Special Event:
TSN Info
TSN Extras
2014: Chumba and Tsegaye victorious in Tokyo Marathon
Tokyo, Japan (Sports Network) - For the fifth time and third straight year, a Kenyan won the Tokyo Marathon.

This time it was Dickson Chumba, who recorded the fastest marathon in history during the month of February. His time was a personal best 2:05.41 to gain his third career marathon victory. Chumba, 27, also won the Eindhoven Marathon in 2012 and Rome Marathon in 2011.

Ethiopia's Tadese Tola finished second, followed by his countryman Sammy Kitwara.

On the women's side, Ethiopia's Tirfi Tsegaye gave her country its third straight Tokyo Marathon title. Tsegaye posted a winning time of 2:22.23. Berhane Dibaba, also of Ethiopia, finished second, just .07 seconds behind Tsegaye. Lucy Kabuu of Kenya was third.

It was Tsegaye's four career marathon victory. She won the Dubai Marathon in January 2013 and has been a winner at Paris, Shanghai and Porto.
Tokyo Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountries

Kipsang, Kiplagat capture London Marathon titles
London, England (Sports Network) - It was a Kenya sweep at the London Marathon on Sunday. Wilson Kipsang captured the men's title, while Edna Kiplagat won the women's crown.

The 32-year-old Kipsang, the 2012 London Marathon champion, finished in a time of 2 hours, 4 minutes and 29 seconds, a course record. He is the current world record holder in the marathon with a time of 2:03:23, which he established at the 2013 Berlin Marathon.

Kenya's Stanley Biwott (2:04:55) was second, followed by 2013 champion Tsegaye Kebede of Ethiopia (2:06:30) and fellow countrymen Ayele Abshero (2:06:31) and Tsegaye Mekonnen (2:08:06).  continue>>

London Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountriesUSA: MW

Boston Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountry | USA: MW

Boston Marathon Champions (Women's Division)
2014Rita Jeptoo2:18:57Kenya
2013Rita Jeptoo2:26.25Kenya
2012Sharon Cherop2:31:50Kenya
2011Caroline Kilel2:22:36Kenya
2010Teyba Erkesso2:26:11Ethiopia
2009Salina Kosgei2:32:16Kenya
2008Dire Tune2:25:25Ethiopia
2007Lidiya Grigoryeva2:29:18Russia
2006Rita Jeptoo2:23:38Kenya
2005Catherine Ndereba2:25:13Kenya
2004Catherine Ndereba2:24:27Kenya
2003Svetlana Zakharova2:25:20Russia
2002Margaret Okayo2:20:43Kenya
2001Catherine Ndereba2:23:53Kenya
2000Catherine Ndereba2:26:11Kenya
1999Fatuma Roba2:23:25Ethiopia
1998Fatuma Roba2:23:21Ethiopia
1997Fatuma Roba2:26:23Ethiopia
1996Uta Pippig2:27:12Germany
1995Uta Pippig2:25:11Germany
1994Uta Pippig2:21:45Germany
1993Olga Markova2:25:27Russia
1992Olga Markova2:23:43Russia
1991Wanda Panfil2:24:18Poland
1990Rosa Mota2:25:24Portugal
1989Ingrid Kristiansen2:24:33Norway
1988Rosa Mota2:24:30Portugal
1987Rosa Mota2:25:21Portugal
1986Ingrid Kristiansen2:24:55Norway
1985Lisa Larsen Weidenbach2:34:06USA (Michigan)
1984Lorraine Moller2:29:28New Zealand
1983Joan Benoit2:22:43USA (Massachusetts)
1982Charlotte Teske2:29:33West Germany
1981Allison Roe2:26:46New Zealand
1980Jacqueline Gareau2:34:28Canada
1979Joan Benoit2:35:15USA (Maine)
1978Gayle S. Barron2:44:52USA (Georgia)
1977Michiko Gorman2:48:33USA (California)
1976Kim Merritt2:47:10USA (Wisconsin)
1975Liane Winter2:42:24West Germany
1974Michiko Gorman2:47:11USA (California)
1973Jacqueline Hansen3:05:47USA (California)
1972Nina Kuscsik3:10:26USA (New York)
1971* Sara Mae Berman3:08:30USA (Massachusetts)
1970* Sara Mae Berman3:05:07USA (Massachusetts)
1969* Sara Mae Berman3:22:46USA (Massachusetts)
1968* Roberta Gibb3:30:00USA (California)
1967* Roberta Gibb3:27:17USA (California)
1966* Roberta Gibb3:31:40USA (Massachusetts)
Key: * - Race Was Unofficial
2013: Kenyans Kipsang, Kiplagat win Berlin titles
Berlin, Germany (Sports Network) - Kenyans Wilson Kipsang and Florence Kiplagat were the winners Sunday at the Berlin Marathon.

Kipsang took the men's crown in a record time off 2 hours, 3 minutes and 23 seconds, shaving 15 seconds off the previous mark of 2:03:38 set by countryman Patrick Makau in 2011.

Kiplagat won the women's title for the second time in three years. She crossed the line Sunday in a time of 2:21:13, finishing a minute and 15 seconds ahead of fellow Kenyan Sharon Cherop, the 2012 Boston Marathon winner. Germany's Irina Mikitenko, the 2008 Berlin winner, was a distant third.  continue>>

Berlin Marathon:  Route | Winners:MWCountriesUSA: MW

2013: Kimetto, Jeptoo win Chicago Marathon
Chicago, IL (Sports Network) - Kenya's Dennis Kimetto captured the men's title at the Chicago Marathon on Sunday, while countrymate Rita Jeptoo won the women's crown.

Kimetto set a course record with a time of 2 hours, 3 minutes and 45 seconds, eclipsing the old mark of 2:04:38 set last year by Tsegaye Kebede of Ethiopia. It marked the third straight year a new record was set at Chicago, as Kenya's Moses Mosop had set a mark of 2:05:37 in 2011.

Kimetto, who won the Tokyo Marathon earlier this year, edged fellow Kenyan Emmanuel Mutai by seven seconds on Sunday, while two more Kenyans rounded out the top four. Sammy Kitwara finished third at 2:05:16, followed by Micah Kogo at 2:06:56. Mosop was eighth on Sunday.  continue>>

Chicago Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountries | USA: MW

2013: Mutai, Jeptoo win NYC titles
New York, NY (Sports Network) - Geoffrey Mutai of Kenya captured the men's title at the New York City Marathon on Sunday, while countrymate Priscah Jeptoo claimed the women's crown.

Mutai also won the men's title in 2011, making him the first man to win consecutive NYC Marathon crowns since John Kagwe of Kenya in 1997 and '98.

Of course, last year's marathon was canceled in the aftermath of Superstorm Sandy and more than 45,000 runners took the course on Sunday.  continue>>

New York City Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountries | USA: MW

Standings (Men)Standings (Women)Fastest

2014-14 World Marathon Championship - Leaderboard (Men)
1 Lelisa Desisa    Ethiopia 40
2 Tsegaye Kebede    Ethiopia 30
T3 Dennis Kimetto    Kenya 25
T3 Stephen Kiprotich    Uganda 25
T5 Michael Kipyego    Kenya 15
T5 Micah Kogo    Kenya 15
T5 Emmanuel Mutai    Kenya 15
T8 Ayele Absero    Ethiopia 10
T8 Gebreghziabher Gebremairiam    Ethiopia 10
T8 Bernard Kipyego    Kenya 10
The World Marathon Majors is a series consisting of six of the largest and most renowned marathons in the world: Tokyo Marathon, Virgin London Marathon, Boston Marathon, BMW Berlin Marathon, Bank of America Chicago Marathon and ING New York City Marathon. In creating the World Marathon Majors, the organizers of these six races recognized an opportunity to advance the sport, raise awareness of its athletes and increase the level of interest in elite racing among running enthusiasts.

The total score for each athlete in a series will consist of points earned from a maximum of four Qualifying Races during that two-year cycle. To be eligible for the jackpot, an athlete must compete in a minimum of one Qualifying Race during each year of the series.

1st place - 25 points
2nd place - 15 points
3rd place - 10 points
4th place - 5 points
5th place - 1 point

Other News
· Johnson to start for Auburn in season opener

· NCAA COO Isch to retire

· South Korea beats Chicago in LLWS final

More News