2014: Chumba, Tsegaye victorious in Tokyo
Tokyo, Japan (SportsNetwork.com) - For the fifth time and third straight year, a Kenyan won the Tokyo Marathon.

This time it was Dickson Chumba, who recorded the fastest marathon in history during the month of February. His time was a personal best 2:05.41 to gain his third career marathon victory. Chumba, 27, also won the Eindhoven Marathon in 2012 and Rome Marathon in 2011.

Ethiopia's Tadese Tola finished second, followed by his countryman Sammy Kitwara.

On the women's side, Ethiopia's Tirfi Tsegaye gave her country its third straight Tokyo Marathon title. Tsegaye posted a winning time of 2:22.23. Berhane Dibaba, also of Ethiopia, finished second, just .07 seconds behind Tsegaye. Lucy Kabuu of Kenya was third.

It was Tsegaye's four career marathon victory. She won the Dubai Marathon in January 2013 and has been a winner at Paris, Shanghai and Porto.
Tokyo Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountries

Kipsang, Kiplagat capture London Marathon titles
London, England (SportsNetwork.com) - It was a Kenya sweep at the London Marathon on Sunday. Wilson Kipsang captured the men's title, while Edna Kiplagat won the women's crown.

The 32-year-old Kipsang, the 2012 London Marathon champion, finished in a time of 2 hours, 4 minutes and 29 seconds, a course record. He is the current world record holder in the marathon with a time of 2:03:23, which he established at the 2013 Berlin Marathon.

Kenya's Stanley Biwott (2:04:55) was second, followed by 2013 champion Tsegaye Kebede of Ethiopia (2:06:30) and fellow countrymen Ayele Abshero (2:06:31) and Tsegaye Mekonnen (2:08:06).  continue>>

London Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountriesUSA: MW

Jeptoo, Keflezighi win Boston Marathon titles
Boston, MA (Sports Network) - Kenya's Rita Jeptoo claimed her second straight Boston Marathon title on Monday and Meb Keflezighi became the first American male to win the oldest marathon in 31 years.

Jeptoo crossed the finish line in a course record time of 2 hours, 18 minutes and 57 seconds, shattering the previous mark of 2:20:43 set by Kenya's Margaret Okayo in 2002.

It was the third Boston Marathon victory for Jeptoo, as she first claimed the title in 2006. Six others have also won at least three Boston titles and only fellow Kenyan Catherine Ndereba has four.

Keflezighi then held off Kenya's Wilson Chebet to capture the men's crown, finishing in 2:08:37. He won the New York City Marathon in 2009 and became the first American winner in Boston since Greg Meyer in 1983.  continue>>

Boston Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountry | USA: MW

Kimetto, Tsegaye win Berlin Marathon titles
Berlin, Germany (SportsNetwork.com) - Dennis Kimetto of Kenya and Ethiopia's Tirfi Tsegaye won the titles at the Berlin Marathon on Sunday.

Kimetto finished in a time of 2 hours, 2 minutes and 57 seconds, setting a world record while becoming the first man to break the 2-hour, 3-minute mark. The old record was 2:03:23 by Kenya's Wilson Kipsang last year in Berlin.

Fellow Kenyan Emmanuel Mutai finished 16 seconds behind Kimetto, as the two mirrored their finish at the 2013 Chicago Marathon. It was a two-man race, as Ethiopia's Abera Kuma was 2:59 behind the winner in third.  continue>>

Berlin Marathon:  Route | Winners:MWCountriesUSA: MW

Chicago Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountries | USA: MW

Chicago Marathon - Top American Men Finishers
2012 Dathan Ritzenhein Oregon 2:07:47 9
2011 Ryan Hall Washington 2:08:04 5
2010 Jason Hartmann Illinois 2:11:06 8
2009 Sergio D. Reyes California 2:15:30 8
2008 Mike Reneau Wyoming 2:16:20 7
2007 Michael Cox West Virginia 2:21:42 8
2006 Abdi Abdirahman Arizona 2:08:56 4
2005 Alan Culpepper Colorado 2:13:20 12
2004 Khalid Khannouchi New York 2:08:44 5
2003 Mebrahtom Keflezighi California 2:10:03 7
2002 Khalid Khannouchi New York 2:05:56 1
2001 Rod DeHaven Wisconsin 2:11:40 6
2000 Khalid Khannouchi New York 2:07:01 1
1999 David Morris New Mexico 2:09:32 4
1998 Rod Dehaven Wisconsin 2;13:02 16
1997 Jerry Lawson Florida 2:09:35 7
1996 Jerry Lawson Florida 2:10:04 2
1995 Eric Ashton South Carolina 2:20:18 21
1994 Ed Eyestone Utah 2:11:51 2
1993 Jeff Jacobs Illinois 2:16:00 6
1992 Steve Fader Ohio 2:25:00 13
1991 David Mora Indiana 2:15:44 4
1990 Ed Eyestone Utah 2:10:59 5
1989 Ed Eyestone Utah 2:14:57 4
1988 Budd Coates Pennsylvania 2:14:58 16
1987 No Race -
1986 Bill Rodgers Massachusetts 2:15:31 11
1985 Don Janicki Arizona 2:11:16 7
1984 Paul Cummings Utah 2:15:29 14
1983 Tom Raunig Oregon 2:12:55 7
1982 Greg Meyer Massachusetts 2:10:59 1
1981 Phil Coppess Iowa 2:16:13 1
1980 Frank Richardson Iowa 2:14:04 1
1979 Dan Cloeter Indiana 2:23:20 1
1978 Mark Stanforth South Dakota 2:19:20 1
1977 Dan Cloeter Indiana 2:17:52 1
Kipsang, Keitany win titles
New York, NY (SportsNetwork.com) - Kenyans Wilson Kipsang and Mary Keitany captured the New York City Marathon titles on Sunday.

Kipsang, in his New York debut, won the men's crown with a time of 2 hours, 10 minutes and 59 seconds, beating Ethiopia's Lelisa Desisa to the finish line by just 6.99 seconds.

The victory, on a day that featured strong winds and cold conditions, gave Kipsang a $500,000 bonus for winning the 2013-14 World Marathon Majors title.  continue>>

New York City Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountries | USA: MW

Standings (Men)Standings (Women)Fastest

2014-14 World Marathon Championship - Leaderboard (Men)
1 Lelisa Desisa    Ethiopia 40
2 Tsegaye Kebede    Ethiopia 30
T3 Dennis Kimetto    Kenya 25
T3 Stephen Kiprotich    Uganda 25
T5 Michael Kipyego    Kenya 15
T5 Micah Kogo    Kenya 15
T5 Emmanuel Mutai    Kenya 15
T8 Ayele Absero    Ethiopia 10
T8 Gebreghziabher Gebremairiam    Ethiopia 10
T8 Bernard Kipyego    Kenya 10
The World Marathon Majors is a series consisting of six of the largest and most renowned marathons in the world: Tokyo Marathon, Virgin London Marathon, Boston Marathon, BMW Berlin Marathon, Bank of America Chicago Marathon and ING New York City Marathon. In creating the World Marathon Majors, the organizers of these six races recognized an opportunity to advance the sport, raise awareness of its athletes and increase the level of interest in elite racing among running enthusiasts.

The total score for each athlete in a series will consist of points earned from a maximum of four Qualifying Races during that two-year cycle. To be eligible for the jackpot, an athlete must compete in a minimum of one Qualifying Race during each year of the series.

1st place - 25 points
2nd place - 15 points
3rd place - 10 points
4th place - 5 points
5th place - 1 point
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments | SportsNetworkdata.com