Winter Games
Summer Games
Home · News · Info · Medal Count · Medals · Schedule · Calendar · Legend · Update

Nesbitt leads Canadian speedskaters

Calgary, AB ( - Two-time Olympic medal winner Christine Nesbitt will lead the Canadian speedskating team at the 2014 Games.

Nesbitt was one of 17 athletes selected for the men's and women's speedskating teams. She won Olympic gold four years ago in the 1,000 meters after capturing silver in the team pursuit at the Torino Games.

"I feel privileged being named to my third Olympic Team, each of which has been completely different for me," said Nesbitt.

Joining Nesbitt on the women's squad will be Ivanie Blondin, Anastasia Bucsis, Kali Christ, Marsha Hudey, Kaylin Irvine, Brittany Schussler, Brianne Tutt and Danielle Wotherspoon-Gregg.

The eight Canadian men headed to Russia are Vincent De Haitre, William Dutton, Mathieu Giroux, Jamie Gregg, Gilmore Junio, Lucas Makowsky, Denny Morrison and Muncef Ouardi.

01/22 13:47:25 ET

Olympics News
· Pistorius found guilty of culpable homicide

· Pistorius cleared of premeditated murder

· Bob Suter, 'Miracle on Ice' defenseman, dies

More News