NASCAR - Sprint Cup - Quaker State 400 Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Saturday, July 9th
SITE: Kentucky Speedway (2000) -- Sparta Kentucky
TRACK: 1.5-mile oval - 1,662 feet (Frontstretch); 1,600 feet (Backstretch)
CAPACITY: 117,000 (Grandstand seating)
ANNOUNCERS: Adam Alexander, Wally Dallenbach, Kyle Petty
RADIO: Performance Racing Network (PRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio
START TIME: 7:30 p.m. (et)/Green Flag: 7:48 p.m. (et)
LAPS: 267
MILES: 400.5
Last Race Results
RACE: Coke Zero 400 (July 2nd)
SITE: Daytona International Speedway -- Daytona Beach, Florida
MILES: 425
LAPS: 170
WINNER: David Ragan
RUNNER-UP: Matt Kenseth
THIRD: Joey Logano
FOURTH: Kasey Kahne
FIFTH: Kyle Busch
POLE WINNER: Mark Martin (Finished 33rd)
TIME OF RACE: 2 hours, 39 minutes, 53 seconds
AVERAGE SPEED: 159.491 m.p.h.
CAUTION FLAGS: 6 for 21 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 57 among 25 drivers
LAP LEADERS: M. Martin 1-15; D. Earnhardt Jr. 16; Kurt Busch 17-18; C. Edwards
19; Kurt Busch 20-23; J. Gordon 24; K. Harvick 25-26; P. Menard
27; D. Ragan 28; R. Smith 29-30; M. Truex Jr. 31-36; D. Ragan
37-40; K. Kahne 41; M. Truex Jr. 42; M. Kenseth 43-48; K. Kahne
49; Kyle Busch 50; T. Kvapil 51; K. Kahne 52-53; M. Truex Jr.
54-57; R. Smith 58-59; M. Kenseth 60-63; K. Kahne 64; P. Menard
65; K. Kahne 66-69; T. Stewart 70; M. Truex Jr. 71-73; K. Kahne
74; C. Mears 75-76; J. Nemechek 77; K. Kahne 78-85; Kyle Busch
86-88; K. Kahne 89; P. Menard 90-92; Kyle Busch 93; C. Mears 94;
J. Burton 95-97; C. Bowyer 98-99; M. Truex Jr. 100; Kyle Busch
101-102; M. Truex Jr. 103; D. Ragan 104-105; R. Newman 106; D.
Hamlin 107-110; B. Keselowski 111; G. Biffle 112; J. Montoya
113-114; K. Harvick 115; J. McMurray 116; K. Harvick 117-121; C.
Bowyer 122; R. Newman 123-130; Kyle Busch 131-134; K. Harvick
135-142; R. Newman 143-153; M. Kenseth 154-157; R. Newman
158-162; D. Ragan 163-170.
Quaker State 400 Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
00David Reutimann (Zephyrhills, FL)Toyota/Tum's
1Jamie McMurray (Joplin, MO)Chevrolet/McDonald's
2Brad Keselowski (Rochester Hills, MI)Dodge/Miller Lite
4Kasey Kahne (Enumclaw, WA)Toyota/Red Bull
5Mark Martin (Batesville, AR)Chevrolet/ St
6David Ragan (Unadilla, GA)Ford/UPS
7Robby Gordon (Orange, CA)Dodge/Speed Energy
9Marcos Ambrose (Launceston, Australia)Ford/Porter Cable
11Denny Hamlin (Chesterfield, VA)Toyota/FedEx Ground
13Casey Mears (Bakersfield, CA)Toyota/GEICO
14Tony Stewart (Columbus, IN)Chevrolet/Office Depot/Mobil 1
15Michael Waltrip (Owensboro, KY)Toyota/Aaron's
16Greg Biffle (Vancouver, WA)Ford/3M
17Matt Kenseth (Cambridge, WI)Ford/Crown Royal
18Kyle Busch (Las Vegas, NV)Toyota/M&M's
20Joey Logano (Middletown, CT)Toyota/Home Depot
22Kurt Busch (Las Vegas, NV)Dodge/Shell/Pennzoil
24Jeff Gordon (Vallejo, CA)Chevrolet/DuPont
27Paul Menard (Eau Claire, WI)Chevrolet/Menards/Sylvania
29Kevin Harvick (Bakersfield, CA)Chevrolet/Budweiser
30David Stremme (South Bend, IN)Chevrolet/TBA
31Jeff Burton (South Boston, VA)Chevrolet/Caterpillar
32Mike Bliss (Milwaukie, OR)Ford/U.S. Chrome
33Clint Bowyer (Emporia, KS)Chevrolet/Cheerios/Hamb. Helper
34David Gilliland (Riverside, CA)Ford/Taco Bell
36Dave Blaney (Hartford, OH)Chevrolet/Big Red
37Tony Raines (LaPorte, IN)Ford/TBA
38Travis Kvapil (Janesville, WI)Ford/Long John Silver's
39Ryan Newman (South Bend, IN)Chevrolet/Tornados
42Juan Pablo Montoya (Bogota, Colombia)Chevrolet/Target
43A.J. Allmendinger (Los Gatos, CA)Ford/Valvoline
46J.J. Yeley (Phoenix, AZ)Chevrolet/Red Line
47Bobby Labonte (Corpus Christi, TX)Toyota/Scott
48Jimmie Johnson (El Cajon, CA)Chevrolet/Lowe's
50T.J. Bell (Reno, VA)Toyota/TBA
51Landon Cassill (Cedar Rapids, IA)Chevrolet/Security Benefits
56Martin Truex Jr. (Mayetta, NJ)Toyota/NAPA Good to Go
60Mike Skinner (Susanville, CA)Toyota/Big Red
66Michael McDowell (Glendale, AZ)Toyota/HP Racing
71Andy Lally (Northport, NY)Ford/TRG Motorsports
77Scott Wimmer (Wausau, WI)Dodge/Speed Energy
78Regan Smith (Cato, NY)Chevrolet/Furniture Row Racing
81Scott Riggs (Bahama, NC)Chevrolet/Whitney's Collision
83Brian Vickers (Thomasville, NC)Toyota/Red Bull
87Joe Nemechek (Lakeland, FL)Toyota/NEMCO Motorsports
88Dale Earnhardt Jr. (Kannapolis, NC)Chevrolet/Mt. Dew/Nat'l Guard
95David Starr (Houston TX)Ford TBA
99Carl Edwards (Columbia, MO)Ford/Aflac
Mover of the Week
Joey Logano - Started in 37th position and finished 3rd
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Carl Edwards
Darkhorse - Joey Logano
Last Week's Pick to Win (Dale Earnhardt Jr) - Finished 19th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Mark Martin) - Finished 33rd
The Sprint Cup Series makes its inaugural visit to Kentucky Speedway for the Quaker State 400. This will actually be the second all-time race in the state of Kentucky, as NASCAR raced at Corbin Speedway in 1954, as Lee Petty defeated Hershel McGriff, with Buck Baker third and Herb Thomas fourth.

Sprint Cup points leader Kevin Harvick is the driver to beat, as he has recorded three wins and 10 top-10 finishes in 17 starts this season. In his last eight starts, including the All-Star Race, Harvick has six top-10s and a win at Charlotte. Harvick took the lead in the points race for the first time this season following his seventh-place finish last week.

Carl Edwards will provide plenty of competition, as the Columbia, Mo. native, a winner at the All-Star race, has a dozen top-10s this year and nine in his last 12 starts. Edwards trails Harvick by just five points.

Not to be overlooked is Kyle Busch, third on the points list and just 10 behind Harvick. Busch has recorded a pair of wins and 10 top-10s this season. Busch has three top five finishes in his last four starts.

Last week, David Ragan became the 12th different winner in 17 races this year, the most since 2003.

The next Sprint Cup Series race is the July 17th Lenox Industrial Tools 301 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway. Jimmie Johnson is the defending race winner.

07/05 17:19:35 ET

As of July 5, 2011, at 05:19 PM ET
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments |