Kimetto, Kebede surge to wins at Tokyo Marathon
Tokyo, Japan (Sports Network) - Dennis Kipruto Kimetto led a Kenyan sweep for the men at the Tokyo Marathon Sunday.

The event is now one of six World Marathon Majors, joining races in Boston, London, Berlin, Chicago and New York.

Kimetto finished the race in 2 hours, 6 minutes, 50 seconds. That was eight seconds ahead of fellow countryman and defending champion Michael Kipkorir Kipyego. Kenya's Bernard Kiprop Kipyego was third.  continue>>
Tokyo Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountries

Deadly blasts rock Boston
Boston, MA (Sports Network) - Police say at least three people have been killed in the explosions near the finish line of the Boston Marathon.

The two blasts marred Patriots' Day in Boston, transforming a celebratory atmosphere during one of the most prestigious races into a chaotic scene.

Police commissioner Edward Davis confirmed at a news conference that, at 2:50 p.m. ET, there were simultaneous explosions along the route of the Boston Marathon. "These explosions occurred 50 to 100 yards apart and each scene resulted in multiple casualties," Davis said.  continue>>

Boston Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountry | USA: MW

Kebede, Jeptoo capture London Marathon titles
London, England (Sports Network) - Tsegaye Kebede of Ethiopia won the men's London Marathon title on Sunday, while Priscah Jeptoo of Kenya captured the women's crown.

Many of the competitors wore black ribbons to honor the victims of the Boston Marathon bombings from Monday. A moment of silence was held before the start and extra security was on hand for about 36,000 runners and thousands of fans that lined the streets.

Kebede, the 2012 Chicago Marathon winner, finished Sunday in a time of 2 hours, 6 minutes and 4 seconds to win the London crown for the second time. He also captured the title in 2010 and last year finished third.  continue>>

London Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountriesUSA: MW

Kenyans Kipsang, Kiplagat win Berlin titles
Berlin, Germany (Sports Network) - Kenyans Wilson Kipsang and Florence Kiplagat were the winners Sunday at the Berlin Marathon.

Kipsang took the men's crown in a record time off 2 hours, 3 minutes and 23 seconds, shaving 15 seconds off the previous mark of 2:03:38 set by countryman Patrick Makau in 2011.

Kiplagat won the women's title for the second time in three years. She crossed the line Sunday in a time of 2:21:13, finishing a minute and 15 seconds ahead of fellow Kenyan Sharon Cherop, the 2012 Boston Marathon winner. Germany's Irina Mikitenko, the 2008 Berlin winner, was a distant third.  continue>>

Berlin Marathon:  Route | Winners:MWCountriesUSA: MW

Chicago Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountries | USA: MW

Chicago Marathon - Top American Men Finishers
2012 Dathan Ritzenhein Oregon 2:07:47 9
2011 Ryan Hall Washington 2:08:04 5
2010 Jason Hartmann Illinois 2:11:06 8
2009 Sergio D. Reyes California 2:15:30 8
2008 Mike Reneau Wyoming 2:16:20 7
2007 Michael Cox West Virginia 2:21:42 8
2006 Abdi Abdirahman Arizona 2:08:56 4
2005 Alan Culpepper Colorado 2:13:20 12
2004 Khalid Khannouchi New York 2:08:44 5
2003 Mebrahtom Keflezighi California 2:10:03 7
2002 Khalid Khannouchi New York 2:05:56 1
2001 Rod DeHaven Wisconsin 2:11:40 6
2000 Khalid Khannouchi New York 2:07:01 1
1999 David Morris New Mexico 2:09:32 4
1998 Rod Dehaven Wisconsin 2;13:02 16
1997 Jerry Lawson Florida 2:09:35 7
1996 Jerry Lawson Florida 2:10:04 2
1995 Eric Ashton South Carolina 2:20:18 21
1994 Ed Eyestone Utah 2:11:51 2
1993 Jeff Jacobs Illinois 2:16:00 6
1992 Steve Fader Ohio 2:25:00 13
1991 David Mora Indiana 2:15:44 4
1990 Ed Eyestone Utah 2:10:59 5
1989 Ed Eyestone Utah 2:14:57 4
1988 Budd Coates Pennsylvania 2:14:58 16
1987 No Race -
1986 Bill Rodgers Massachusetts 2:15:31 11
1985 Don Janicki Arizona 2:11:16 7
1984 Paul Cummings Utah 2:15:29 14
1983 Tom Raunig Oregon 2:12:55 7
1982 Greg Meyer Massachusetts 2:10:59 1
1981 Phil Coppess Iowa 2:16:13 1
1980 Frank Richardson Iowa 2:14:04 1
1979 Dan Cloeter Indiana 2:23:20 1
1978 Mark Stanforth South Dakota 2:19:20 1
1977 Dan Cloeter Indiana 2:17:52 1
Mutai, Jeptoo win NYC titles
New York, NY (Sports Network) - Geoffrey Mutai of Kenya captured the men's title at the New York City Marathon on Sunday, while countrymate Priscah Jeptoo claimed the women's crown.

Mutai also won the men's title in 2011, making him the first man to win consecutive NYC Marathon crowns since John Kagwe of Kenya in 1997 and '98.

Of course, last year's marathon was canceled in the aftermath of Superstorm Sandy and more than 45,000 runners took the course on Sunday.  continue>>

New York City Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountries | USA: MW

Standings (Men)Standings (Women)Fastest

2013-14 World Marathon Championship - Leaderboard (Men)
1 Lelisa Desisa    Ethiopia 40
2 Tsegaye Kebede    Ethiopia 30
T3 Dennis Kimetto    Kenya 25
T3 Stephen Kiprotich    Uganda 25
T5 Michael Kipyego    Kenya 15
T5 Micah Kogo    Kenya 15
T5 Emmanuel Mutai    Kenya 15
T8 Ayele Absero    Ethiopia 10
T8 Gebreghziabher Gebremairiam    Ethiopia 10
T8 Bernard Kipyego    Kenya 10
The World Marathon Majors is a series consisting of six of the largest and most renowned marathons in the world: Tokyo Marathon, Virgin London Marathon, Boston Marathon, BMW Berlin Marathon, Bank of America Chicago Marathon and ING New York City Marathon. In creating the World Marathon Majors, the organizers of these six races recognized an opportunity to advance the sport, raise awareness of its athletes and increase the level of interest in elite racing among running enthusiasts.

The total score for each athlete in a series will consist of points earned from a maximum of four Qualifying Races during that two-year cycle. To be eligible for the jackpot, an athlete must compete in a minimum of one Qualifying Race during each year of the series.

1st place - 25 points
2nd place - 15 points
3rd place - 10 points
4th place - 5 points
5th place - 1 point
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments | SportsNetworkdata.com