Special Event:
TSN Info
TSN Extras
2014: Chumba and Tsegaye victorious in Tokyo Marathon
Tokyo, Japan (Sports Network) - For the fifth time and third straight year, a Kenyan won the Tokyo Marathon.

This time it was Dickson Chumba, who recorded the fastest marathon in history during the month of February. His time was a personal best 2:05.41 to gain his third career marathon victory. Chumba, 27, also won the Eindhoven Marathon in 2012 and Rome Marathon in 2011.

Ethiopia's Tadese Tola finished second, followed by his countryman Sammy Kitwara.

On the women's side, Ethiopia's Tirfi Tsegaye gave her country its third straight Tokyo Marathon title. Tsegaye posted a winning time of 2:22.23. Berhane Dibaba, also of Ethiopia, finished second, just .07 seconds behind Tsegaye. Lucy Kabuu of Kenya was third.

It was Tsegaye's four career marathon victory. She won the Dubai Marathon in January 2013 and has been a winner at Paris, Shanghai and Porto.
Tokyo Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountries

Kipsang, Kiplagat capture London Marathon titles
London, England (Sports Network) - It was a Kenya sweep at the London Marathon on Sunday. Wilson Kipsang captured the men's title, while Edna Kiplagat won the women's crown.

The 32-year-old Kipsang, the 2012 London Marathon champion, finished in a time of 2 hours, 4 minutes and 29 seconds, a course record. He is the current world record holder in the marathon with a time of 2:03:23, which he established at the 2013 Berlin Marathon.

Kenya's Stanley Biwott (2:04:55) was second, followed by 2013 champion Tsegaye Kebede of Ethiopia (2:06:30) and fellow countrymen Ayele Abshero (2:06:31) and Tsegaye Mekonnen (2:08:06).  continue>>

London Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountriesUSA: MW

Jeptoo, Keflezighi win Boston Marathon titles
Boston, MA (Sports Network) - Kenya's Rita Jeptoo claimed her second straight Boston Marathon title on Monday and Meb Keflezighi became the first American male to win the oldest marathon in 31 years.

Jeptoo crossed the finish line in a course record time of 2 hours, 18 minutes and 57 seconds, shattering the previous mark of 2:20:43 set by Kenya's Margaret Okayo in 2002.

It was the third Boston Marathon victory for Jeptoo, as she first claimed the title in 2006. Six others have also won at least three Boston titles and only fellow Kenyan Catherine Ndereba has four.

Keflezighi then held off Kenya's Wilson Chebet to capture the men's crown, finishing in 2:08:37. He won the New York City Marathon in 2009 and became the first American winner in Boston since Greg Meyer in 1983.  continue>>

Boston Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountry | USA: MW

2013: Kenyans Kipsang, Kiplagat win Berlin titles
Berlin, Germany (Sports Network) - Kenyans Wilson Kipsang and Florence Kiplagat were the winners Sunday at the Berlin Marathon.

Kipsang took the men's crown in a record time off 2 hours, 3 minutes and 23 seconds, shaving 15 seconds off the previous mark of 2:03:38 set by countryman Patrick Makau in 2011.

Kiplagat won the women's title for the second time in three years. She crossed the line Sunday in a time of 2:21:13, finishing a minute and 15 seconds ahead of fellow Kenyan Sharon Cherop, the 2012 Boston Marathon winner. Germany's Irina Mikitenko, the 2008 Berlin winner, was a distant third.  continue>>

Berlin Marathon:  Route | Winners:MWCountriesUSA: MW

2013: Kimetto, Jeptoo win Chicago Marathon
Chicago, IL (Sports Network) - Kenya's Dennis Kimetto captured the men's title at the Chicago Marathon on Sunday, while countrymate Rita Jeptoo won the women's crown.

Kimetto set a course record with a time of 2 hours, 3 minutes and 45 seconds, eclipsing the old mark of 2:04:38 set last year by Tsegaye Kebede of Ethiopia. It marked the third straight year a new record was set at Chicago, as Kenya's Moses Mosop had set a mark of 2:05:37 in 2011.

Kimetto, who won the Tokyo Marathon earlier this year, edged fellow Kenyan Emmanuel Mutai by seven seconds on Sunday, while two more Kenyans rounded out the top four. Sammy Kitwara finished third at 2:05:16, followed by Micah Kogo at 2:06:56. Mosop was eighth on Sunday.  continue>>

Chicago Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountries | USA: MW

New York City Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountries | USA: MW

New York City Marathon Winners - Men's Division
2013 Geoffrey Mutai 32 Kenya 2:08:24
2012 Canceled
2011 Geoffrey Mutai 30 Kenya 2:05:05
2010 Gebre Gebrmariam 26 Ethiopia 2:08:14
2009 Meb Keflezighi 34 USA (CA) 2:09:15
2008 Marilson Gomes de Santos 31 Brazil 2:08:43
2007 Martin Lei 29 Kenya 2:09:04
2006 Marilson Gomes de Santos 29 Brazil 2:09:58
2005 Paul Tergat 36 Kenya 2:09:30
2004 Hendrik Raamala 32 South Africa 2:09:28
2003 Martin Lei 25 Kenya 2:10:30
2002 Rodgers Rop 26 Kenya 2:08:07
2001 Tesfaye Jifar 25 Ethiopia 2:07:43
2000 Abdelkhader El Mouaziz 31 Morocco 2:10:09
1999 Joseph Chebet 29 Kenya 2:09:14
1998 John Kagwe 29 Kenya 2:08:45
1997 John Kagwe 28 Kenya 2:08:12
1996 Giacomo Leone 25 Italy 2:09:54
1995 German Silva 27 Mexico 2:11:00
1994 German Silva 26 Mexico 2:11:21
1993 Andres Espinosa 30 Mexico 2:10:04
1992 Willie Mtolo 28 South Africa 2:09:29
1991 Salvador Garcia 31 Mexico 2:09:28
1990 Douglas Wakiihuri 27 Kenya 2:12:39
1989 Juma Ikangaa 29 Tanzania 2:08:01
1988 Steve Jones 33 Great Britain 2:08:20
1987 Ibrahim Hussein 29 USA (NM) 2:11:01
1986 Gianni Poli 28 Italy 2:11:06
1985 Orlando Pizzolato 27 Italy 2:11:34
1984 Orlando Pizzolato 26 Italy 2:14:53
1983 Rod Dixon 33 USA (PA) 2:08:59
1982 Alberto Salazar 24 USA (OR) 2:09:29
1981 Alberto Salazar 23 USA (OR) 2:08:13
1980 Alberto Salazer 22 USA (MA) 2:09:41
1979 Bill Rodgers 31 USA (MA) 2:11:42
1978 Bill Rodgers 30 USA (MA) 2:12:11
1977 Bill Rodgers 29 USA (MA) 2:11:20
1976 Bill Rodgers 28 USA (MA) 2:10:09
1975 Tom Fleming 24 USA (NY) 2:19:27
1974 Norbert Sander 32 USA (NY) 2:26:30
1973 Tom Fleming 22 USA (NY) 2:21:54
1972 Robert Karlin 22 USA (MD) 2:27:52
1971 Norm Higgins 35 USA (CT) 2:22:54
1970 Gary Muhrcke 30 USA (NY) 2:31:39
Standings (Men)Standings (Women)Fastest

2014-14 World Marathon Championship - Leaderboard (Men)
1 Lelisa Desisa    Ethiopia 40
2 Tsegaye Kebede    Ethiopia 30
T3 Dennis Kimetto    Kenya 25
T3 Stephen Kiprotich    Uganda 25
T5 Michael Kipyego    Kenya 15
T5 Micah Kogo    Kenya 15
T5 Emmanuel Mutai    Kenya 15
T8 Ayele Absero    Ethiopia 10
T8 Gebreghziabher Gebremairiam    Ethiopia 10
T8 Bernard Kipyego    Kenya 10
The World Marathon Majors is a series consisting of six of the largest and most renowned marathons in the world: Tokyo Marathon, Virgin London Marathon, Boston Marathon, BMW Berlin Marathon, Bank of America Chicago Marathon and ING New York City Marathon. In creating the World Marathon Majors, the organizers of these six races recognized an opportunity to advance the sport, raise awareness of its athletes and increase the level of interest in elite racing among running enthusiasts.

The total score for each athlete in a series will consist of points earned from a maximum of four Qualifying Races during that two-year cycle. To be eligible for the jackpot, an athlete must compete in a minimum of one Qualifying Race during each year of the series.

1st place - 25 points
2nd place - 15 points
3rd place - 10 points
4th place - 5 points
5th place - 1 point

Other News
· Johnson to start for Auburn in season opener

· NCAA COO Isch to retire

· South Korea beats Chicago in LLWS final

More News