European Golf Tour
PGA European - BMW International Open Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, June 20th through Sunday, June 23rd
SITE: Golfclub Munchen Eichenried, Munich, Germany
COURSE ARCHITECT: Kurt Rossknecht (1989)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 7,157
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 432 Yds10 - Par 4 472 Yds
2 - Par 3 227 Yds11 - Par 5 555 Yds
3 - Par 4 447 Yds12 - Par 3 153 Yds
4 - Par 4 397 Yds13 - Par 4 372 Yds
5 - Par 4 331 Yds14 - Par 4 490 Yds
6 - Par 5 546 Yds15 - Par 4 464 Yds
7 - Par 4 441 Yds16 - Par 4 319 Yds
8 - Par 3 197 Yds17 - Par 3 189 Yds
9 - Par 5 557 Yds18 - Par 5 568 Yds
36 3,575 Yds36 3,582 Yds
Annual:  25th
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday/Friday -- 9 a.m.-12:30 p.m. (et),
  - Saturday -- 8 a.m.-12 p.m. (et),
  - Sunday -- 8-11 a.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  Danny Willett
Runner-Up:  Marcus Fraser
Tournament Record:  261 (John Daly, 2001)
54-Hole Record:  194 (Padraig Harrington, 2001)
36-Hole Record:  127 (John Daly, 2001)
Course Record:  62 (David Feherty, 1989-90; Steen Tinning, Darren Clarke, 1992;
  David Park, 1999; Padraig Harrington, Jose Maria Olazabal,
  2001; Raphael Jacquelin, 2003; Simon Dyson, 2005;
  Rafa Echenique, 2009)
Total Purse:  $2,673,439 (2,000,000 euros)
Shares:  1st Place - $442,592; 2nd Place - $295,061; 3rd Place - $166,239
2012 Finish
Danny Willett *277Marcel Siem279
Marcus Fraser277Henrik Stenson279
Paul McGinley278Four players at280
G. Fernandez-Castano278
Chris Wood278

* - Won in Playoff

Past BMW International Open Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2012*Danny Willett (277) -- Marcus Fraser
2011*Pablo Larrazabal (272) -- Sergio Garcia
2010David Horsey (270) -- Ross Fisher
2009Nick Dougherty (266) -- Rafa Echenique
2008*Martin Kaymer (273) -- Anders Hansen
2007Niclas Fasth (275) -- Jose-Filipe Lima, Bernhard Langer
2006*Henrik Stenson (273) -- Padraig Harrington, Retief Goosen
2005David Howell (265) -- John Daly, Brett Rumford
2004Miguel Angel Jimenez (267) -- Thomas Levet
2003Lee Westwood (269) -- Alex Cejka
2002Thomas Bjorn (264) -- Bernhard Langer, John Bickerton
2001John Daly (261) -- Padraig Harrington
2000Thomas Bjorn (268) -- Bernhard Langer
1999Colin Montgomerie (268) -- Padraig Harrington
1998Russell Claydon (270) -- Jamie Spence
1997*Robert Karlsson (264) -- Carl Watts
1996#Marc Farry (132) -- Richard Green
1995Frank Nobilo (272) -- Bernhard Langer, Jarmo Sandelin
1994Mark McNulty (274) -- Seve Ballesteros
1993Peter Fowler (267) -- Ian Woosnam
1992*Paul Azinger (266) -- Bernhard Langer, Glen Day, Anders Forsbrand,
Mark James
1991Sandy Lyle (268) -- Tony Johnstone
1990*Paul Azinger (277) -- David Feherty
1989David Feherty (269) -- Fred Couples

* - Won in Playoff

# - Rain Shortened

Top Contenders in the Field
Danny Willett------------------T-9T-30T-24Won
Henrik StensonmcT-33---WonT-26T-6T-35---T-9T-6
Marcel SiemT-8T-75T-24T-13mcmcmcT-61T-14T-6
Ross Fisher---------mcT-2612th---2ndT-9T-8
Thomas BjornT-17mcT-22T-13mcT-48------mcT-8
Simon DysonT-3579th7thmcT-11mc------mcT-12
Niclas Fasth------T-4T-42WonT-59T-16T-55mcT-23
Pablo Larrazabal---------------T-61mcT-3WonT-29
Sergio Garcia---T-25---------------mc2ndT-29
David HowellT-11T-22WonT-4---T-43mcmcT-31T-29
Joost Luiten------------mc------T-11T-3T-38
Colin Montgomerie---T-3---T-6---T-16T-66T-36T-18T-44
Miguel A. JimenezT-17WonT-22T-47T-18mcT-4T-49T-39T-52
David Horsey---------------------WonT-18mc
Martin KaymerT-58---mc---mcWonmcT-21T-18mc
Matteo Manassero---------------------T-55T-14---
Dustin Johnson------------------------T-18---
Thorbjorn Olesen------------------------mc---
Ernie ElsT-17---------T-17------mc------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Matteo Manassero
Darkhorse - Thomas Bjorn
Last Week's Pick to Win (Shiv Kapur) - Missed the cut
Last Week's Darkhorse (Alexander Levy) - Missed the cut
The European Tour travels to Germany this week for the BMW International Open. Danny Willett will try to become the first back-to-back winner of this event and will attempt to join Thomas Bjorn and Paul Azinger as multiple champions.

Seven of the top 40 players in the world are in the field -- Sergio Garcia (15), Ernie Els (20), American Dustin Johnson (23), Matteo Manassero (27), Henrik Stenson (33), 2008 champion and German native Martin Kaymer (35), and Thorbjorn Olesen (36).

Els tied for fourth last week at the U.S. Open following a final-round 69. He has two top-10 finishes in his last three starts, including a tie for sixth at the BMW PGA Championship in May.

German legend Bernhard Langer has won every European Tour event on German soil at least once, except this one. Langer has finished second five times (1992, 95, 2000, 02 and 07). In his career, he has won 11 European Tour events on German soil.

Last year, it took four playoff holes, but Danny Willett finally collected his first European Tour title as he downed Marcus Fraser in rainy conditions. Fraser bogeyed the final hole of regulation and went into the clubhouse at 11- under-par 277. Willett, who fell back to minus-11 with a bogey on the 15th, parred his final three holes to force the playoff. On the fourth extra hole at Golf Club Gut Larchenhof, Fraser seemed to have the advantage as his second shot stopped just over 35 feet from the hole before Willett's approach soared over the green. Willett nearly holed his chip, but his ball stopped a foot from the cup. Fraser's birdie try lipped out on the left side, but rolled a few feet away. He missed the par-saver, then watched as Willett tapped in for par and the win.

In 2011, Pablo Larrazabal earned his first win since 2008, defeating Garcia with a par on the fifth playoff hole. Larrazabal was the only player in the field to shoot four rounds in the 60s, as he earned his second European Tour win.

David Horsey made two late birdies and shot a 5-under 67 in the final round in 2010 to capture his first European Tour title. Horsey overcame a 5-shot deficit on the final day to earn a 1-stroke victory over Ross Fisher at 18- under 270. The Englishman seized control of the tournament by making birdies at the 16th and 18th holes to take the lead.

Kaymer birdied the first playoff hole in 2008 to defeat Anders Hansen. Kaymer squandered a 6-shot lead heading into the final round, thanks to two balls in the water en route to a triple-bogey eight at the 11th. He birdied the 72nd hole to force the playoff, then played brilliantly on the sudden-death hole. Kaymer became the first German to win this tournament.

When John Daly carded a 66 during the final round in 2001, he captured his first title since the 1995 British Open Championship. Daly's total of 261 set a new tournament record, breaking the previous mark of 264 set by Robert Karlsson and Carl Watts in 1997. Daly also set a new 36-hole mark of 127.

Paul Azinger was the first American to capture this title in 1990 and again in 1992, with both victories coming in playoffs. There have been seven playoffs in tournament history. The only time the European Tour has witnessed a 5-man playoff was at the 1992 tournament, when Azinger prevailed against Glen Day, Anders Forsbrand, Mark James and Langer.

David Feherty captured the inaugural event in 1989, when he won by five shots for the largest winning margin in tournament history. Feherty and Sandy Lyle (1991) are the only wire-to-wire winners.

The European Tour heads to Ireland next week for The Irish Open at Carton House, where Jamie Donaldson will defend his title.

06/18 15:34:13 ET

As of June 18, 2013, at 03:34 PM ET