Kimetto, Kebede surge to wins at Tokyo Marathon
Tokyo, Japan (Sports Network) - Dennis Kipruto Kimetto led a Kenyan sweep for the men at the Tokyo Marathon Sunday.

The event is now one of six World Marathon Majors, joining races in Boston, London, Berlin, Chicago and New York.

Kimetto finished the race in 2 hours, 6 minutes, 50 seconds. That was eight seconds ahead of fellow countryman and defending champion Michael Kipkorir Kipyego. Kenya's Bernard Kiprop Kipyego was third.  continue>>
Tokyo Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountries

Deadly blasts rock Boston
Boston, MA (Sports Network) - Police say at least three people have been killed in the explosions near the finish line of the Boston Marathon.

The two blasts marred Patriots' Day in Boston, transforming a celebratory atmosphere during one of the most prestigious races into a chaotic scene.

Police commissioner Edward Davis confirmed at a news conference that, at 2:50 p.m. ET, there were simultaneous explosions along the route of the Boston Marathon. "These explosions occurred 50 to 100 yards apart and each scene resulted in multiple casualties," Davis said.  continue>>

Boston Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountry | USA: MW

Kebede, Jeptoo capture London Marathon titles
London, England (Sports Network) - Tsegaye Kebede of Ethiopia won the men's London Marathon title on Sunday, while Priscah Jeptoo of Kenya captured the women's crown.

Many of the competitors wore black ribbons to honor the victims of the Boston Marathon bombings from Monday. A moment of silence was held before the start and extra security was on hand for about 36,000 runners and thousands of fans that lined the streets.

Kebede, the 2012 Chicago Marathon winner, finished Sunday in a time of 2 hours, 6 minutes and 4 seconds to win the London crown for the second time. He also captured the title in 2010 and last year finished third.  continue>>

London Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountriesUSA: MW

Kenyans Kipsang, Kiplagat win Berlin titles
Berlin, Germany (Sports Network) - Kenyans Wilson Kipsang and Florence Kiplagat were the winners Sunday at the Berlin Marathon.

Kipsang took the men's crown in a record time off 2 hours, 3 minutes and 23 seconds, shaving 15 seconds off the previous mark of 2:03:38 set by countryman Patrick Makau in 2011.

Kiplagat won the women's title for the second time in three years. She crossed the line Sunday in a time of 2:21:13, finishing a minute and 15 seconds ahead of fellow Kenyan Sharon Cherop, the 2012 Boston Marathon winner. Germany's Irina Mikitenko, the 2008 Berlin winner, was a distant third.  continue>>

Berlin Marathon:  Route | Winners:MWCountriesUSA: MW

Chicago Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountries | USA: MW

Chicago Marathon - Men's Open Champions
2012 Tsegaye Kebede Ethiopia 2:04:38
2011 Moses Mosop Kenya 2:05:37
2010 Sammy Wanjiru Kenya 2:06:24
2009 Sammy Wanjiru Kenya 2:05:41
2008 Evans Cheruiyot Kenya 2:06:25
2007 Patrick Ivuti Kenya 2:11:11
2006 Robert K. Cherulyot Kenya 2:07:35
2005 Felix Limo Kenya 2:07:02
2004 Evans Rutto Kenya 2:06:16
2003 Evans Rutto Kenya 2:05:50
2002 Khalid Khannouchi United States 2:05:56
2001 Ben Kimondiu Kenya 2:08:52
2000 Khalid Khannouchi United States 2:07:01
1999 Khalid Khannouchi Morocco 2:05:42
1998 Ondoro Osoro Kenya 2:06:54
1997 Khalid Khannouchi Morocco 2:07:10
1996 Paul Evans United Kingdom 2:08:52
1995 Eamonn Martin United Kingdom 2:11:18
1994 Luiz Antonio Dos Santos Brazil 2:11:16
1993 Luiz Antonio Dos Santos Brazil 2:13:14
1992 Jose Cesar De Souza Brazil 2:16:14
1991 Joseiido Rocha Brazil 2:14:33
1990 Martin Pitayo Mexico 2:09:41
1989 Paul Davis-Hale United Kingdom 2:11:25
1988 Alejandro Cruz Mexico 2:08:57
1987 No Race
1986 Toshihiko Seko Japan 2:08:27
1985 Steve Jones United Kingdom 2:07:13
1984 Steve Jones United Kingdom 2;08:05
1983 Joseph Nzau Kenya 2:09:44
1982 Greg Meyer United States 2:10:59
1981 Phil Coppess United States 2:16:13
1980 Frank Richardson United States 2:14:04
1979 Dan Cloeter United States 2:23.20
1978 Mark Stanforth United States 2:19.20
1977 Dan Cloeter United States 2;17.52
Mutai, Jeptoo win NYC titles
New York, NY (Sports Network) - Geoffrey Mutai of Kenya captured the men's title at the New York City Marathon on Sunday, while countrymate Priscah Jeptoo claimed the women's crown.

Mutai also won the men's title in 2011, making him the first man to win consecutive NYC Marathon crowns since John Kagwe of Kenya in 1997 and '98.

Of course, last year's marathon was canceled in the aftermath of Superstorm Sandy and more than 45,000 runners took the course on Sunday.  continue>>

New York City Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountries | USA: MW

Standings (Men)Standings (Women)Fastest

2013-14 World Marathon Championship - Leaderboard (Men)
1 Lelisa Desisa    Ethiopia 40
2 Tsegaye Kebede    Ethiopia 30
T3 Dennis Kimetto    Kenya 25
T3 Stephen Kiprotich    Uganda 25
T5 Michael Kipyego    Kenya 15
T5 Micah Kogo    Kenya 15
T5 Emmanuel Mutai    Kenya 15
T8 Ayele Absero    Ethiopia 10
T8 Gebreghziabher Gebremairiam    Ethiopia 10
T8 Bernard Kipyego    Kenya 10
The World Marathon Majors is a series consisting of six of the largest and most renowned marathons in the world: Tokyo Marathon, Virgin London Marathon, Boston Marathon, BMW Berlin Marathon, Bank of America Chicago Marathon and ING New York City Marathon. In creating the World Marathon Majors, the organizers of these six races recognized an opportunity to advance the sport, raise awareness of its athletes and increase the level of interest in elite racing among running enthusiasts.

The total score for each athlete in a series will consist of points earned from a maximum of four Qualifying Races during that two-year cycle. To be eligible for the jackpot, an athlete must compete in a minimum of one Qualifying Race during each year of the series.

1st place - 25 points
2nd place - 15 points
3rd place - 10 points
4th place - 5 points
5th place - 1 point

©2015 The Sports Network. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments | SportsNetworkdata.com