Kimetto, Kebede surge to wins at Tokyo Marathon
Tokyo, Japan (Sports Network) - Dennis Kipruto Kimetto led a Kenyan sweep for the men at the Tokyo Marathon Sunday.

The event is now one of six World Marathon Majors, joining races in Boston, London, Berlin, Chicago and New York.

Kimetto finished the race in 2 hours, 6 minutes, 50 seconds. That was eight seconds ahead of fellow countryman and defending champion Michael Kipkorir Kipyego. Kenya's Bernard Kiprop Kipyego was third.  continue>>
Tokyo Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountries

Boston Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountry | USA: MW

Boston Marathon American Champions (Women)
2012Sheri L. PiersMaine2:41:5510
2011Desiree DavilaMichigan2:22:382
2010Paige HigginsArizona2:36:0013
2009Kara GoucherOregon2:32:253
2008Ashley A. AnklamMinnesota2:48:4315
2007Deena KastorCalifornia2:35:095
2006Emily R. LevanMaine2:37:0113
2005Carly E. GraytockMichigan2:34:5112
2004Ramilia BurangulovaFlorida2:34:089
2003Marla RunyanOregon2:30:285
2002Jill GaitenbyRhode Island2:38:5513
2001Jill GaitenbyRhode Island2:36:4514
2000Maria Trujillo-de RiosCalifornia2:42:2418
1999Lynn JenningsNew Hampshire2:38:3712
1998Mary-Lynn CurrierMassachusetts2:35:1811
1997Kim JonesWashington2:32:529
1996Lorraine HochellaVirginia2:41:3823
1995Linda SomersCalifornia2:34:3011
1994Kim JonesWashington2:31:468
1993Kim JonesWashington2:30:002
1992Jane WeizelColorado2:36:2110
1991Kim JonesWashington2:26:403
1990Maria TrujilloArizona2:28:533
1989Kim JonesWashington2:29:343
1988Gillian BeschlossNew York2:40:0810
1987Leatric A. HayerMasschusetts2:37:588
1986Julie IsphordingOhio2:33:406
1985Lisa Larsen WeidenbachMichigan2:34:061
1984Midde HamrinTexas2:33:532
1983Joan BenoitMassachusetts2:22:431
1982Eileen ClaugusCalifornia2:38:483
1981Patti CatalanoMassachusetts2:27:522
1980Patti LyonsMassachuetts2:35:082
1979Joan BenoitMaine2:35:151
1978Gayle S. BarronGeorgia2:44:521
1977Michiko GormanCalifornia2:48:331
1976Kim MerrittWisconsin2:47:101
1975Kathrine SwitzerNew York2:51:262
1974Michiko GormanCalifornia2:47:111
1973Jacqueline HansenCalifornia3:05:591
1972Nina KuscsikNew York3:10:261
1971* Sara Mae BermanMassachusetts3:08:301
1970* Sara Mae BermanMassachusetts3:05:071
1969* Sara Mae BermanMassachusetts3:22:461
1968* Roberta GibbCalifornia3:30:301
1967* Roberta GibbCalifornia3:27:171
1966* Roberta GibbMassachusetts3:31:401
Key: * - Race Was Unofficial
Kebede, Jeptoo capture London Marathon titles
London, England (Sports Network) - Tsegaye Kebede of Ethiopia won the men's London Marathon title on Sunday, while Priscah Jeptoo of Kenya captured the women's crown.

Many of the competitors wore black ribbons to honor the victims of the Boston Marathon bombings from Monday. A moment of silence was held before the start and extra security was on hand for about 36,000 runners and thousands of fans that lined the streets.

Kebede, the 2012 Chicago Marathon winner, finished Sunday in a time of 2 hours, 6 minutes and 4 seconds to win the London crown for the second time. He also captured the title in 2010 and last year finished third.  continue>>

London Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountriesUSA: MW

Kenyans Kipsang, Kiplagat win Berlin titles
Berlin, Germany (Sports Network) - Kenyans Wilson Kipsang and Florence Kiplagat were the winners Sunday at the Berlin Marathon.

Kipsang took the men's crown in a record time off 2 hours, 3 minutes and 23 seconds, shaving 15 seconds off the previous mark of 2:03:38 set by countryman Patrick Makau in 2011.

Kiplagat won the women's title for the second time in three years. She crossed the line Sunday in a time of 2:21:13, finishing a minute and 15 seconds ahead of fellow Kenyan Sharon Cherop, the 2012 Boston Marathon winner. Germany's Irina Mikitenko, the 2008 Berlin winner, was a distant third.  continue>>

Berlin Marathon:  Route | Winners:MWCountriesUSA: MW

Kenyans Kimetto, Jeptoo win Chicago Marathon
Chicago, IL (Sports Network) - Kenya's Dennis Kimetto captured the men's title at the Chicago Marathon on Sunday, while countrymate Rita Jeptoo won the women's crown.

Kimetto set a course record with a time of 2 hours, 3 minutes and 45 seconds, eclipsing the old mark of 2:04:38 set last year by Tsegaye Kebede of Ethiopia. It marked the third straight year a new record was set at Chicago, as Kenya's Moses Mosop had set a mark of 2:05:37 in 2011.

Kimetto, who won the Tokyo Marathon earlier this year, edged fellow Kenyan Emmanuel Mutai by seven seconds on Sunday, while two more Kenyans rounded out the top four. Sammy Kitwara finished third at 2:05:16, followed by Micah Kogo at 2:06:56. Mosop was eighth on Sunday.  continue>>

Chicago Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountries | USA: MW

Mutai, Jeptoo win NYC titles
New York, NY (Sports Network) - Geoffrey Mutai of Kenya captured the men's title at the New York City Marathon on Sunday, while countrymate Priscah Jeptoo claimed the women's crown.

Mutai also won the men's title in 2011, making him the first man to win consecutive NYC Marathon crowns since John Kagwe of Kenya in 1997 and '98.

Of course, last year's marathon was canceled in the aftermath of Superstorm Sandy and more than 45,000 runners took the course on Sunday.  continue>>

New York City Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountries | USA: MW

Standings (Men)Standings (Women)Fastest

2013-14 World Marathon Championship - Leaderboard (Men)
1 Lelisa Desisa    Ethiopia 40
2 Tsegaye Kebede    Ethiopia 30
T3 Dennis Kimetto    Kenya 25
T3 Stephen Kiprotich    Uganda 25
T5 Michael Kipyego    Kenya 15
T5 Micah Kogo    Kenya 15
T5 Emmanuel Mutai    Kenya 15
T8 Ayele Absero    Ethiopia 10
T8 Gebreghziabher Gebremairiam    Ethiopia 10
T8 Bernard Kipyego    Kenya 10
The World Marathon Majors is a series consisting of six of the largest and most renowned marathons in the world: Tokyo Marathon, Virgin London Marathon, Boston Marathon, BMW Berlin Marathon, Bank of America Chicago Marathon and ING New York City Marathon. In creating the World Marathon Majors, the organizers of these six races recognized an opportunity to advance the sport, raise awareness of its athletes and increase the level of interest in elite racing among running enthusiasts.

The total score for each athlete in a series will consist of points earned from a maximum of four Qualifying Races during that two-year cycle. To be eligible for the jackpot, an athlete must compete in a minimum of one Qualifying Race during each year of the series.

1st place - 25 points
2nd place - 15 points
3rd place - 10 points
4th place - 5 points
5th place - 1 point
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments | SportsNetworkdata.com