NASCAR - Camping World Truck - Kentucky 201 Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Friday, September 21st
SITE: Kentucky Speedway (2000) -- Sparta, Kentucky
TRACK: 1.5-mile oval - 1,662 feet (Frontstretch); 1,600 feet (Backstretch)
CAPACITY: 66,089 (Grandstand seating)
TELEVISION: Speed Channel
ANNOUNCERS: Rick Allen, Phil Parsons, Michael Waltrip
RADIO: Motor Racing Network (MRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio
START TIME: 7:30 p.m. (ET)
RUNNER-UP: Austin Dillon
POLE WINNER: Austin Dillon (Finished 2nd)
LAPS: 134
MILES: 201
QUALIFYING RECORD: Austin Dillon, 2011 (179.868 m.p.h.)
RACE RECORD: Ron Hornaday Jr., 2011 (116.046 m.p.h.)
TOTAL PURSE: $577,556 (2011 figures)
PAYOUTS: 1st Place - $63,225; 2nd Place - $46,950; 3rd Place - $36,925
2011 Finish
1Ron Hornaday Jr26Ricky Carmichael16
2Austin Dillon17Todd Bodine12
3James Buescher88Cole Whitt10
4Nelson Piquet Jr39Dakoda Armstrong20
5Brian Ickler410David Starr14
2011 Kentucky 201 Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 116.046 m.p.h.
TIME OF RACE: 1 hour, 56 minutes, 20 seconds
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 0.438 second
CAUTION FLAGS: 7 for 36 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 18 among 11 drivers
POLE WINNER: Austin Dillon (179.868 m.p.h.)
Past Kentucky 201 Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2011 -- Ron Hornaday Jr (2nd) -- Chevrolet -- 116.046 m.p.h.
NOTE: Race changed from 225 to 201 miles in 2012.
Past Kentucky 201 Pole Winners (Finish)
2011 -- Austin Dillon -- 2nd
Last Race Results
RACE: American Ethanol 200 (September 15th)
SITE: Iowa Speedway -- Newton, Iowa
MILES: 175
LAPS: 200
WINNER: Ryan Blaney
RUNNER-UP: Ty Dillon
THIRD: Todd Bodine
FOURTH: Johnny Sauter
FIFTH: Cale Gale
POLE WINNER: Parker Kligerman (Finished 23rd)
TIME OF RACE: 1 hour, 58 minutes, 56 seconds
AVERAGE SPEED: 88.285 m.p.h.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 0.168 second
CAUTION FLAGS: 9 for 54 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 7 among 6 drivers
LAP LEADERS: P. Kligerman 1-28; J. Buescher 29-35; P. Kligerman 36; D. Herring
37-55; J. Lofton 56-60; P. Kligerman 61-138; J. Sauter 139-150;
R. Blaney 151-200.
Kentucky 201 Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
0Blake Koch (West Palm Beach, FL)Ford/
01Jake Crum (Statesville, NC)Chevrolet/Bandit Chippers
2Tim George Jr. (New York, NY)Chevrolet/Applebee's
3Ty Dillon (Lewisville, NC)Chevrolet/Bass Pro Shops
4Dakoda Armstrong (New Castle, IN)Chevrolet/Drive for Savings
5To Be AnnouncedFord/TBA
6Justin Lofton (Westmorland, CA)Chevrolet/Lofton Cattle
07Jeff Agnew (Copper Hill, VA)Chevrolet/Wear Your Gear/
7Parker Kligerman (Westport, CT)Toyota/Red Horse Racing
08Ross Chastain (Alva, FL)Toyota/Melon 1
8Max Gresham (Stockbridge, GA)Chevrolet/Made in USA Brand
09John Wes Townley (Waitville, GA)Toyota/TBA
9 *Ron Hornaday Jr. (Palmdale, CA)Chevrolet/Smokey Mount. Herbal Snuff
10Jennifer Jo Cobb (Kansas City, KS)RAM/
11Todd Bodine (Chemung, NY)Toyota/Toyota Care
13Johnny Sauter (Necedah, WI)Toyota/Hot Honey/Curb Records
14Brennan Newberry (Bakersfield, CA)Chevrolet/NTS/IronClad Performance
17Timothy Peters (Providence, NC)Toyota/Red Horse Racing
18Brian Scott (Boise, ID)Toyota/Dollar General
19David Mayhew (Atascadero, CA)RAM/TBA
22Joey Coulter (Miami Springs, FL)Chevrolet/Richard Childress Racing
23Jason White (Powhatan, VA)Ford/
27To Be AnnouncedChevrolet/TBA
29Ryan Blaney (High Point, NC)RAM/Cooper Standard
30Nelson Piquet Jr (Brasilia, Brazil)Chevrolet/Qualcomm
31James Buescher (Plano, TX)Chevrolet/Fraternal Order of Eagles
32Miguel Paludo (New Silver, Brazil)Chevrolet/Duroline Brakes
33Cale Gale (Mobile, AL)Chevrolet/Rheem
38Chris Jones (Forest, VA)Chevrolet/RSS Racing
39Ryan Sieg (Tucker, GA)Chevrolet/RSS Racing
57Norm Benning (Level Green, PA)Chevrolet/Norm Benning Racing
74To Be AnnouncedChevrolet/Koma Unwind
84Chris Fontaine (Lakeland, FL)Chevrolet/JPO Absorbents
88Matt Crafton (Tulare, CA)Toyota/Menard's
93Dennis Setzer (Newton, NC)Chevrolet/RSS Racing
99Bryan Silas (Stuart, FL)Ford/Rockingham Speedway
* - defending champion
Leading Contenders (Finish the last year)
Ron Hornaday JrWon
James Buescher3rd
Nelson Piquet Jr4th
Todd Bodine 7th
Justin Lofton11th
Joey Coulter13th
Johnny Sauter14th
Timothy Peters17th
Ty Dillon 18th
Matt Crafton23rd
Parker Kligerman29th
Ryan Blaney---
Brian Scott---
Mover of the Week
Todd Bodine - Started in the 15th position and finished 3rd
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Parker Kligerman
Darkhorse - Cale Gale
Last Week's Pick to Win (Timothy Peters) - Finished 19th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Todd Bodine) - Finished 3rd
Last season, Ron Hornaday Jr reached a historic milestone, as he raced to victory for his 50th career Camping World title.

Hornaday, a four-time truck champion, took the lead after a late-race round of pit stops. The then 53-year-old driver held off youngster Austin Dillon during the final 10 laps to extend his record of career wins in the series. Hornaday finished 0.4 seconds ahead of Dillon.

Hornaday finished the 2011 season with four wins, pushing his all-time total to 51. This season, Hornaday has just six top-10 finishes in 15 starts and ranks 10th on the points list with just seven races remaining.

With his runner-up finish last week, Ty Dillon has taken over the top spot on the points list, leading Timothy Peters by eight points and James Buescher by 11. Peters, who held the top spot, finished 19th to fall back.

Last season marked the first time in Series history that Kentucky had a second race during the calendar year. Since 2000, Trucks have raced in Sparta just once a year, with only one multiple winner, Ron Hornaday Jr, who has posted three Kentucky wins.

The Camping World Truck Series moves on to Las Vegas Motor Speedway for the September 29th running of the Smith's 350. Ron Hornaday Jr. is the defending race winner.

09/18 13:38:56 ET

As of September 18, 2012, at 01:39 PM ET
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments |