TSN Info
TSN Extras
Boston Marathon - April 16, 2012
Route | Winners: MW | USA: MW | Fastest: CountriesFastestUSAOverall
Korir and Cherop capture Boston Marathon titles
Boston, MA (Sports Network) - Wesley Korir of Kenya won the Boston Marathon on Monday, while countrymate Sharon Cherop claimed the women's title.

Korir beat out fellow Kenyan Levy Matebo and finished in a time of 2 hours, 12 minutes and 40 seconds. Matebo crossed the line 26 seconds behind Korir.

A Kenyan man has now won 19 out of the last 22 Boston Marathons.  continue>>
London Marathon - April 22, 2012
Route | Winners: MWTop CountriesFastestWMM Home
Kenyans Kipsang and Keitany capture titles
London, England (Sports Network) - Kenya's Wilson Kipsang won the men's London Marathon on Sunday, while countrymate Mary Keitany captured the women's title.

Kipsang finished with a time of 2 hours, 4 minutes and 44 seconds, only four seconds off the course record.

Fellow Kenyan Martin Lel, a three-time London champion, ended with a time of 2:06:51, just one second ahead of 2010 winner Tsegaye Kebede of Ethiopia for second place.  continue>>
Berlin Marathon - September 30, 2012
RouteChamps (M)Champs (W)Top CountriesFastestWMM Home
Kenya's Mutai wins Berlin Marathon
Berlin, Germany (Sports Network) - Geoffrey Mutai of Kenya captured the Berlin Marathon in a narrow finish over countryman Dennis Kimetto.

The two crossed the finish line within one second of each other, Mutai breaking the tape first in a time of 2 hours, 4 minutes and 15 seconds. Kimetto's time of 2:04:16 was the fastest marathon debut in history.

Mutai, who also won the 2011 Boston Marathon and the 2011 New York Marathon, clinched the World Marathon Majors title -- a series that includes results from Boston, London, Berlin, Chicago and New York over a two-year period.  continue>>
Chicago Marathon - October 7, 2012
Route | Winners: MW | USA: MWCountriesFastestWMM Home
Chicago Marathon - Women's Open Champions
2011 Lidiya Shobukhova Russia 2:18:20
2010 Lidiya Shobukhova Russia 2:20:25
2009 Lidiya Shobukhova Russia 2:25:56
2008 Lidiya Grigoryeva Russia 2:27:13
2007 Berhane Adere Ethiopia 2:33:49
2006 Berhane Adere Ethiopia 2:20:42
2005 Deena Kastor United States 2:21:25
2004 Constatina Tomescu-Dite Romania 2:23:45
2003 Svetlana Zakharova Russia 2:23:07
2002 Paula Radcliffe United Kingdom 2:17:18
2001 Catherine Ndereba Kenya 2:18:47
2000 Catherine Ndereba Kenya 2:21:33
1999 Joyce Chepchumba Kenya 2:25:59
1998 Joyce Chepchumba Kenya 2:23:57
1997 Marian Sutton United Kingdom 2:29:03
1996 Marian Sutton United Kingdom 2:30:41
1995 Ritva Lemettinen Finland 2:28:27
1994 Kristy Johnston United States 2:31:34
1993 Ritva Lemettinen Finland 2:33:18
1992 Linda Somers United States 2:37:41
1991 Midde Hamrin-Senorski Sweden 2:36:20
1990 Aurora Cunha Portugal 2:30:11
1989 Lisa Weidenbach United States 2:28:15
1988 Lisa Weidenbach United States 2:29:17
1987 No Race
1986 Ingrid Kristiansen Norway 2:27:08
1985 Joan Benoit Samuelsson United States 2:21:21
1984 Rosa Mota Portugal 2;26:01
1983 Rosa Mota Portugal 2:31:12
1982 Nancy Conz United States 2:33:23
1981 Tina Grady United States 2:49:39
1980 Sue Peterson United States 2:45:03
1979 Laura Michaelek United States 3:15:45
1978 Lynae Larson United States 2:59.25
1977 Dorothy Doolittle United States 2:50.47
New York Marathon - November 4, 2012
Route | Winners: MW | USA: MW | Fastest:CountriesFastestUSAOverall
NYC marathon canceled
New York, NY (Sports Network) - The New York City marathon scheduled for Sunday has been canceled as the city still struggles to recover from the effects of Hurricane Sandy.

It was a joint decision between the city government and race organizers to cancel the event, and no determination has yet to be made on whether or not to reschedule the race.  continue>>
Standings (M)Standings (W)
2011-12 World Marathon Championship - Leaderboard (Men)
RankNameCountryPtsTop Performance
1stGeoffrey MutaiKenya751st - '12 Boston; 1st - '11 NYC
1st - '11 Boston; 2nd - '11 Berlin
T-2ndAbel KiruiKenya402nd - '12 Olympics
1st IAAF World Championship
T-2ndMoses MosopKenya401st - '11 Chicago; 2nd - '11 Boston
T-2ndEmmanuel MutaiKenya402nd - '11 NYC; 1st - '11 London
T-2ndWesley KorirKenya401st - '12 Boston; 2nd - '11 Chicago
T-6thWilson KipsangKenya353rd - '12 Olympics; 1st - '12 London
T-6thPatrick MakauKenya351st - '11 Berlin; 3rd - '11 London
8thMartin LelKenya302nd - '12 London; 2nd - '11 London
9thStephen KiprotichUganda251st - Olympics
10thTsegaye KebedeEthiopia213rd - '12 London; 3rd - '11 NYC
The World Marathon Majors is a series consisting of five of the largest and most renowned marathons in the world: Virgin London Marathon, Boston Marathon, BMW Berlin Marathon, Bank of America Chicago Marathon and ING New York City Marathon. In creating the World Marathon Majors, the organizers of these five races recognized an opportunity to advance the sport, raise awareness of its athletes and increase the level of interest in elite racing among running enthusiasts.

The total score for each athlete in a series will consist of points earned from a maximum of four Qualifying Races during that two-year cycle. To be eligible for the jackpot, an athlete must compete in a minimum of one Qualifying Race during each year of the series.

1st place - 25 points
2nd place - 15 points
3rd place - 10 points
4th place - 5 points
5th place - 1 point

Other News
· Pitt parts with athletic director Pederson

· AD Luck leaving WVU for job with NCAA

· Virginia knocks off UCLA in PKs to claim College Cup

More News