NASCAR - Camping World - Pocono Mountains 125 Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Saturday, August 4th
SITE: Pocono Raceway (1971) -- Long Pond, Pennsylvania
TRACK: 2.5-mile tri-oval - 3,740 feet (Frontstretch); 3,055 feet (Backstretch)
TELEVISION: Speed Channel
ANNOUNCERS: Rick Allen, Phil Parsons, Michael Waltrip
RADIO: Motor Racing Network (MRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio
START TIME: 1 p.m. (ET)
DEFENDING CHAMPION: Kevin Harvick (Not Defending)
RUNNER-UP: Kyle Busch
POLE WINNER: Kevin Harvick (Finished 1st)
LAPS: 50
MILES: 125
QUALIFYING RECORD: Kevin Harvick, 2011 (162.684 m.p.h.)
RACE RECORD: Elliott Sadler, 2010 (111.966 m.p.h.)
TOTAL PURSE: $450,817 (2011 figures)
PAYOUTS: 1st Place - $33,800; 2nd Place - $22,175; 3rd Place - $23,950
2011 Finish
1Kevin Harvick16Joey Coulter12
2Kyle Busch27Mark Martin5
3James Buescher68Matt Crafton13
4Johnny Sauter169Ron Hornaday Jr.7
5Austin Dillon810Timothy Peters11
2011 Pocono Mountains 125 Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 99.582 m.p.h.
TIME OF RACE: 1 hour, 19 minutes, 50 seconds
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 1.140 second
CAUTION FLAGS: 7 for 22 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 2 among 2 drivers
POLE WINNER: Kevin Harvick (162.684 m.p.h.)
Past Pocono Mountains 125 Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2011 -- Kevin Harvick (1st) -- Chevrolet -- 99.582 m.p.h.
2010 -- Elliott Sadler (1st) -- Chevrolet -- 111.966 m.p.h.
NOTE: Formerly called Pocono Mountains 125 (2010) and Good Sam RV 125 (2011).
Past Pocono Mountains 125 Pole Winners (Finish)
2011 -- Kevin Harvick -- 1st
2010 -- Elliott Sadler -- 1st
Last Race Results
RACE: American Ethanol 225 (July 21st)
SITE: Chicagoland Speedway -- Joliet, Illinois
MILES: 225
LAPS: 150
WINNER: James Buescher
RUNNER-UP: Brendan Gaughan
THIRD: Timothy Peters
FOURTH: Matt Crafton
FIFTH: Parker Kligerman
POLE WINNER: Justin Lofton (Finished 21st)
TIME OF RACE: 1 hour, 53 minutes, 6 seconds
AVERAGE SPEED: 119.363 m.p.h.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 0.247 seconds
CAUTION FLAGS: 7 for 31 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 16 among 10 drivers
LAP LEADERS: J. Lofton 1-12; B. Gaughan 13-46; R. Hornaday Jr. 47; M. Paludo
48-52; P. Kligerman 53-58; P. Harraka 59-60; B. Gaughan 61-100;
J. Coulter 101-103; J. Lofton 104; T. Dillon 105; J. Lofton
106-116; T. Dillon 117-132; B. Gaughan 133-141; T. Peters
142-143; J. Buescher 144-148; T. Peters 149; J. Buescher 150.
Pocono Mountains 125 Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
0To Be AnnouncedDodge/
2Tim George Jr.(New York, NY)Chevrolet/Applebee's
3Ty Dillon (Lewisville, NC)Chevrolet/Bass Pro Shops
5Paulie Harraka (Fair Lawn, NJ)Ford/TBA
6Justin Lofton (Westmorland, CA)Chevrolet/Lofton Cattle
07Johnny Chapman (Stony Point, NC)Toyota/Wear Your Gear/
08Ross Chastain (Alva, FL)Toyota/S. Carolina Watermelon Assc.
09John Wes Townley (Waitville, GA)Toyota/TBA
9Ron Hornaday Jr. (Palmdale, CA)Chevrolet/TBA
10Jennifer Jo Cobb (Kansas City, KS)Dodge/
11Todd Bodine (Chemung, NY)Toyota/Northeast Toyota Dealer
13Johnny Sauter (Necedah, WI)Toyota/Hot Honeys/Curb Records
17Timothy Peters (Providence, NC)Toyota/Red Horse Racing
18Denny Hamlin (Chesterfield, VA)Toyota/Dollar General
22Joey Coulter (Miami Springs, FL)Chevrolet/Richard Childress Racing
23Jason White (Powhatan, VA)Ford/
27C.E. Falk (Norfolk, VA)Chevrolet/TBA
28Wes Burton (Chiefland, FL)Chevrolet/FDNY Racing
29Parker Kligerman (Westport, CT)Dodge/Cooper Standard
30Nelson Piquet Jr (Brasilia, Brazil)Chevrolet/Auto Trac
31James Buescher (Plano, TX)Chevrolet/Koike Aronson
32Miguel Paludo (New Silver, Brazil)Chevrolet/Duroline Brakes
33Cale Gale (Mobile, AL)Chevrolet/Rheem
38Chris Jones (Forest, VA)Chevrolet/RSS Racing
39Ryan Sieg (Tucker, GA)Chevrolet/RSS Racing
57Norm Benning (Level Green, PA)Chevrolet/Norm Benning Racing
75To Be AnnouncedChevrolet/TBA
81David Starr (Houston, TX)Toyota/Zachry
82Sean Corr (Goshen, NY)Ford/Leonard Bus Sales
84Chris Fontaine (Lakeland, FL)Chevrolet/Glenden Enterprises
88Matt Crafton (Tulare, CA)Toyota/Menard's
93Dennis Setzer (Newton, NC)Chevrolet/RSS Racing
98Dakoda Armstrong (New Castle, IN)Toyota/
99Bryan Silas (Stuart, FL)Ford/Rockingham Speedway
* - defending champion.
Leading Contenders (Finish the last two years)
James Buescher11th3rd
Johnny Sauter14th4th
Joey Coulter---6th
Matt Crafton3rd8th
Ron Hornaday Jr29th9th
Timothy Peters8th10th
Todd Bodine12th12th
Parker Kligerman---13th
Nelson Piquet Jr.---14th
Justin Lofton5th16th
Denny Hamlin9th---
Ty Dillon------
Mover of the Week
Parker Kligerman - Started in 17th position and finished 5th
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Denny Hamlin
Darkhorse - Ty Dillon
Last Week's Pick to Win (Johnny Sauter) - Finished 22nd
Last Week's Darkhorse (Jason Leffler) - Finished 8th
The Camping World Truck Series makes its third visit to Pocono Raceway for the Pocono Mountains 125. With only 50 laps (125 miles), this race is somewhat of a shootout.

Timothy Peters comes to Pocono as the points leader. Peters has finished no worse than 11th in the first 10 races this season. He won the July 14 event at Iowa Speedway. Peters holds a 23-point advantage over rookie Ty Dillon, the younger brother of Austin Dillon, who won the Camping World Truck Series championship in 2011.

In last year's truck race at Pocono, Kevin Harvick conserved enough fuel and held off Kyle Busch during a two-lap overtime finish to win it. Harvick started on the pole and dominated the event by leading 44 of 53 laps. After making his lone pit stop, Harvick lost the lead to Parker Kligerman. Shortly after, heavy rainfall forced NASCAR to postpone the remainder of the race for one day.

On lap 24, Harvick reclaimed the lead. Harvick later gambled on fuel when he opted to stay on the track while most of the lead-lap drivers made pit stops. During the closing laps of the race, an incident involving Todd Bodine and Ron Hornaday Jr. resulted in the seventh caution and setup up a green-white checkered finish. On the final restart, Harvick pulled away from the field, beating Busch to the finish line by 1.14 seconds.

In 2010, Elliott Sadler held off Kasey Kahne during a second green-white- checkered finish to win the inaugural race. Starting on the pole, Sadler led the opening 20 laps, but needed a push from behind by Justin Lofton and moved ahead of Kahne to take the lead with just six laps remaining. Johnny Sauter got loose and bumped into Ron Hornaday Jr., as Hornaday spun around and then slammed into the infield wall in turn three. That set up the second green- white-checkered attempt.

Sadler easily pulled away from Kahne after the final restart and beat his Richard Petty Motorsports teammate in the Sprint Cup Series by 0.45 seconds for his first truck win in his eighth start. Sadler led 31 of the 50 laps, while Kahne, who started second on the grid, led twice for 17.

The next Camping World Truck Series race is the August 18 VFW 200 at Michigan International Speedway. Kevin Harvick won last year's race there.

07/31 17:30:18 ET

As of July 31, 2012, at 05:30 PM ET
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments |