NASCAR - Sprint Cup - Quaker State 400 Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Saturday, June 30th
SITE: Kentucky Speedway (2000) -- Sparta Kentucky
TRACK: 1.5-mile oval - 1,662 feet (Frontstretch); 1,600 feet (Backstretch)
CAPACITY: 117,000 (Grandstand seating)
ANNOUNCERS: Adam Alexander, Wally Dallenbach Jr., Kyle Petty
RADIO: Performance Racing Network (PRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio
START TIME: 7:30 p.m. (ET)/Green Flag: 7:46 p.m. (ET)
RUNNER-UP: David Reutimann
POLE WINNER: Kyle Busch (Finished 1st)
LAPS: 267
MILES: 400.5
TOTAL PURSE: $4,925,697 (2011 figures)
PAYOUTS: 1st Place - $213,316; 2nd Place - $147,883; 3rd Place - $152,711
2011 Finish
1Kyle Busch16Matt Kenseth13
2David Reutimann177Brad Keselowski6
3Jimmie Johnson58David Ragan8
4Ryan Newman189Kurt Busch3
5Carl Edwards710Jeff Gordon14
2011 Quaker State 400 Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 137.314 m.p.h.
TIME OF RACE: 2 hours, 55 minutes
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 0.179 second
CAUTION FLAGS: 6 for 32 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 20 among 12 drivers
POLE WINNER: Kyle Busch (Awarded pole due to fastest overall in practice)
Past Quaker State 400 Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2011 -- Kyle Busch (1st) -- Toyota -- 137.314 m.p.h.
Past Quaker State 400 Pole Winners (Finish)
2011 -- None -- Weather
Last Race Results
RACE: Toyota/Save Mart 350 (June 24th)
SITE: Infineon Raceway -- Sonoma, California
MILES: 222.88
LAPS: 112
WINNER: Clint Bowyer
RUNNER-UP: Tony Stewart
THIRD: Kurt Busch
FOURTH: Brian Vickers
FIFTH: Jimmie Johnson
POLE WINNER: Marcos Ambrose (Finished 8th)
TIME OF RACE: 2 hours, 39 minutes, 55 seconds
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 0.829 second
AVERAGE SPEED: 83.624 m.p.h.
CAUTION FLAGS: 2 for 7 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 8 among 5 drivers
LAP LEADERS: M. Ambrose 1-11; J. Gordon 12-24; C. Bowyer 25-33; Kurt Busch 34;
M. Truex Jr. 35-47; C. Bowyer 48-70; Kurt Busch 71; M. Truex Jr.
72-73; C. Bowyer 74-112.
Quaker State 400 Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
1Jamie McMurray (Joplin, MO)Chevrolet/McDonald's
2Brad Keselowski (Rochester Hills, MI)Dodge/Miller Lite
5Kasey Kahne (Enumclaw, WA)Chevrolet/Quaker State
9Marcos Ambrose (Launceston, Australia)Ford/Mac Tools
10David Reutimann (Zephyrhills, FL)Chevrolet/Tommy Baldwin Racing
11Denny Hamlin (Chesterfield, VA)Toyota/FedEx Express
13Casey Mears (Bakersfield, CA)Ford/Valvoline Nextgen
14Tony Stewart (Columbus, IN)Chevrolet/Office Depot/Mobil 1
15Clint Bowyer (Emporia, KS)Toyota/5-Hour Energy
16Greg Biffle (Vancouver, WA)Ford/ARC
17Matt Kenseth (Cambridge, WI)Ford/Fifth Third
18 *Kyle Busch (Las Vegas, NV)Toyota/M&M's Red-White-Blue
19Mike Bliss (Milwaukie, OR)Toyota/Humphrey Smith Racing
20Joey Logano (Middletown, CT)Toyota/Dollar General
22A.J. Allmendinger (Los Gatos, CA)Dodge/Shell/Pennzoil
23Scott Riggs (Bahama, NC)Chevrolet/North Texas Pipe
24Jeff Gordon (Vallejo, CA)Chevrolet/Drive to End Hunger
26Josh Wise (Riverside, CA)Ford/MDS Transport
27Paul Menard (Eau Claire, WI)Chevrolet/Menards/Sylvania
29Kevin Harvick (Bakersfield, CA)Chevrolet/Budweiser
30David Stremme (South Bend, IN)Toyota/Inception Motorsports
31Jeff Burton (South Boston, VA)Chevrolet/Caterpillar
32Ken Schrader (Fenton, MO)Ford/Federated Auto Parts
33Stephen Leicht (Asheville, NC)Chevrolet/
34David Ragan (Unadilla, GA)Ford/TBA
36Dave Blaney (Hartford, OH)Chevrolet/Seal Wrap
38David Gilliland (Riverside, CA)Ford/Taco Bell
39Ryan Newman (South Bend, IN)Chevrolet/Tornados
42Juan Pablo Montoya (Bogota, Colombia)Chevrolet/Target
43Aric Almirola (Tampa, FL)Ford/Eckrich
47Bobby Labonte (Corpus Christi, TX)Toyota/Scotts Products
48Jimmie Johnson (El Cajon, CA)Chevrolet/Lowe's Ermine White
49J.J. Yeley (Phoenix, AZ)Toyota/JPO Absorbents
51Kurt Busch (Las Vegas, NV)Chevrolet/Phoenix Construction
52Mike Skinner (Susanville, CA)Toyota/
55Michael Waltrip (Owensboro, KY)Toyota/Aaron's Dream Machine
56Martin Truex Jr. (Mayetta, NJ)Toyota/NAPA Auto Parts
74Stacy Compton (Hurt, VA)Chevrolet/Turn One Racing
78Regan Smith (Cato, NY)Chevrolet/Furniture Row
83Landon Cassill (Cedar Rapids, IA)Toyota/Burger King
87Joe Nemechek (Lakeland, FL)Toyota/AM FM Energy Wood&Pellet
88Dale Earnhardt Jr. (Kannapolis, NC)Chevrolet/Mtn. Dew/Nat'l Guard
93Travis Kvapil (Janesville, WI)Toyota/Burger King
95Scott Speed (Manteca, CA)Ford/Leavine Family Racing
98Michael McDowell (Glendale, AZ)Ford/Phil Parsons Racing
99Carl Edwards (Columbia, MO)Ford/UPS
* - Defending champion
Leading Contenders (Finish last year)
Kyle BuschWon
David Reutimann2nd
Jimmie Johnson3rd
Ryan Newman4th
Carl Edwards5th
Matt Kenseth6th
Brad Keselowski7th
David Ragan8th
Kurt Busch9th
Jeff Gordon10th
Denny Hamlin11th
Tony Stewart12th
Kasey Kahne13th
Joey Logano14th
Juan Pablo Montoya15th
Kevin Harvick16th
Martin Truex Jr.18th
Jeff Burton19th
Marcos Ambrose20th
Greg Biffle21st
Mark Martin22nd
Paul Menard24th
A.J. Allmendinger28th
Dale Earnhardt Jr.30th
Clint Bowyer35th
Jamie McMurray36th
Mover of the Week
Jeff Burton - Started in 35th position and finished 11th
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Kyle Busch
Darkhorse - Jeff Gordon
Last Week's Pick to Win (Jimmie Johnson) - Finished 5th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Marcos Ambrose) - Finished 8th
Despite leading the Sprint Cup points list, Matt Kenseth and Roush Fenway Racing have announced that the driver will be leaving the team at season's end.

Kenseth owns a slim 11-point advantage over Greg Biffle, almost halfway through the season, with Dale Earnhardt Jr just 14 points back. Kenseth, the 2003 series champion, has been with Roush Fenway in NASCAR's premier series since his 2000 rookie-of-the-year season.

Last year, the Sprint Cup Series made its inaugural visit to Kentucky Speedway, as Kyle Busch raced to victory. The 2011 race featured 20 lead changes among 20 drivers, as 23 of the 43-car field finished on the lead lap, with 34 cars running at the finish.

Busch, the awarded pole sitter due to inclement weather in 2011, held off David Reutimann and Jimmie Johnson in a two-lap shootout to the finish. An incident involving Clint Bowyer with six laps to go setup the two-lap sprint.

After the restart, Johnson challenged Busch for the lead, but Busch pulled away and then cruised to his third Sprint Cup win of the season and the 22nd of 24 career wins. Busch dominated most of the 400-mile race by leading 125 laps. He took the lead for the final time after a round of green-flag pit stops concluded with 11 laps to go.

Currently 12th on the points list, Busch has failed to crack the top-10 in his last four starts.

This will actually be the third all-time race in the state of Kentucky, as NASCAR raced at Corbin Speedway in 1954, with Lee Petty defeating Hershel McGriff, followed by Buck Baker and Herb Thomas fourth.

Since 2000, the track has hosted 11 NASCAR Nationwide Series (2001-2011) and 13 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series races (2000-2011).

With the addition of Kentucky to the NASCAR Sprint Cup schedule, Jeff Gordon and Tony Stewart now have two tracks they have never won at. Gordon is also winless at Homestead-Miami Speedway, while Stewart, in addition to Kentucky has not captured the checkered flag at Darlington.

Dale Earnhardt Jr needs 18 laps led to reach 7,000 career laps led, while Jimmie Johnson needs 98 laps led to reach 13,000 laps led.

The Sprint Cup Series returns to Daytona International Speedway for the July 7th running of the Coke Zero 400. David Ragan is the defending champion.

06/26 17:27:43 ET

As of June 26, 2012, at 05:27 PM ET
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments |