) -- Andrew Marshall, Soren Hansen
2005Emanuele Canonica (281) -- Bradley Dredge, David Lynn, Barry Lane,
Nicolas Colsaerts
2004Miles Tunnicliff (275) -- Graeme McDowell
2003Soren Kjeldsen (279) -- Alastair Forsyth
2002Adam Scott (262) -- Raymond Russell
2001Paul Casey (274) -- Alex Cejka
2000Pierre Fulke (271) -- Henrik Nystrom
1999*Warren Bennett (282) -- Rolf Muntz

* - Won in Playoff

Note:Formerly called the Gleneagles Scottish PGA Championship (2001),
Scottish PGA Championship (1999-2000), Diageo Scottish PGA Championship (2002), Diageo Championship at Gleneagles (2003-04).

Top Contenders in the Field
Paul LawrieT-57mcT-26wdT-38mcT-3T-51T-59Won
Brett RumfordmcT-61wdT-7T-33---mc2ndmc2nd
Stephen GallacherT-5T-10wdmcT-33T-10---T-14T-6T-6
Francesco Molinari------T-6mcT-9T-19---T-3T-44T-6
Thomas Bjorn---------T-4------mcmcWonT-10
R. Cabrera-Bello------------mc---mcmc---T-10
Anders Hansen---T-15T-46------------T-35T-31T-15
Thorbjorn Olesen------------------------mcT-15
Gary Boyd---------------------T-14T-11T-19
Pablo Larrazabal---------------mcT-37mcT-2T-32
Damien McGranemcmcT-17T-63mcmcT-14T-7T-31T-51
Marc WarrenT-71T-51mcT-19WonmcmcT-56T-11mc
Miles TunnicliffT-31WonT-37T-60T-38mcmc65thT-59mc
Gregory HavretT-71---T-54---mcWonT-3mcmcmc
Soren KjeldsenWonT-17---T-42T-33mc------mcmc
Peter Hedblom---T-28---------mcWonT-26---mc
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Francesco Molinari
Darkhorse - Marc Warren
Last Week's Pick to Win - Bridgestone (Matt Kuchar) - Finished tied for 27th
Last Week's Darkhorse - Bridgestone (Henrik Stenson) - Finished tied for 2nd
The European Tour heads to Scotland this week for the Johnnie Walker Championship at Gleneagles. Many of the top players on the European Tour are in the United States for the FedExCup Playoffs on the PGA Tour. However, two players ranked in the top-50 of the world are in the field -- Francesco Molinari (42) and Thorbjorn Olesen (44).

The Gleneagles course begins by playing southeast towards the famed glen of the eagles sweeping up the Ochil Hills to the summit of the pass below Ben Shee, which joins it to Glendevon. A feature of the course is the feast of views of the spectacular countryside in which Gleneagles is set. The course is the longest inland course in Scotland. The PGA Centenary Course will also host the 2014 Ryder Cup.

Last year, Paul Lawrie carded four rounds in the 60s to win by four shots over Brett Rumford. Lawrie finished at 16-under-par 272. It was his second win of 2011 and eighth of his career on the European Tour.

Thomas Bjorn emerged to win in a wild 5-man playoff on the fifth playoff hole in 2011. In one of the biggest playoffs player-wise in European Tour history, Bjorn finished with three straight birdies on the par-5 18th to beat out George Coetzee, Mark Foster, Pablo Larrazabal and Bernd Wiesberger for his 12th win on tour. The largest European Tour playoff involved six players and occurred twice.

In 2010, Edoardo Molinari put together a stunning finish to win. Edoardo fell two strokes behind Rumford, but closed with three straight birdies to come from behind for his second win of the season in Scotland. He finished at 10- under-par 278. Edoardo, who also won the Scottish Open in 2010, was then selected by captain Colin Montgomerie to play on the European Ryder Cup team alongside his brother. Edoardo became the first player to win two events in Scotland in the same season.

France's Gregory Havret holed a clutch 8-foot par save on the 18th green in 2008 to shoot a 3-under 70 in the final round and win. Havret's closing five at the 533-yard 18th hole gave him a 1-shot victory over England's Graeme Storm at 14-under 278. It was his third career European Tour win, tying him with Jean-Francois Remesy for second place among the winningest French players in tour history.

In 2007, Marc Warren capped an up-and-down final round with a birdie at the second playoff hole to beat Simon Wakefield and become the first Scotsman to win this event.

Paul Casey grabbed the lead with a 7-under 66 in the third round in 2006 and shot a final-round 72 to hold on and win by one stroke over Andrew Marshall and Soren Hansen. Casey, who claimed his first professional victory here in 2001, ended the event at 16-under-par 276. He became the first player to win this event twice.

When Adam Scott captured the 2002 title, he shot a tournament record 262, breaking the previous mark of 271 set by Pierre Fulke in 2000. Scott also set 36-hole (132) and 54-hole (199) marks.

The European Tour moves to Wales next week for the ISPS Handa Wales Open in Newport, where Thongchai Jaidee captured the 2012 tournament.

08/20 18:32:36 ET

As of August 20, 2013, at 06:32 PM ET