European Golf Tour
PGA European - M2M Russian Open Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, July 25th through Sunday, July 28th
SITE: Tseleevo Golf & Polo Club, Moscow Region, Russia
COURSE ARCHITECT: Jack Nicklaus (2007)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 7,491
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 430 Yds10 - Par 4 480 Yds
2 - Par 4 404 Yds11 - Par 4 477 Yds
3 - Par 3 191 Yds12 - Par 4 470 Yds
4 - Par 5 586 Yds13 - Par 3 189 Yds
5 - Par 4 428 Yds14 - Par 4 374 Yds
6 - Par 3 182 Yds15 - Par 5 569 Yds
7 - Par 4 454 Yds16 - Par 3 223 Yds
8 - Par 5 564 Yds17 - Par 5 570 Yds
9 - Par 4 452 Yds18 - Par 4 448 Yds
36 3,691 Yds36 3,800 Yds
Annual:  14th
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday/Sunday -- 9:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  Mikael Lundberg (Won in 2008)
Runner-Up:  Jose Manuel Lara
Tournament Record:  265 (Per-Ulrik Johansson, 2007)
54-Hole Record:  197 (Benn Barham, 2002)
36-Hole Record:  129 (Iain Pyman, 2002)
18-Hole Record:  62 (Iain Pyman, 2002; David Drysdale, 2006;
  Per-Ulrik Johansson, 2007)
Course Record:  66 (Tommy Fleetwood, 2010)
Total Purse:  $1,322,246 (1,000,000 euros)
Share:  1st Place - $219,157; 2nd Place - $146,109; 3rd Place - $82,319
2008 Finish
Mikael Lundberg267Darren Fichardt273
Jose Manuel Lara269Lloyd Saltman273
Benn Barham270Jamie Moul273
Jan Are Larsen271Three players at274
David Drysdale272
Past M2M Russian Open Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2012Not Held
2011Not Held
2010Not Held
2009Not Held
2008Mikael Lundberg (267) -- Jose Manuel Lara
2007Per-Ulrik Johansson (265) -- Robert-Jan Derksen
2006Alejandro Canizares (266) -- David Drysdale
2005*Mikael Lundberg (273) -- Andrew Butterfield
2004Gary Emerson (272) -- Markus Brier
2003*Marcus Fraser (269) -- Martin Wiegele
2002Iain Pyman (269) -- Benn Barham, Guido Van Der Valk
2001Jamie Donaldson (270) -- Michael Archer, Mikael Piltz
2000Marco Bernardini (269) - Erol Simsek
1999Iain Pyman (273) -- Hennie Otto
1998Warren Bennett (270) -- Ricardo Gonzalez, Max Anglert
1997*Michele Reale (280) -- Heinz Peter Thul
1996Carl Watts (203) -- John Mellor

* - Won in Playoff

Note:Formerly called Sovereign Russian Open (1996-97), Moscow Country Club
Russian Open (1998), BMW Russian Open (1999-2004), Cadillac Russian Open (2005), Imperial Collection Russian Open (2006), Russian Open Golf Championship (2007), Inteco Russian Open Golf Championship (2008).

Top Contenders in the Field
Mikael LundbergT-11WonT-3---Won
Robert Rock---mc------T-9
Maarten Lafeber------------T-54
S.S.P. Chowrasia------------mc
Michael HoeymcT-23T-49------
Michael Campbell---------------
Simon Dyson---------------
David Horsey---------------
Soren Kjeldsen---------------
Tom Lewis---------------
Jeev Milkha Singh---------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Simon Dyson
Darkhorse - JB Hansen
Last Week's Pick to Win (C.Schwartzel, E.Els, L.Donald) - T-15, T-26, MC
Last Week's Darkhorse (H.Mahan, J.Dufner, J.Day) - T-9, T-26, T-32
NOTES:The European Tour travels to Moscow this week for the M2M Russian Open.
This is the first time this tournament will be played since 2008. Tseleevo Golf & Polo Club will host the event. The course was designed by Jack Nicklaus and opened for play in 2007. Tseleevo hosted the European Challenge Tour the last three years. Carlos Del Moral (2010), Sam Little (2011) and Alex Kaleka (2012) captured those events.

When last held in 2008, for the second time in four years, Mikael Lundberg won the Russian Open. Lundberg carded rounds of 67-64-68-68 at Le Meridien Moscow Country Club to pick up a 2-stroke win over Jose Manuel Lara. He completed his second tour title at 21-under-par 267.

In 2007, Per-Ulrik Johansson won his first European Tour title since 1997. Johansson fired rounds of 69-62-67-67 to win at 23-under-par 265. He won by six shots over Robert-Jan Derksen. The entire tournament was played using preferred lies due to rainy conditions. It marked the second straight year that the entire tournament was played using preferred lies. The win was Johansson's first since the 1997 European Open.

With the world's best golfers competing nine time zones away at the PGA Championship, Spain's Alejandro Canizares earned his first career win at this event in 2006. The son of four-time Ryder Cup player Jose Maria Canizares, Alejandro closed with a 6-under 66 and ended at 22-under-par 266 for a 4-shot victory over David Drysdale of Scotland. Finishing all four rounds with a 67 or better, Canizares became the quickest affiliate member to win on the European Tour, claiming title No. 1 in just his third start and surpassing better-known previous record holders Sergio Garcia and Graeme McDowell. Jose Maria and Alejandro Canizares became the third father/son combination to win on the European Tour, joining Antonio and Ignacio Garrido and Craig and Kevin Stadler.

In 2005, Lundberg shot four rounds in the 60s, including a 3-under 69 in the final round, and outlasted England's Andrew Butterfield in a 4-hole playoff to claim his maiden European Tour victory. It was the third playoff in event history.

The European Tour will join with the PGA Tour next week for the WGC- Bridgestone Invitational in Akron, Ohio, where Keegan Bradley captured the title last year.

07/24 09:53:03 ET

As of July 24, 2013, at 09:53 AM ET