NASCAR - Camping World Truck - Jeff Foxworthy's Grit Chips 200 Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Friday, August 31st
SITE: Atlanta Motor Speedway (1960) -- Hampton, Georgia
TRACK: 1.54-mile oval - 2,332 feet (Frontstretch); 1,800 feet (Backstretch)
CAPACITY: 124,000
TELEVISION: Speed Channel
ANNOUNCERS: Rick Allen, Phil Parsons, Michael Waltrip
RADIO: Motor Racing Network (MRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio
START TIME: 8 p.m. (ET)
RUNNER-UP: Clint Bowyer
POLE WINNER: Ricky Carmichael (Finished 8th)
LAPS: 130
MILES: 200.2
QUALIFYING RECORD: Rick Crawford, 2005 (182.735 m.p.h.)
RACE RECORD: Ron Hornaday Jr, 2005 (142.424 m.p.h.)
TOTAL PURSE: $501,490 (2011 figures)
PAYOUTS: 1st Place - $39,965; 2nd Place - $25,315; 3rd Place - $21,065
2011 Finish
1Ron Hornaday Jr176Austin Dillon8
2Clint Bowyer27Matt Crafton7
3Kyle Busch68Ricky Carmichael1
4Blake Feese279Todd Bodine19
5Ryan Newman510James Buescher3
2011 Jeff Foxworthy's Grit Chips 200 Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 122.467 m.p.h.
TIME OF RACE: 1 hour, 38 minutes, 5 seconds
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 1.596 seconds
CAUTION FLAGS: 5 for 24 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 7 among 4 drivers
POLE WINNER: Ricky Carmichael (177.812 m.p.h.)
Past Jeff Foxworthy's Grit Chips 200 Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2011 -- Ron Hornaday Jr (17th) -- Chevrolet -- 122.467 m.p.h.
2010 -- Kevin Harvick (4th) -- Chevrolet -- 120.926 m.p.h.
2009 -- Kyle Busch (1st) -- Toyota -- 130.188 m.p.h.
2008 -- Kyle Busch (3rd) -- Toyota -- 127.561 m.p.h.
2007 -- Mike Skinner (1st) -- Toyota -- 105.739 m.p.h.
2006 -- Todd Bodine (1st) -- Toyota -- 133.388 m.p.h.
2005 -- Ron Hornaday Jr (18th) -- Chevrolet -- 142.424 m.p.h. (race record)
2004 -- Bobby Hamilton (12th) -- Dodge -- 123.675 m.p.h.
NOTE: Formerly called EasyCare Vehicle Services Contracts 200 (2004), World
Financial Group 200 (2005), John Deere 200 (2006), American Commercial
Lines 200 (2007-09), E-Z Go 200 (2010), Atlanta 200 (2011).
Past Jeff Foxworthy's Grit Chips 200 Pole Winners (Finish)
2011 -- Ricky Carmichael -- 8th
2010 -- Ron Hornaday Jr -- 34th
2009 -- Kyle Busch -- 1st
2008 -- Ron Hornaday Jr -- 2nd
2007 -- Mike Skinner -- 1st
2006 -- Todd Bodine -- 1st
2005 -- Rick Crawford -- 29th
2004 -- David Reutimann -- 3rd
Last Race Results
RACE: UNOH 200 (August 22nd)
SITE: Bristol Motor Speedway -- Bristol, Tennessee
MILES: 108.732
LAPS: 204
WINNER: Timothy Peters
RUNNER-UP: Parker Kligerman
THIRD: Ross Chastain
FOURTH: Joey Coulter
FIFTH: Brendan Gaughan
POLE WINNER: Cale Gale (Finished 28th)
TIME OF RACE: 1 hour, 21 minutes, 52 seconds
AVERAGE SPEED: 79.690 m.p.h.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 0.465 seconds
CAUTION FLAGS: 6 for 43 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 1 among 1 drivers
LAP LEADERS: C. Gale - pole; T. Peters 1-204.
Jeff Foxworthy's Grit Chips 200 Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
0Blake Koch (West Palm Beach, FL)Ford/
2Tim George Jr.(New York, NY)Chevrolet/Applebee's
3Ty Dillon (Lewisville, NC)Chevrolet/Bass Pro Shops
4Kyle Larson (Elk Grove, CA)Chevrolet/TBA
5Paulie Harraka (Fair Lawn, NJ)Ford/TBA
6Justin Lofton (Westmorland, CA)Chevrolet/Lofton Cattle
07Johnny Chapman (Stony Point, NC)Chevrolet/Wear Your Gear
7Parker Kligerman (Westport, CT)Toyota/Red Horse Racing
08Ross Chastain (Alva, FL)Toyota/Melon 1
8Max Gresham (Stockbridge, GA)Chevrolet/Made in USA/Bug Band
09John Wes Townley (Waitville, GA)Toyota/TBA
9 *Ron Hornaday Jr. (Palmdale, CA)Chevrolet/Joe Denette Motorsports
10Jennifer Jo Cobb (Kansas City, KS)RAM/
11Todd Bodine (Chemung, NY)Toyota/Toyota Care
13Johnny Sauter (Necedah, WI)Toyota/Hot Honeys/Curb Records
17Timothy Peters (Providence, NC)Toyota/Red Horse Racing
18Kyle Busch (Las Vegas, NV)Toyota/Dollar General
22Joey Coulter (Miami Springs, FL)Chevrolet/Armour
23Jason White (Powhatan, VA)Ford/
27To Be AnnouncedChevrolet/TBA
29Ryan Blaney (High Point, NC)RAM/Cooper Standard
30Nelson Piquet Jr (Brasilia, Brazil)Chevrolet/Drink B
31James Buescher (Plano, TX)Chevrolet/Central Wire
32Miguel Paludo (New Silver, Brazil)Chevrolet/Duroline Brakes
33Cale Gale (Mobile, AL)Chevrolet/RUUD
38Chris Jones (Forest, VA)Chevrolet/RSS Racing
39Ryan Sieg (Tucker, GA)Chevrolet/RSS Racing
51Kurt Busch (Las Vegas, NV)Chevrolet/Bill Holt Chevrolet
57Norm Benning (Level Green, PA)Chevrolet/Norm Benning Racing
74Mike Harmon (Birmingport, AL)Chevrolet/Koma Unwind
75Caleb Holman (Abingdon, VA)Chevrolet/Food Country USA
81David Starr (Houston, TX)Toyota/AdvoCare
84Chris Fontaine (Lakeland, FL)Chevrolet/Glenden Enterprises
88Matt Crafton (Tulare, CA)Toyota/Menards
92Chad McCumbee (Supply, NC)Chevrolet/ Tire
93Dennis Setzer (Newton, NC)Chevrolet/RSS Racing
98Dakoda Armstrong (New Castle, IN)Toyota/
99Bryan Silas (Stuart, FL)Ford/Rockingham Speedway
* - defending champion
Leading Contenders (Finish the last eight years)
Ron Hornaday Jr---Won20th11th2nd7th34thWon
Kyle Busch------------WonWon2nd3rd
Matt Crafton5th14th9th3rd4th11th27th7th
Todd Bodine---12thWon2nd9th3rd5th9th
James Buescher---------------14th---10th
Parker Kligerman---------------------12th
Joey Coulter---------------------13th
Timothy Peters------33rd------15th7th16th
Nelson Piquet Jr.---------------------20th
Justin Lofton------------------20th26th
Johnny Sauter---------------18th8th29th
Kurt Busch------------------------
Mover of the Week
James Buescher - Started in 28th position and finished 7th
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - James Buescher
Darkhorse - Cale Gale
Last Week's Pick to Win (Ron Hornaday Jr) - Finished 8th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Dakoda Armstrong) - Finished 30th
One year ago, Ron Hornaday Jr extended his record of career wins in the Camping World Truck Series to 49 with an impressive come-from-behind victory at Atlanta Motor Speedway.

Hornaday benefited from pit strategy when he made his last stop on lap 75 in the 130-lap race. His fuel and tires held up for him to cross the finish line 1.6 seconds ahead of Sprint Cup Series regular Clint Bowyer, who dominated most of the race with 97 laps led.

Starting 17th, Hornaday suffered slight damage to his right-front fender when several trucks bumped into each other in the mid-pack after the green flag waved. Hornaday was forced to pit early, as his No.33 Kevin Harvick Inc. team placed tape on the fender to keep it in place.

When Bowyer and all of the other front-runners had to pit for fuel within the final 20 laps, Hornaday captured the lead for the first time with 17 laps to go. He went on to claim his 49th career win in the series.

In 2010, Kevin Harvick easily beat Kyle Busch by 1.3 seconds for his seventh career victory in the series and third straight Truck win. He ended the 2009 season by winning at Phoenix and Homestead. With that win, he has now won all three of NASCAR's national touring series races at Atlanta. He won his first Cup race in March 2001 at Atlanta, in just his third start. His Nationwide win here came in September of 2009. Harvick also has a win in each one of the top three series at Martinsville, Michigan and Phoenix.

Starting from the pole in the 2009 race at Atlanta, Kyle Busch edged Harvick by less than one second for his 11th career truck win. Busch led the final five laps. Harvick, who started third, led four times for a race-high 68 laps, while Busch led for 33.

In 2007, Mike Skinner, who started on the pole, outran Todd Bodine to claim the 21st of his 28 career Truck Series title. Skinner, who led five times for a race-high 67 laps, reclaimed the lead on lap 124 and held on to edge Bodine by less than a second.

Toyota had won this race four straight seasons prior to 2010, with Chevrolet capturing the last two. The pole sitter has won this race three times in the past six seasons.

The next Camping World Truck Series race is the Sept. 15 inaugural Iowa Corn Field 200 at Iowa Speedway.

08/28 14:00:40 ET

As of August 28, 2012, at 02:00 PM ET
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments |