Special Event:
TSN Info
TSN Extras

Kipsang, Kiplagat capture London Marathon titles

London, England (SportsNetwork.com) - It was a Kenya sweep at the London Marathon on Sunday. Wilson Kipsang captured the men's title, while Edna Kiplagat won the women's crown.

The 32-year-old Kipsang, the 2012 London Marathon champion, finished in a time of 2 hours, 4 minutes and 29 seconds, a course record. He is the current world record holder in the marathon with a time of 2:03:23, which he established at the 2013 Berlin Marathon.

Kenya's Stanley Biwott (2:04:55) was second, followed by 2013 champion Tsegaye Kebede of Ethiopia (2:06:30) and fellow countrymen Ayele Abshero (2:06:31) and Tsegaye Mekonnen (2:08:06).

Britain's Mo Farah (2:08:21), the current 10,000 meter Olympic and world champion and 5000 meter Olympic, World and European titlist, was eighth. American Ryan Vail was 10th (2:10:57). Stephen Kiprotich (2:11:37) of Uganda, the reigning Olympic Marathon champion, came in 12th.

On the women's side, Kipalagat, the 2012 and 2013 London runner-up, 2010 New York Marathon winner and two-time reigning world champion, crossed the finish line in 2 hours, 20 minutes and 21 seconds to top Kenya's Florence Kiplagat (2:20:04).

Three runners from Ethiopia were next in the women's results - Tirunesh Dibaba (2:20:35), Feyse Tadese (2:21:42) and Aberu Kebede (2:23:21). Tiki Gelana (2:26:58) of Ethiopia, the current Olympic champion, was ninth.

Priscah Jeptoo of Kenya, last year's women's champion, dropped out of the race early with an injury.

04/13 12:22:33 ET