2014: Chumba, Tsegaye victorious in Tokyo
Tokyo, Japan (SportsNetwork.com) - For the fifth time and third straight year, a Kenyan won the Tokyo Marathon.

This time it was Dickson Chumba, who recorded the fastest marathon in history during the month of February. His time was a personal best 2:05.41 to gain his third career marathon victory. Chumba, 27, also won the Eindhoven Marathon in 2012 and Rome Marathon in 2011.

Ethiopia's Tadese Tola finished second, followed by his countryman Sammy Kitwara.

On the women's side, Ethiopia's Tirfi Tsegaye gave her country its third straight Tokyo Marathon title. Tsegaye posted a winning time of 2:22.23. Berhane Dibaba, also of Ethiopia, finished second, just .07 seconds behind Tsegaye. Lucy Kabuu of Kenya was third.

It was Tsegaye's four career marathon victory. She won the Dubai Marathon in January 2013 and has been a winner at Paris, Shanghai and Porto.
Tokyo Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountries

Kipsang, Kiplagat capture London Marathon titles
London, England (SportsNetwork.com) - It was a Kenya sweep at the London Marathon on Sunday. Wilson Kipsang captured the men's title, while Edna Kiplagat won the women's crown.

The 32-year-old Kipsang, the 2012 London Marathon champion, finished in a time of 2 hours, 4 minutes and 29 seconds, a course record. He is the current world record holder in the marathon with a time of 2:03:23, which he established at the 2013 Berlin Marathon.

Kenya's Stanley Biwott (2:04:55) was second, followed by 2013 champion Tsegaye Kebede of Ethiopia (2:06:30) and fellow countrymen Ayele Abshero (2:06:31) and Tsegaye Mekonnen (2:08:06).  continue>>

London Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountriesUSA: MW

Boston Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountry | USA: MW

Boston Marathon American Champions (Women)
2013Race Cancelled
2012Sheri L. PiersMaine2:41:5510
2011Desiree DavilaMichigan2:22:382
2010Paige HigginsArizona2:36:0013
2009Kara GoucherOregon2:32:253
2008Ashley A. AnklamMinnesota2:48:4315
2007Deena KastorCalifornia2:35:095
2006Emily R. LevanMaine2:37:0113
2005Carly E. GraytockMichigan2:34:5112
2004Ramilia BurangulovaFlorida2:34:089
2003Marla RunyanOregon2:30:285
2002Jill GaitenbyRhode Island2:38:5513
2001Jill GaitenbyRhode Island2:36:4514
2000Maria Trujillo-de RiosCalifornia2:42:2418
1999Lynn JenningsNew Hampshire2:38:3712
1998Mary-Lynn CurrierMassachusetts2:35:1811
1997Kim JonesWashington2:32:529
1996Lorraine HochellaVirginia2:41:3823
1995Linda SomersCalifornia2:34:3011
1994Kim JonesWashington2:31:468
1993Kim JonesWashington2:30:002
1992Jane WeizelColorado2:36:2110
1991Kim JonesWashington2:26:403
1990Maria TrujilloArizona2:28:533
1989Kim JonesWashington2:29:343
1988Gillian BeschlossNew York2:40:0810
1987Leatric A. HayerMasschusetts2:37:588
1986Julie IsphordingOhio2:33:406
1985Lisa Larsen WeidenbachMichigan2:34:061
1984Midde HamrinTexas2:33:532
1983Joan BenoitMassachusetts2:22:431
1982Eileen ClaugusCalifornia2:38:483
1981Patti CatalanoMassachusetts2:27:522
1980Patti LyonsMassachuetts2:35:082
1979Joan BenoitMaine2:35:151
1978Gayle S. BarronGeorgia2:44:521
1977Michiko GormanCalifornia2:48:331
1976Kim MerrittWisconsin2:47:101
1975Kathrine SwitzerNew York2:51:262
1974Michiko GormanCalifornia2:47:111
1973Jacqueline HansenCalifornia3:05:591
1972Nina KuscsikNew York3:10:261
1971* Sara Mae BermanMassachusetts3:08:301
1970* Sara Mae BermanMassachusetts3:05:071
1969* Sara Mae BermanMassachusetts3:22:461
1968* Roberta GibbCalifornia3:30:301
1967* Roberta GibbCalifornia3:27:171
1966* Roberta GibbMassachusetts3:31:401
Key: * - Race Was Unofficial
Kimetto, Tsegaye win Berlin Marathon titles
Berlin, Germany (SportsNetwork.com) - Dennis Kimetto of Kenya and Ethiopia's Tirfi Tsegaye won the titles at the Berlin Marathon on Sunday.

Kimetto finished in a time of 2 hours, 2 minutes and 57 seconds, setting a world record while becoming the first man to break the 2-hour, 3-minute mark. The old record was 2:03:23 by Kenya's Wilson Kipsang last year in Berlin.

Fellow Kenyan Emmanuel Mutai finished 16 seconds behind Kimetto, as the two mirrored their finish at the 2013 Chicago Marathon. It was a two-man race, as Ethiopia's Abera Kuma was 2:59 behind the winner in third.  continue>>

Berlin Marathon:  Route | Winners:MWCountriesUSA: MW

Kipchoge, Jeptoo win titles
Chicago, IL (SportsNetwork.com) - Kenya's Eliud Kipchoge captured the men's title at the Chicago Marathon on Sunday, while countrymate Rita Jeptoo won the women's crown for a second consecutive year.

Kipchoge finished in a time of 2 hours, 4 minutes and 11 seconds to edge Sammy Kitwara by 17 seconds. Dickson Chumba completed the 1-2-3 Kenyan finish by coming in third place, four seconds slower than Kitwara.

It was the first major marathon win for Kipchoge, who captured two Olympic medals in the 5,000 meters.  continue>>

Chicago Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountries | USA: MW

Kipsang, Keitany win titles
New York, NY (SportsNetwork.com) - Kenyans Wilson Kipsang and Mary Keitany captured the New York City Marathon titles on Sunday.

Kipsang, in his New York debut, won the men's crown with a time of 2 hours, 10 minutes and 59 seconds, beating Ethiopia's Lelisa Desisa to the finish line by just 6.99 seconds.

The victory, on a day that featured strong winds and cold conditions, gave Kipsang a $500,000 bonus for winning the 2013-14 World Marathon Majors title.  continue>>

New York City Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountries | USA: MW

Standings (Men)Standings (Women)Fastest

2014-14 World Marathon Championship - Leaderboard (Men)
1 Lelisa Desisa    Ethiopia 40
2 Tsegaye Kebede    Ethiopia 30
T3 Dennis Kimetto    Kenya 25
T3 Stephen Kiprotich    Uganda 25
T5 Michael Kipyego    Kenya 15
T5 Micah Kogo    Kenya 15
T5 Emmanuel Mutai    Kenya 15
T8 Ayele Absero    Ethiopia 10
T8 Gebreghziabher Gebremairiam    Ethiopia 10
T8 Bernard Kipyego    Kenya 10
The World Marathon Majors is a series consisting of six of the largest and most renowned marathons in the world: Tokyo Marathon, Virgin London Marathon, Boston Marathon, BMW Berlin Marathon, Bank of America Chicago Marathon and ING New York City Marathon. In creating the World Marathon Majors, the organizers of these six races recognized an opportunity to advance the sport, raise awareness of its athletes and increase the level of interest in elite racing among running enthusiasts.

The total score for each athlete in a series will consist of points earned from a maximum of four Qualifying Races during that two-year cycle. To be eligible for the jackpot, an athlete must compete in a minimum of one Qualifying Race during each year of the series.

1st place - 25 points
2nd place - 15 points
3rd place - 10 points
4th place - 5 points
5th place - 1 point
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments | SportsNetworkdata.com