European Golf Tour
PGA European - Nordea Masters Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, May 30th through Sunday, June 2nd
SITE: Bro Hof Slott Golf Club (Stadium Course), Stockholm, Sweden
COURSE ARCHITECT: Robert Trent Jones, Jr. (2007)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 7,519
Hole-by-Hole1 - Par 5 606 Yds
2 - Par 4 464 Yds
3 - Par 4 431 Yds
4 - Par 3 206 Yds
5 - Par 4 469 Yds
6 - Par 4 461 Yds
7 - Par 3 164 Yds
8 - Par 4 454 Yds
9 - Par 5 592 Yds
36 3,847 Yds
10 - Par 4 483 Yds
11 - Par 3 175 Yds
12 - Par 5 548 Yds
13 - Par 5 581 Yds
14 - Par 4 455 Yds
15 - Par 5 622 Yds
16 - Par 3 212 Yds
17 - Par 3 164 Yds
18 - Par 4 432 Yds
36 3,672 Yds
Annual:  23rd
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday/Friday -- 9 a.m.-12 p.m. (et),
  - Saturday/Sunday -- 8-11:30 a.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  Lee Westwood
Runner-Up:  Ross Fisher
Tournament Record:  262 (Mark Hensby, Henrik Stenson, 2005)
54-Hole Record:  195 (Barry Lane, Bradley Dredge, 2005)
36-Hole Record:  129 (Bradley Dredge, 2005)
18-Hole Record:  61 (Fred Couples, 1991 - Drottningholm)
Course Record:  63 (Alexander Noren, 2011)
Total Purse:  $1,930,594 (1,500,000 euros)
Share:  1st Place - $320,517; 2nd Place - $213,669; 3rd Place - $120,386
2012 Finish
Lee Westwood269Joakim Lagergren276
Ross Fisher274Jeev Milkha Singh277
Sergio Garcia275Richard Sterne277
Peter Hanson275Felipe Aguilar277
Mikko Ilonen275Four players at278
Past Nordea Masters Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2012Lee Westwood (269) -- Ross Fisher
2011Alexander Noren (273) -- Richard Finch
2010Richard S. Johnson (277) -- Rafa Echenique
2009Ricardo Gonzalez (282) -- Jamie Donaldson
2008Peter Hanson (271) -- Nick Dougherty, Pelle Edberg
2007Mikko Ilonen (274) -- Nick Dougherty, Jean Baptiste-Gonnet,
Martin Kaymer, Peter Hedblom, Christian Cevaer
2006*Marc Warren (278) -- Robert Karlsson
2005*Mark Hensby (262) -- Henrik Stenson
2004Luke Donald (272) -- Peter Hanson, Henrik Stenson
2003Adam Scott (277) -- Nick Dougherty
2002Graeme McDowell (270) -- Trevor Immelman
2001Colin Montgomerie (274) -- Lee Westwood, Ian Poulter
2000Lee Westwood (270) -- Michael Campbell
1999Colin Montgomerie (268) -- Jesper Parnevik
1998Jesper Parnevik (273) -- Darren Clarke
1997Joakim Haeggman (270) -- Ignacio Garrido
1996*Lee Westwood (281) -- Paul Broadhurst, Russell Claydon
1995Jesper Parnevik (270) -- Colin Montgomerie
1994Vijay Singh (268) -- Mark McNulty
1993*Peter Baker (278) -- Anders Forsbrand
1992Nick Faldo (277) -- Jose Maria Olazabal, Frank Nobilo, Peter Baker,
Peter O'Malley, Danny Mijovic, Robert Allenby
1991Colin Montgomerie (270) -- Seve Ballesteros

* - Won in Playoff

Note:Formerly called Volvo Scandinavian Masters (1995-2002), Scandinavian
Masters by Carlsberg (2003-05), EnterCard Scandinavian Masters (2006), Scandinavian Masters (2007), SAS Masters (2008-09), Nordea Scandinavian Masters (2010).

Top Contenders in the Field
Ross Fisher---T-15---mcmc------------2nd
Peter HansonmcT-2T-72T-33T-12WonT-53T-34---T-3
Mikko Ilonenmcmcmc---WonT-20T-38mc---T-3
Alexander Norenmc---T-18T-52mcT-30mcmcWonT-10
Jamie DonaldsonT-16---17thmc---T-82ndT-8T-10T-22
R. Cabrera-Bello------------T-55---T-62T-24T-44T-47
Niclas FasthmcT-8mcT-15---T-20T-17T-41mc70th
Richard S. JohnsonT-12mc------------T-24WonT-44mc
Marc Warren---------WonmcT-30mcmcmc---
Ricardo Gonzalez------mc------mcWonT-41------
Simon Khanwd7th------T-55mcT-58---------
Paul Lawrie------------T-20mc------------
Francesco Molinari------mcT-78------------------
Matteo Manassero------------------------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Francesco Molinari
Darkhorse - James Kingston
Last Week's Pick to Win (Lee Westwood) - Finished tied for 9th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Thongchai Jaidee) - Finished tied for 40th
NOTES:The European Tour heads to Sweden this week for the Nordea Masters.
Many of the top players on the European Tour are playing at the Memorial Tournament on the PGA Tour this week in the United States. However, five of the top 50 players in the world are in the field - Peter Hanson (23), Matteo Manassero (28), Francesco Molinari (38), Jamie Donaldson (42) and Paul Lawrie (44).

The 20-year-old Manassero is coming off the biggest victory of his career last week at the flagship event on the European Tour, the BMW PGA Championship. Manassero jumped to No. 28 in the world after the win, the highest ranking of his career. He is currently second to Graeme McDowell in the Race to Dubai and has not missed a cut in 10 events on the European Tour this season.

The Swedish contingent will be led by 2008 champion Peter Hanson, 2011 champion Alexander Noren, Jonas Blixt, Kristoffer Broberg, Fredrik Andersson Hed, Johan Edfors and 2010 champion Richard S. Johnson.

Bro Hof Slott Golf Club's Stadium Course will be hosting for the fourth straight year. Opened in 2007, the venue was designed by Robert Trent Jones, Jr. The featured hole is the par-3 17th, which has an island green. Although there are several multiple-time winners of this event, no player has ever successfully defended his title.

Last year, Lee Westwood posted rounds of 68-64-68-69 and cruised to his third victory at this event. Westwood, whose first European Tour victory came here in 1996, was the only player in the field to post four rounds in the 60s and finished at 19-under 269. He won by five shots over Ross Fisher and joined Colin Montgomerie as three-time winners of this tournament.

In 2011, Noren, who led by 11 at the beginning of the final round, battled windy conditions and managed only a 5-over 77, but still won the tournament by seven strokes with a score of 15-under 273. Noren posted his second win in six events -- the third win of his career -- and became the fifth Swede to win this event in his home country. Only 15 players finished under par for the tournament.

Johnson made a long birdie putt at the 18th hole in the final round of 2010's version to win by one shot. He ended at 11-under 277, beating the clubhouse number Argentina's Rafa Echenique had set minutes earlier. The win was cheered loudly by the Swedish crowd, which threw its support behind Johnson all week. The celebration on the 18th green included Johnson's caddie leaping onto the Swede's back.

In 2008, Hanson survived a late charge from countryman Pelle Edberg in the final round to capture the title. Hanson became the first Swedish player to win since Jesper Parnevik claimed victory in 1998. It was Hanson's first win on the European Tour since the 2005 Open de Espana en Andalucia.

Mark Hensby parred the second playoff hole in 2005 to edge Henrik Stenson. Hensby picked up his first win on the European Tour, becoming the first Australian to win this event.

In 2004, Luke Donald picked up his first European Tour title here, as he defeated Hanson and Stenson by five shots. There have been four playoffs in tournament history, the last coming in 2006, when Marc Warren defeated Robert Karlsson on the first playoff hole.

On his way to a tie for sixth place in the 1991 event, Fred Couples had 12 birdies in his second round while shooting a 61 (-11), an 18-hole record at this tournament.

The European Tour travels to Austria next week for the Lyoness Open in Atzenbrugg, where Bernd Wiesberger captured the 2012 title.

05/28 17:09:16 ET

As of May 28, 2013, at 05:09 PM ET