Special Event:
TSN Info
TSN Extras

Kebede, Jeptoo capture London Marathon titles

London, England (Sports Network) - Tsegaye Kebede of Ethiopia won the men's London Marathon title on Sunday, while Priscah Jeptoo of Kenya captured the women's crown.

Many of the competitors wore black ribbons to honor the victims of the Boston Marathon bombings from Monday. A moment of silence was held before the start and extra security was on hand for about 36,000 runners and thousands of fans that lined the streets.

Kebede, the 2012 Chicago Marathon winner, finished Sunday in a time of 2 hours, 6 minutes and 4 seconds to win the London crown for the second time. He also captured the title in 2010 and last year finished third.

Kenya's Emmanuel Mutai was second on Sunday, 29 seconds behind the winner. He claimed the London title in 2011 and last year placed seventh.

Ayele Abshero of Ethiopia was third Sunday, crossing in a time of 2:06:57, followed by countryman Feyisa Lilesa and 2012 London champ Wilson Kipsang of Kenya. Uganda's Stephen Kiptortich, the winner of the Olympic Marathon in London last year, finished sixth.

Jeptoo won the silver medal at last year's London Olympics and was third in last year's London Marathon. On Sunday, she pulled away to win in a time of 2:20:15, well ahead of fellow Kenyan Edna Kiplagat, the 2012 London runner-up and 2010 New York Marathon winner who was 1:17 behind.

Olympic champion Tiki Gelana of Ethiopia collided with a wheelchair athlete at a drinks station and finished 16th.

04/21 10:20:28 ET