Boston Marathon - April 16, 2012
Route | Winners: MW | USA: MW | Fastest: CountriesFastestUSAOverall
Boston Marathon American Champions (Women)
2011Desiree DavilaMichigan2:22:382
2010Paige HigginsArizona2:36:0013
2009Kara GoucherOregon2:32:253
2008Ashley A. AnklamMinnesota2:48:4315
2007Deena KastorCalifornia2:35:095
2006Emily R. LevanMaine2:37:0113
2005Carly E. GraytockMichigan2:34:5112
2004Ramilia BurangulovaFlorida2:34:089
2003Marla RunyanOregon2:30:285
2002Jill GaitenbyRhode Island2:38:5513
2001Jill GaitenbyRhode Island2:36:4514
2000Maria Trujillo-de RiosCalifornia2:42:2418
1999Lynn JenningsNew Hampshire2:38:3712
1998Mary-Lynn CurrierMassachusetts2:35:1811
1997Kim JonesWashington2:32:529
1996Lorraine HochellaVirginia2:41:3823
1995Linda SomersCalifornia2:34:3011
1994Kim JonesWashington2:31:468
1993Kim JonesWashington2:30:002
1992Jane WeizelColorado2:36:2110
1991Kim JonesWashington2:26:403
1990Maria TrujilloArizona2:28:533
1989Kim JonesWashington2:29:343
1988Gillian BeschlossNew York2:40:0810
1987Leatric A. HayerMasschusetts2:37:588
1986Julie IsphordingOhio2:33:406
1985Lisa Larsen WeidenbachMichigan2:34:061
1984Midde HamrinTexas2:33:532
1983Joan BenoitMassachusetts2:22:431
1982Eileen ClaugusCalifornia2:38:483
1981Patti CatalanoMassachusetts2:27:522
1980Patti LyonsMassachuetts2:35:082
1979Joan BenoitMaine2:35:151
1978Gayle S. BarronGeorgia2:44:521
1977Michiko GormanCalifornia2:48:331
1976Kim MerrittWisconsin2:47:101
1975Kathrine SwitzerNew York2:51:262
1974Michiko GormanCalifornia2:47:111
1973Jacqueline HansenCalifornia3:05:591
1972Nina KuscsikNew York3:10:261
1971* Sara Mae BermanMassachusetts3:08:301
1970* Sara Mae BermanMassachusetts3:05:071
1969* Sara Mae BermanMassachusetts3:22:461
1968* Roberta GibbCalifornia3:30:301
1967* Roberta GibbCalifornia3:27:171
1966* Roberta GibbMassachusetts3:31:401
Key: * - Race Was Unofficial
London Marathon - April 22, 2012
Route | Winners: MWTop CountriesFastestWMM Home
Kenyans Kipsang and Keitany capture titles
London, England (Sports Network) - Kenya's Wilson Kipsang won the men's London Marathon on Sunday, while countrymate Mary Keitany captured the women's title.

Kipsang finished with a time of 2 hours, 4 minutes and 44 seconds, only four seconds off the course record.

Fellow Kenyan Martin Lel, a three-time London champion, ended with a time of 2:06:51, just one second ahead of 2010 winner Tsegaye Kebede of Ethiopia for second place.  continue>>
Berlin Marathon - September 30, 2012
RouteChamps (M)Champs (W)Top CountriesFastestWMM Home
Kenya's Mutai wins Berlin Marathon
Berlin, Germany (Sports Network) - Geoffrey Mutai of Kenya captured the Berlin Marathon in a narrow finish over countryman Dennis Kimetto.

The two crossed the finish line within one second of each other, Mutai breaking the tape first in a time of 2 hours, 4 minutes and 15 seconds. Kimetto's time of 2:04:16 was the fastest marathon debut in history.

Mutai, who also won the 2011 Boston Marathon and the 2011 New York Marathon, clinched the World Marathon Majors title -- a series that includes results from Boston, London, Berlin, Chicago and New York over a two-year period.  continue>>
Chicago Marathon - October 7, 2012
Route | Winners: MW | USA: MWCountriesFastestWMM Home
Ethiopia's Kebede wins Chicago Marathon
Chicago, IL (Sports Network) - Tsegaye Kebede of Ethiopia captured the Chicago Marathon on Sunday.Kebede set a course record, crossing the finish line in a time of 2 hours, 4 minutes and 38 seconds. The old mark of 2:05:37 was established by Kenya's Moses Mosop last year.

It was a clean sweep of the top three spots for Ethiopia, as Feyisa Lilesa finished 14 seconds behind the winner and Tilahun Regassa was third with a time of 2:05:27.  continue>>
New York Marathon - November 4, 2012
Route | Winners: MW | USA: MW | Fastest:CountriesFastestUSAOverall
NYC marathon canceled
New York, NY (Sports Network) - The New York City marathon scheduled for Sunday has been canceled as the city still struggles to recover from the effects of Hurricane Sandy.

It was a joint decision between the city government and race organizers to cancel the event, and no determination has yet to be made on whether or not to reschedule the race.  continue>>
Standings (M)Standings (W)
2011-12 World Marathon Championship - Leaderboard (Men)
RankNameCountryPtsTop Performance
1stGeoffrey MutaiKenya751st - '12 Boston; 1st - '11 NYC
1st - '11 Boston; 2nd - '11 Berlin
T-2ndAbel KiruiKenya402nd - '12 Olympics
1st IAAF World Championship
T-2ndMoses MosopKenya401st - '11 Chicago; 2nd - '11 Boston
T-2ndEmmanuel MutaiKenya402nd - '11 NYC; 1st - '11 London
T-2ndWesley KorirKenya401st - '12 Boston; 2nd - '11 Chicago
T-6thWilson KipsangKenya353rd - '12 Olympics; 1st - '12 London
T-6thPatrick MakauKenya351st - '11 Berlin; 3rd - '11 London
8thMartin LelKenya302nd - '12 London; 2nd - '11 London
9thStephen KiprotichUganda251st - Olympics
10thTsegaye KebedeEthiopia213rd - '12 London; 3rd - '11 NYC
The World Marathon Majors is a series consisting of five of the largest and most renowned marathons in the world: Virgin London Marathon, Boston Marathon, BMW Berlin Marathon, Bank of America Chicago Marathon and ING New York City Marathon. In creating the World Marathon Majors, the organizers of these five races recognized an opportunity to advance the sport, raise awareness of its athletes and increase the level of interest in elite racing among running enthusiasts.

The total score for each athlete in a series will consist of points earned from a maximum of four Qualifying Races during that two-year cycle. To be eligible for the jackpot, an athlete must compete in a minimum of one Qualifying Race during each year of the series.

1st place - 25 points
2nd place - 15 points
3rd place - 10 points
4th place - 5 points
5th place - 1 point
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments | SportsNetworkdata.com